Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o's Lonely Sunset Days Are Here....Dude Failed To Plan His Life!

Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o: three days with a Giant of African Literature…

Shock as Details Emerge on How Literary Legend Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o is Battling Sickness, Divorce, and Loneliness in the US

The Kenyan novelist’s life and work have intersected with many of the biggest events of the past century. At 85, he reflects on his long, uncompromising life in writing

by Carey Baraka

Approach

In October, I flew to Irvine to meet the novelist Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o. I had spent the previous few weeks in cold and windy Iowa, and the sunshine and warmth of California was a balm. I sat in the back seat of my cab, quiet. Outside, huge American trucks thundered past, the tangy smell of the ocean in the air.

Ngũgĩ is a giant of African writing, and to a Kenyan writer like me he looms especially large. Alongside writers such as Chinua Achebe and Wole Soyinka, he was part of a literary scene that flourished in the 1950s and 60s, during the last years of colonialism on the continent. If Achebe was the prime mover who captured the deep feeling of displacement that colonization had wreaked, and Soyinka the witty, guileful intellectual who tried to make sense of the collision between African tradition and Western ideas of freedom, then Ngũgĩ was the unabashed militant. His writing was direct and cutting, his books a weapon – first against the colonial state, and later against the failures and corruption of Kenya’s post-independence ruling elite.

In short, approaching Ngũgĩ’s house in California, I felt nervous, my body a hotbed of cliches: hands shaky, palms clammy, heart racing. The plan had been to write a profile, taking the measure of this legendary author, who was now 84, and entering the final phase of his life.

Ngũgĩ had suggested that I stay with him during my time in Irvine. His health was poor and he would be having surgery, he said. If I stayed, it would be easier to speak. It was a strange arrangement, not exactly befitting the journalistic objectivity I had hoped to cultivate. But I wanted as much time with him as possible, and besides, I reasoned, I’d keep things professional.

And now here I was, pulling into his driveway, walking up to his redbrick bungalow at the end of a cul-de-sac, and ringing the bell.

I had never met Ngũgĩ before. I had seen him only once, at the launch of a translation project in Nairobi in 2017, and now he was before me. At the event, he’d spoken about the Nobel and how, the previous year, in expectation of his winning the award, a group of journalists had camped outside his house from the very early morning. When he didn’t win, he and his wife had given the journalists tea and comforted them. Today he was lounging in a shirt, trousers, slippers and a bathrobe, and I thought, Well, what did you expect, coming to his house at 9am? He bade me join him at the dining table, where he was doing some work. Around us, everything was cream and grey: the walls, the couch, the chairs, the rug. It felt too clean, too stark, devoid of personality.

Before we talked, he said, he needed to know more about me, to know what my motivations were. He asked me to tell him about my writing. I talked about some articles I’d written, and mentioned the novel I had been working on for a few years. “Like yours, it’s about religion and politics,” I said. I hoped, with this, to signal to him that he and I had similar interests in our fiction. He didn’t respond to this. Instead, he asked if I was making enough from my writing to earn a living. I told him I was. “That’s good,” he said. “I was never able to do that.”

More here:

The guardians is a tabloid rag

Ngugi is a filthy Marxist scumbag

The article is too long to read but I would like to know where you feel like the dude did not plan his life.

sisomi

Where can you see him failing to plan his life? Achana na wazee pambana na pigsty nugu hii.

What do you expect if you keep migrating to United Sodom of americunts? Divorce is normal utakufa peke yako na baridi . Chances of @uwesmake growing old with his Kikuyu wife mwenye humchapa viboko are higher than any married man in USA

I tink he is ferry much okay mogaka . He hassi lived a long prodactifu raifu and effen thoo he issi divorced he can get care frommu a maid for the remaining part of his rife gaaki

at 85 years, this is full life. Umbwakini

Why is he living by himself like a lonely bastard far away from home?

Plan your sunset years to have loved ones around you for human necessary companionship.

Dude’s lonely, sick, and sad!

I read it. He’s living in suburbia, has an assistant, a medical aide who drives him to the hospital when needed and he has long phone calls with all his kids.

Bro, he’s doing great.

Why can’t we appreciate our own even if he made a mistake in his/her life? Ngugi is a renowned author all over the world.!

Maybe people are different. He “talks to all his kids” on the phone?.. Then sleeps alone in his bungalow?.. Waiting for an assistant to take him to the doctor the next day?

Happy Life!?

There’s nothing greater than having family close by when you are sick, old, and suffering.

Only in movies.

Genuine parents understand that their children should be allowed to venture out into the world and live their own dreams.

Only stupid and backward parents tie their kids at home. Ngugi has lived his life to the fullest. He’s letting his kids do so as well. It’s part of being a parent. You bring a kid into the world and then release him when he/she has come of age to go make their own mark.

MGAYTOW @Kodiaga has a pet rat to comfort him in his sunset ukedi days

Hio ni githeri media ya majuu.

If he was in Kiambu in his own mansion with his wealth he would have a house full of Personal Assistants taking care of him with his kids just dropping by to see how he’s being taken care of.

He misplanned to live the lifestyle his Kunguru wanted. Now he’s down, Kunguru has moved on with half his money, and like a vulture, is waiting in the wings for his expiration date.

There will be noise to raise funds to “bring his body home” to Kiambu…where he will be buried and left like a stray dog. Bure Gabisa!

It would have been worse for him Kama angekuwa Kiambu vile unasema. His kids are in the US and it’s therefore much easier for them to visit him in Irvine. In Kenya, which hospital is always functioning (with all equipment) FULLY every day of the week? Ngugi has appointments thrice every week.

In fact, if you read the article, mzee is not lonely. His kids are grown. Why would they go back home when they have their own families?

If Ngugi were in Kiambu, it would just be gluttonous relatives visiting him trying to send the old man to an early grave.

The author of the article was just making his own assumptions. Maybe he could have a 24/7 maid in Kiambu but the top notch and available medical care serves him better in USA. He is still a professor at the local university. Which university in Kenya is hiring an old senile man who can’t walk?

Also, old men in Kenya are actually lonely as well. It’s not just an American problem.

His main problem seems to be the divorce. That can fuck a man’s life real good. Divorce knows know boundaries. Whether you’re in Kenya or Japan, bini akiamua kikuchote ni real quick. It’s just being unlucky. This is not specific to Ngugi but to the more than 50% of men who get divorced every year.