I know that there are several talkers in this village who have relocated to the US.
So here is my predicament.
I have been to the US several times for visiting. I even worked huko for a couple of months chini ya maji ( since i didnt have papers and was visiting). Started going huko when i was single and thereafter with wifey and baby after marriage.
We have never had an issues with visiting. The issue is relocation.
Now the issue is that there is a chance that i might relocate on or before end of year. I have several investments ( mploti katha na tunyumba).
Visiting on one thing. Relocation is a whole different thing. Any pointers / notes / advice from those who have relocated? asande… Relocation is giving us some chills…
ok…my opinion and from what i have heard,kuhamia US favours wanawake single,anaenda anolewa, anaanza life afresh…sasa jama kuna vile watu wana ma PHD ni ma soldier (wa kufungua gate) si utulie tu mtaa, uchukue rent yako pole pole…chasing the american dream i guess is for hustlers, kama una kakitu, baki mtaani ukulange nyamchom na kunywa tusker
The issue here, is the issue. The thing is kama uko poa hapa kwetu achana na mayuu.Tunajua ni mama anakupea pressure, for her people to hear that mko mayuu.
I worked there for two years on a H1-B visa but my experience might be a bit different.
It depends on what you’re looking for. If it’s to sort of “survive” because things are not looking up for you in Kenya, by all means go ahead.
But you with investments in Kenya utalia kwa choo nani. You’ll work in Starbucks ama kwa Amazon warehouse until you’re 70 years old. Prove me wrong…you said you worked there for a bit. What kind of jobs are you doing?
Also, you may go down the route all Africans take and retrain as a CNA. Question is, are you at that stage in your life where you can afford to start all over again? You have a family to take care of remember? You just can’t take time off.
For me personally the worst was the racism. Even white redneck methheads from rural West Virginia think they’re better than you because you’re black.
You’re reminded of your skin colour everyday. I used to live in a Jewish neighborhood in Queens, New York. I stopped taking my evening walks / cycling after work cuz my neighbours would call the police every single time;
“hello 911? There’s a suspicious looking nigger thug hanging around my street”
Imagine me, a high net worth individual with brains, being stopped by cops when taking a walk in my own neighborhood.
“good evening sir, are you alright, can we help you” The fcuk? Did I ask for your help?
I’m even lucky they didn’t actually kill me. You know about unarmed black people being killed by the police. Luckily enough I’m a professional and knew how to deal with them. There are so many other examples of racist microaggressions every day. It takes a toll. New York city is literally the worst place I’ve ever lived.
The point is, the racism is prevalent. I suppose you can ignore it and carry on with your life if you must.
But some of us have too much dignity to take such shit.
Thanks for the insights bro. What about money? Are manual jobs well paying as we think? My friend there is a truck driver and he seems to be making lots of money.
In Asia none at all. Best place ever. You’re more of an “exotic” person and are treated like a celebrity.
The problem is the motherfcking Nigerians, with their usual shenanigans, are starting to give Africans a bad name, especially in Malaysia.
I lived in Britain for quite a long time. In my opinion, it was much better than America. The Brits are very sly and know how to hide their racism very well, unlike the crude Americans. But then again, I was on a Tier 2 visa, so I never experienced life in the ranks of the hoi polloi.
When you have a certain status and particular skills, the Brits are careful to treat you well.
You say you have several investments here, which include plots and houses. My question is, what are you looking for in US? In US you will be poorer than you are here. Starting life all over again, in a new country, with different systems, is difficult.
For jobless people here, relocating is ok because there is nothing to lose no matter how things turn out there. But for people with properties like you, there is a risk, unless you know what you will be making there.
If you’re a alpha male in your house then don’t relocate. Your wife will rebel against you and you’ll end up divorced and you’ll get hit by child support. OTOH if you’re a beta male then she will not change because she’s already the decision maker here and will just continue being the decision maker in US.
The system in US favours women 3 to 1.
Good luck
How about you relocate minus the wife and see if you can be stable first before bringing them along. Don’t buy into the nonsense people are saying here ati jobs ni watchie na tunyanye. I have been there & africans are doing quite well. There was even an article that Nigerians hold more post graduate degrees as a percentage than Americans. It’s all the mindset you have…i know a guy flying regional airlines in the states and he has been there for less than 7 years. If you are young and still going to college join the military - kitu kama Navy ama airforce. Benefits utapata will be worth it.