Nikikupea block utalalamika kweli
This is the problem with retiring in America or any first world country. Your kids will be too busy for you. In my previous role, I interacted with lots of retired people, and that was pretty much the themes of their lives. You wake up looking for something to do. Your kids are far away in some other corner of the country. The only time you see your kids is Christmas Day or Thanksgiving day. When your health begins to deteriorate, you are left to the system, the government. It takes someone with significant wealth to be off government support which is bare minimum.
Some are lucky to have all their kids close by, but it’s not like Kenya where you have constant visitors, especially someone like him.
If you can get good medical care, your sunset years are better in Kenya.
Lonely. Akicum anatoa dust Kwa cum
Hii paragraph imenigusa, maandishi ya hali ya juu kabisa!!
Why would his wife divorce him at that age?
Writer didn’t dwell much on that issue.
ule bibi alikuja naye Kenya aka kuwa raped ndio alimtoka?
Probably because the old woman wants her freedom from taking care of the sick mzee. American feminism teaches women such kinds of lessons.
Ako na bahati bado hajarushwa nursing home…but sooner or later anapelekwa assisted living home esp when he needs constant supervision day and night. If i were me… narudi kenya…he can survive well on his social security here in kenya. Just get a good healthcare facility to take care of you. Then have househelps to take care of your needs. Frequent visits from fellow wazee and family will keep him going for long. Si Moi alizeekea kenya tu…bora ukuwe na doktari mzuri
He has become a liability to her new lifestyle after she has acquired wealth from his resources…She probably has met a new man who is younger and more agile than sickly Ngugi…Realities of life, bro.
As @Simiyu22 mentioned above, even the system is looking for what Ngugi’s left with once he exits.
From the story I just read, seems like he has a great Healthcare plan complete with home visits by a health carer. He could hire a personal assistant at anytime but seems like he prefers the solitude.
That reporter is imposing her African worldview on Ngugi in terms of what it means to be happy. Yeye anafikiria kujaza majamaa useless hazina kazi zinakunyonya damu ndio kuwa successful. Ngugi is living in a great suburb, he has all his mental faculties, and his health is taken care of. His house is also clean meaning he has domestic help coming in on the regular.
He is also still active and giving talks at the world’s leading universities. How is his life a tragedy. Seems to me like he planned well for retirement.
Many other old people in America end up homeless or in an old people care facility. He still has a home and am sure he receives many visitors.
He probably cleared his schedule to meet the daft reporter.
Alikua anatarajia majamaa jobless zimejaa huko zinakuja kukunywa chai na kuwaste time. I don’t understand the writer concluding he was lonely just because there was nobody making uninvited home visits when she was there.
Amehit wall? Puhahaha! The wall of death is undefeated. Let him find Jesus before he hits the eternal wall of Hell.
Exactly! I tried explaining to some folks here but their worldview is so limited.
You must be a regard.
You want visitors coming to your home unannounced every day of the week and a gazillion servants in your sunset years?
You want poor healthcare at hospitals that receive sun-standard equipment from China because tenderpreneurs couldn’t purchase fully functional high quality dialysis machines?
Who needs kids visiting you every second when they should be living their lives? Kids are not meant to serve you in your old age. Ngugi has lived his life and he’s still enjoying a fruitful retirement while giving talks and teaching at a prestigious university.
The only bad thing is that there’s a looming divorce. It’s ludicrous to think that a mzee in Kenya is living a better life than uku USA.
Case in point:
Kibaki (a fully retired former president) was lonely in his old age. His grandkids were busy partying all over in Canada, Australia and Westlands (Nairobi) leaving the mzee with nobody to take care of him. Only one grand kid would visit him (we call him Big Mwai). The other ones were with me in Diani kukula hepi. In fact, one of the girls was lamenting how bad she felt for her guka because he was all lonely in Muthaiga during one of our conversations. I met the lady when I was an exchange student pale UK.
In fact, two years before his death, the Mweiga compound was unattended, and visitors were as rare as a dollar in today’s economy. The last time I saw mzee, I had gone to help Big Mwai fix his bikes because the boy does motor cross and we’re age-mates from way back in the day. On that Sunday, we drove to Mweiga from Nanyuki and mzee looked old and senile. He couldn’t even understand basic bits of conversation.
If mzee were in USA, he’d be better taken care of I’m sure. Ngugi is having a much better retirement. When I was in college at a university back in California, I had written to Ngugi letting him know that I’d like to visit. Here’s the email exchange between me and Ngugi:
Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to make the trip up from Southern California at the time. I’ll be sure to fly down now that I live in Manhattan and meet the greatest African writer of this generation.
Sometimes when people post such things, what is going through your head? Do you expect people to go through their whole life without making any mistake? Or do you expect people’s lives to be full of ups with zero downs? Idiots
Si arudi Kenya and settle somewhere in some ushago…he can get 3 full time servants to take care of him in his sunset years…
Wamesharukwa. The story seemed silly from the start. Upate mtu kwa mansion yake alafu umuite lonely. Gatina kau
MGTOW haters
Life happens, what are you farting about?