This guy was really something. Very articulate.
This is him at 17 years. This guy was way ahead of his years, and it’s a shame that many people only focused on his weaknesses and never paid much attention to his message. I still don’t believe that he’s gone.
Yeah.
His darkside showed up more than his humane side.
Took me a while before i sat down and really listened to his first 3 4 albums.
Actually the last album i listened to was Remember Me R U Still Down. But man Pac made his own bed…in my opinion he wasnt even a hot shot…he was SIGNED to deathrow and hadnt it been SUGE to finance (bail included of i aint wrong) All Eyes On Me…chances are Pac wouldnt have blown up as much as he did.
To the extent that Suge even had to prioritise Pac over other artists (kina Snoop Dogg Pound)…Pac was onto something he should have just humbled himself, toned down on the taunts, stick to one gang if he really had to go into gangsta shit…and put more of the positivity in his music…guy might be alive today for the better.
He was articulate in his interviews but man his lyrics ae something else altogether…and if you listen closely to the adlibs in his songs you would be surprised.
Anyway he put out some quality entertainment. But it wasnt worth the price he paid.
JayZ almost got sucked into the west coast east bull crap…but he played it smart and stuck to his hustler roots and look at where that got him and he aint half as articulate as Pac. P Diddy jeh?
Pac aliji waste. But MHRIP.
Tupac Shakur has activist roots, his auntie Assata Shakur was a black panther, exiled in Cuba, she was wanted for terrorism. I think Tupac was an activist at heart and by blood. Though black men are conditioned that the only way to make it is to be entertainment and sports. Tupac to me would have made a great Civil activist like AL Sharpton or the like. Unfortunately like his mom he was into drugs and alcohol which when you are a black man in the hood that translates into being gang affiliated. As a rapper you rap about beaches, beef, drugs, thug life and gang affiliation.
Tupac had greatness in him you could see it when he was sober and in one on one interviews about serious stuff. It’s kind of hard to be serious if your only parent is a drug feign. He followed the beaten path bcz unlike Obama he had no guidance. As I see it Pac could have been anything he wanted he was very intelligent. He could have been great. He is great. He was charismatic and brilliant but his background didn’t help him into his true greatness as Obamas mom and grandparents did. Hood life is horrible my dear. It can bring out the worst in anyone. How many great people have been wasted by the hood? Too many. Pac was a prophet, he knew he would not live long like most young men in the hood. In the hood if you don’t bring beef, you are a puss ass nigga nobody will respect you. I follow a rapper called Two Gunz Vito and it’s like if you are a rapper and you don’t beef or diss unless you are a sissy like 69 the snitch Ole wako. You are dead in the water, respect in the hood is based on beef, just like in gangs and the drug world. If you are Mr good guy you are not part of the hood culture.
At the end of the day…life is about choices.
All Pac had to do was extend an olive branch…like he did with Nas…quash the beef and mend his ways.
Pac wasnt a prophet…live by the gun die by the gun…how many of these local juveniles joke about being felled by bullets? I believe someone mentioned it in a thread.
Even this bughii guy who shot a colleague in a chemist during the curfew…si he said he knew this was his year but he was ready with his pistol by his side…the guy was a big fan of Pac and quoted alot of his lyrics…So is Pac a prophet? & what does that make bughii a disciple or apostle? So if i may ask whats their gospel?
Guys just needed to sobber up and act their age. Guys need to realise they aint kids anymore and you cant keep falling back on my mum this my dad that my grandma this my hood that…yous a grown ass man…get your act together.
Your out of prison and on your first album out your like prison aint changed me it made me worse…and you go taunting your real and imagined enemies put your mouth on the pistol now feel no more pain.
As much as i feel you…i just cant help but say that Pac took the wrong path.
Angejanjaruka tu kiasi bado angekuwa juu ya hennesy and blunts akipeleka life mos mos…he would have lived to see and maybe even support Obama.
Come to think of it how do you claim to have smashed someones baby mama or wife then rap about it on the roof tops…pole but i love Pac…but boy hakuwa janjez.
You have no idea what you’re talking about . Pac was a legend even before Suge bailed him out of jail.
Legendary status was achieved while at deathrow…before that he was making serious waves…thats just how i see it.
Deathrow made him transition from prince to king.
Legends dont go to jail without a personal stash to bail him out then use your albums as collateral.
Suge alisaidia Pac big time.
His material given priority over lots of other peoples material by Suge…he was Suges blue eyed boy.
Please don’t tell him the truth; he’s probably too young to even know who 2Pac was. That’s why I stated in my previous comment that some people only focused on his wild side instead of listening to his inner message. For the most part, he was talking about the evils in the society- drugs, violence and shootings were already there before his music. He sang about the evils in society, but he was more than just a musician. He made a lot of enemies with politicians and other ‘progressive’ black leaders because of his ‘loud mouth’, as he called it. He was never scared of speaking up and demanding justice, especially for young black men.
Yes, life is about choices but when you grow up in the inner city or the projects, your choices are a whole lot less. If he was a crooner he’d have had an easier time transitioning out of hood mentality.
I say he’s a prophet bcz of his song, do Gs get to go to heaven. Remember the lyrics, how many brothers fell victim to the street, rest in peace, young nigga, there’s a heaven for a G. The lifespan of Black boys in the hood is very short, you can see how murder rate out of gun violence in Chicago is higher than in any war zone in the world. At the time, I believe nobody highlighted the violence in the hood like what we see nowadays.
About saying jail didn’t change him, it made him worse, is probably true because his angst over police brutality and institutionalised racism even in the justice system was amplified by interacting with young black men in jail. I’m not sure why he was in jail but as you well know jail is a great place for radicalization. Don’t forget the injustice his auntie Assata Shakur suffered for being in a group that was fighting for the rights of the black Americans.
I think that doing some research into life in the hood can show you how difficult it is to transition out of it bcz the schools are terrible, the influence is terrible, every street corner is a place where drugs are sold, gangs are trying to recruit you even as a child. Tupac loved his mom a great deal in spite of her drug addiction.
On his diss track to biggie, he was trying to get street credibility over biggie by dissing him the worst way possible. Rap music in and of itself is not conscious music, it’s actually music that glorifies vices, like promiscuity, pimping women, drugs, guns, gangs, all the mess that is in the every day life in the hood. Like Pac sang or rapped, I see no changes, I wake up in the morning and I ask myself is life worth living or should I blast myself, which actually reflects the hopelessness and vicious cycle that life in the hood presents.
Its just like how boys in poor neighborhoods in Jamaica and Kenya, who love Vibes Cartel, he legitimises and voices their quiet desperation. Remember that poor people don’t have alot in the way of choice and this is why they gravitate to underground economies like crime and running drugs or illicit brews, prostitution. A good example is Mungiki which was made up of displaced kikuyu from RV under the leadership of Maina Njengas dad they were able to run organised extortion rings, in transport, slum lighting, security and garbage services. They just looked for the gaps and they went for it. Kinda like the mafia, who you’d think had more in the way of choice than becoming a criminal enterprise.
Lemme give you an example with two guns vito, who I discovered bcz of a case of a 3 years old missing girl called cupcake that I was following. He offered ransom money and even wrote a song for her. Here’s a song of his and then a short while later he got short I believe the stable he’s under is affiliated to the crips gang.
His disstrack
After he was shot 4 times
A Chicago rapper FBG duck now deceased by being shot made this diss track, rap has no olive branches, you die or you kill, just like the drug lords aim to dominate street corners. They don’t negotiate. They eliminate the competition. Street cred is about dominance not collaboration and extending olive branches, that would make you lose respect and that can’t happen in a jungle.
This is the diss track by FBG Duck a Chicago Rapper came out a month back
He got fatally shot
Being a rapper goes with death. This is just in 2020 alone
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zWrg_msZ-Gc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FVJtUQbHQUU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hrMeqqRPQE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rsHAirvmLXg
[COLOR=rgb(71, 85, 119)]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oi5b_j-c5Ng
I get your point…as much as youve got your titles wrong…i think do gees get to go to heaven was a collabo with richie rich…hizo lyrics ziko hapo ni life goes on.
Huyo fbg duck just shot himself in the foot…lyrics za uchokozi kama hit em up ya Pac.
But hood or no hood its about yhe choices you make and the elders you consult for advice.
Olive branch in the rap scene kuna scenario afew…Common & Ice Cube Nas & Hov.
By the way i dont follow the current rap scene…pardon me if i sound ol school…but pia naona hawa vijana wa siku hizi wako trigger happy.
I know someone who saw mungiks come up and he says it had noble intentions problem was it was hijacked by dark forces.
I always thought that Tupac was a politician. This guy says that b4 Tupac died he wanted to politicize his fan base. That guy wasn’t just the regular money hungry entertainer who would kill his grandmother for a coin.
Yup…one of the conspiracy theories as to why the cops were complicit to his murder.
Cant remember mzuri…i think he owed Suge one more album as a deathrow artist…then he would leave deathrow with his outlaw immortals crew start his own record label as well as register a black power/ethnic minority political party and challenge the democrat republican establishment during elections.
So Suge unhappy with his eminent departure the whites kkk feeling threatened by the african mans potential…got together.
Theres an adlib in one song where words which sound like ‘SUGE SHOT ME’ can be heard…either kwa remember me album or the don killuminati album.
Ama aje @Sovereign2 …ama na ropokwa i dont know what im talking about?
By the way ive never been a Pac fan…i just started listening to him within these last decades coz what other artists are putting out are screwing the genere.
But i must admit Pac amejaribu. Ange nyenyekea tu kiasi.
I was a fan of his person rather than his work, he was very different from the black American dudes in the limelight at the time. Like pdiddy, biggy smalls, wakina 50 cent and the likes. He was a breath of fresh air, he was very articulate, charismatic and intelligent as compared to the rest. When he’d be sober and you engage him one on one, you could tell he was really different. He did not have that stereotypical nigga look of being only proficient in sports and entertainment. He was political, he wasn’t jaded, he had never run drugs like 50 cent, he loved school and books, he read alot when he was in jail, he was brave and outspoken on social justice especially racism, he loved the performing arts, I believe he went to a school for the performing arts is where he met Jada. He was clearly was destined for greatness. Too bad he didn’t live long enough to live up to his potential. He was loved by so many people. If you watch interviews with the p diddys and the 50 cent, it just doesn’t inspire like Tupac, they don’t have the charisma Tupac had.
Kabisa…but he ran weed kiasi small time sana…i got that from his lyrics…i think the first 2 albums done during the late 80s.
Yeah…Pac was articulate agreed…but im open to everyones story the 50 Cents Diddys wote…theres alot to learn from these guys. I dont have a single 50 Cent album but his life storys real interesting i really enjoyed his biopic…if he remained hardcore gangster i would have paid more attention to his music…story za candy shop ndio zilifanya nikachoka naye sijui wanksta.
Pacs ego got to his head so did the hype around him…but yeah he was remarkable guy a divisive controversial character we have to admit…but no one to be missed and to be remembered.
You’d be shocked how missed he is even by people born after his death. Here he was 23. How many black American kids from the hood can have such intelligence and wokeness. The ones I see just look like Zombies. Like recently deceased FBG Duck looked like a pot head.