You know why in choma zones they use sheep. It’s because of the fat. The fattier the meat, the tastier the choma. It’s a age old secret. Mutura tastes good because of fat. Sheep has a lot more fat than goat. Nilipikiwa one time supu ya kondoo, lakini ikanishinda. It’s a slab of meat with 80% fat. You chew paka your jaws hurt. Alafu it has a interesting smell.
Mbata hukuliwa na Chinese. Wanakula paka hizo webbed feet.
No hog for me.
Sheep give birth 3 times a year and the babies are mature in 4 months… anyone telling you the goat meat at your local butcher is legit is a con artist
You mean lamb. That’s actually what you eat. Young sheep. Old sheep meat is called mutton and has a strong smell. Ni Kama nyama ya wildebeest.
sawa
Exactly. Kwani watu wanafikiria all the sheep reared and sold by pastoralists huenda wapi?
Kondoo has a distinct smell. Watu wa butchery hawawezi kunibeba kikondoo mimi
Very true. Even in all livestock markets where animals are sourced 90% are sheep, 10% goats. So when you ask for mbuzi at your butchery/nyam chom joint, there is 90% chance its sheep meat.
So you want to tell us that the maasai export all their sheep to europe and middle east?
In western countries mbuzi = lamb = sheep. Sheep <1yr old its called lamb. >1yr old its called mutton. They keep goats as pets.
maybe kizungu imepiga mwamba,nimesema mutton is not among the popular Kenyan meats because it is often associated with triggering allergies among some people but yes utapata mutton in common farming zones therefore ile inabaki zinauzwa profitably nje than huku. Mbona kutwist maneno. Kwa hio maneno,unaeza kua unajua butchery ya real mutton,wacha hio naambiwa ya 90%? sina shida nayo kuila
Unachanganya,lamb is live sheep before the age of one year and the flesh of such an animal ,mutton ni nyama ya kondoo aliyekomaa,either ram or ewe. like veal is a young bovine,calf and beef is from a mature bovine, cow or bull
Most kenyan pastoralists and small holders in many parts of kenya keep sheep, not goats. So you cant say sheep is not popular meat.
https://taretoentitofoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/maasai-people.jpg
Of course I meant the meat from the animals of the different ages. From the Encyclopedia Britannica.
[SIZE=7]Difference Between Lamb and Mutton[/SIZE]
[SIZE=6]Lamb[/SIZE]
Lamb is a sheep that is typically less than 1 year old. There is little fat on lamb, and the meat can vary in color from a tender pink to a pale red. Lamb less than 3 months of age is called spring lamb.
[SIZE=6]Mutton[/SIZE]
Mutton is meat from a sheep that is older than 1 year, ideally 3 years old. It is an intense red color and contains a considerable amount of fat. Its flavor is very strong.
didn’t i say common farming areas? ok kwa kiswahili sasa, nyama ya kondoo ni maarufu katika maeneo kondoo hufugwa<----thats what i said jiiiisas
ok mkurugenzi
Except for nomadic pastoralist, they prefer goats juu ya mwendo. Sheep don’t move fast enough and require water constantly. Masai nowdays keep sheep alot since they left the nomadic way of life they now mostly grace animals on communal land.
Lamb has a disgusting smell
Actually not all sheep varieties smell.
There’s a very big market! You are assured of sales in your local area weekly animal soko, if you have a big number you can sell to big hotels, you can also do one bigger and do it for export. Selling for genes especially the dorper iko na pesa sana! All in all, soko iko!
…I have never seen kondoo on sale all my life and Everytime nimekula kondoo is in family gatherings and bantu ceremonies