NJAHI....love or hate it?

Njahi na wali wa nazi, ooh my.

pewa 10,000 likes

Kuja ukule kwetu kisha useme Kenyan foods suck! Sema ni bibi yako hapiki poa.

Halafu about watery fish, hapo Dagoretti corner kuna ile petrol station. Hapo nyuma kidogo kuna Mama Oliech (wacha ile ya Hurlingham). Niliambiwa they are the king of fish hio area nikaamua niingie.

Buda samaki inachapwa maji na nyanya na mafuta unaletewa! Na hazijaiva vizuri. Niliambia madame arudishe kwa moto awache mbio. What’s the rush?

Fry the nyanya let it break down, soften, then add the water. Don’t boil chunks of uncooked tomato. And no need for excess water.

Pleaseeeeeeeeee…njahe and mukimo are 2 different animals. Mukimo to me is peas, maize and potatoes mashed together.

Njahi is just njahi…black in colour best soaked before boiling. Then both dishes are served with stewed beef, steamed cabbage. V tasty. I have about 2 kilos which I will be boiling soon as soon as Rona allows free movement so that my sista can visit we ji-enjoy vilivyo…since the rest of the household will not partake.

The comments are hilarious:D:D:D

Bouss if you ever visit me that is what I will serve you…fried njahi not the mashed one…

Most Kenyan tribes have poor culinary skills with the exception of Coast dwellers. The worst affected are western Kenya and Nyanza.

me too, could’nt stand it even when i was an infant, despite my parents’ efforts…its that fish oil taste and smell that gets me all pukey

They always pick on us although Kyuks have not done themselves a favour over the years. Flooding stews but maybe ni poverty. We are redeeming ourselves. You are right about the coast but there is good food in Wesdan too. Ingoho, ugali and all types of healthy greens…

Those Chapati are Indian. The only difference is that Indians use Ghee to cook it.

Ile kitu najua ni all food ingredients are often good and it’s the cook’s job to turn them into delicious meals. Less is more. Reduce spices… even the heat should be low.

Unakuta dame hadi mayai anaweka gas full blast. A simple egg. All her sufurias are black or wrinkled from being harrassed with extreme fire.

If you go to say Lamu you will notice the moderation of heat and spice. Not all the homes or hotels of course. For instance kuna mall ingine hapa sijui niitaje. Niliangalia nikaona hapo nje wameandika Swahili dishes. Nikasema what the heck. Nikalenga art-caffe. Sikujiuliza mbona huyu jamaa hana customers. Buuuda!!!

Pilau ni kama imepikwa ndani ya diesel! They said that they fried everything in butter… shait. I swear huyo chef labda anapika na diesel na kerosene. Terrible!!

Meanwhile kuna spot ingine ya waswahili iko hapo nyuma ya Industrial area remand sijui kama unaiona. Upige corner na hapo nyuma. Hata parking ni tricky kupata. Ni place ya kitambo na sijui kama bado iko. Haikai place ya maana lakini sahani utalamba. Again it all comes down to the cook.

True. It all comes down to the one handling the cooking.

Ata ipikwe namna gani,haikuwagi soft

I love it with carrots. It goes very well together. Wale wanasema it’s not soft. Soak overnight then cook with pressure cooker for 15 minutes.

Its good for mukimo too and very good for breastfeeding moms. Very nutritious beans but coconut goes better with mbaazi. Or Pigeon peas? What is mbaazi in English? The legume hierarchy in my house is

1)Njaji
2) Mbaazi
3)Kunde
4)Yellow beans
5)Ndengu
6)Lentils

True. i watched mark wein’s mini documentaries on food per country and kenya had nothing special to offer. So called Swahili foods are just indian and Arabic foods combined. Kenyans are not creative when it comes to food and i believe it due to lack of exposure to other worlds cultures that has left us with “my mom(rephrase with wife or tribe) is a better cook attitude”

That Oliech’s place has overpriced food.

Mama Oliech. Is it more expensive than Kosewes?

Hazijaachania mbali.

Whaaaaat? Well prepared mukimo stimulates the saliva glands just hearing about it, just before it’s served.

Kenyan food is a result of saving costs+ saving time.i wonder how someone can enjoy sukuma wiki and meat boiled in curry powder.
It also seems that cooks in this country don’t know what spices are-Chilli,garlic paste,lemons etc. Kenyan women are also very lazy and that is why they gain weight abnormally when they turn 35. The result is curry boiled blund mess that can only be tolerated.
When you marry a Kenyan women the downside will be in the cooking.I was watching a food show on Youtube and i am really impressed by the time and creativity taken to prepare some Nigerian foods

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLR5pVza-qU

Nigerian cuisine is too oily. Siwes, though I laud their efforts.