NJAHI....love or hate it?

True, even if the resulting smell is not he best and the food is oily and visually unappealing atleast their women take time and thought into cooking.I also never hear men over complain about the food

For the lazy who just depend on media to tell you about tribal cuisines;
Most African cultures depended or perennial food crops-millet, tubers, legumes, and kale. Maize which was introduced by Portuguese was not popular among communities but was later(1930s) re-introduced by settlers as a commercial crop.

Our culinary food (mashakura) was introduced by Europeans:
Missionaries like David Livingstone had reported on Africans’ healthy diets, many of his predecessors held the racist and eugenicist view that food shaped the colonial body. In other words, the European body differed from that of the African people because the British diet and culinary habits differed from culinary habits of the local Africans. Bodies could be altered by diets—thus the fear that by consuming “inferior” African foods, Brits would eventually become like the “natives”. Only proper European foods would maintain the superior nature of European bodies, and only these foods and British food sensibilities could also civilise the “African savages” to be more like their colonisers.

mashakura concept as presented by European breakfast cuisine
[ATTACH=full]301073[/ATTACH]
Nearly all countries colonized by Europeans have this meat stew in its cuisine.
[ATTACH=full]301074[/ATTACH]
More reading click here.
cc @T.Vercetti

[COLOR=rgb(40, 50, 78)]I dislike runny eggs

you missed the whole point but isokey.

[COLOR=rgb(40, 50, 78)]No I read through the superiority meal the British supposed kept them dominant, the pictures too whet my appetite till I saw the eggs and remembered this one time I got served such eggs.

Every Kenyan tribe ate more variety in the past than what we eat today

I can eat njahi but I don’t like it

It’s because you are Kikuyu. You don’t know any better.

Since I started using ghee for my chapos, I’ve noticed a huge improvement in their taste. This is what I’ve been using (below) and it’s absolutely amazing!! I’ve never raved about something so simple yet so profound before. My hubby can’t get enough of these tasty chapos.

[ATTACH=full]301104[/ATTACH]

@bouss Mukimo improves alot when you add thabai (stinging nettle) powder. I usually mash it the night before and let it rest overnight in the fridge. The day after is when I fry it with a little olive oil, onions and garlic.

Ghee won’t give the chaps a “funny” taste?

That’s funny coz all the great cooks I know are Kenyan women. They can make you eat a shoe. At my house especially when I have the time like during this quarantine I have been cooking only gourmet meals from breakfast to dinners to deserts. And I am not doing it to impress some man. I do it because I love eating fabulous food. I go out to eat regularly, so I have experience with different kinds of cuisine. Unfortunately for many Kenyans food isn’t an interest it’s just a necessity so it’s whatever you can throw together. It’s never an experience. People here don’t care for culinary arts because cooking is an art. Even the food market is very generic. Few eateries have signature dishes.

By the way I started cooking as an adult maybe that’s why it’s so fascinating to me. My mom is a health freak and cooks food in a very specific way, so hataki wewe na madoido yako in her kitchen. If you cook she supervises everything otherwise she won’t eat that food. But she has taught me to cut out fat from food and use healthier methods of cooking and seasoning. She looks like my age mate so that healthy cooking sure works. She’s as fit as a fiddle. And her food is delicious with only natural ingredients. No cooking oils or any other oils for that matter. Talk about fat free. No dairy. No wheat. No fats. The only fat in her diet is avocado and some coconut. And I am telling you people think we are sisters and she’s in her 70s.for meEven the way I cook tea is melodramatic. I had a lunje friend who I cooked some clove and cardamom tea for, she told me if you cook that for a luhya man he will never leave your house. Who doesn’t want to eat or drink the best available meals. Guess what, even women do.

Mkuki kumbe hata wewe huona huyo mjamaa?

The most amazing delicacy from the Gikuyu to the world is the mútura bar none !

Habari purple

It actually originated from the Maasai. Kiyuks borrowed the recipe.

Njahi tamu kama sunguch… Kwanza rice and njahi dry alafu tomato sauce… o_O

My grandmother is not young and she ate maize as a kid. And she found her grandpatents eating maize. How do you explain that?

Similarly with potatoes. Potatoes are quite ancient in Central. They were often consumed right there in the shamba by rolling them on open coals. Maybe there was an ancient variety of African potato.

Furthermore the Kikuyu had an old dish called irio which is called mukimo today.

Irio was mashed potatoes with any type of tradional herb or leaf of the day plus maize and beans or just beans.

Pregnant women ate mashed plantain instead of potato to increase lactation. Those old timers were very intelligent.

I have not even entered the field of traditional medicines which are numerous.

Look at the best diet… It’s raw and it’s vegan. Doesn’t sound very tasty but yall those taste buds will send yall to an early grave. Look at the husband. He owned a butchery LOL. Vegan lifestyle is where it’s at folks achaneni na nyama. I was a vegan for a year and I never even caught a cold. The flu would come to the office, catch every one except me. We would go to Njugunas and I’d eat the cabbage and the potatoes that come with the tumbukiza. With these incurable diseases coming up hatutakua na any otherwise gotta ditch unhealthy eating habits in the name of delicious eating.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6oJA_xhTa8

I almost broke my phone seething in anger when I saw that comment