Myths About Ugali, Rice & Wheat

Eti Ugali ni chakula nzito ama sijui Iko na nguvu. It’s all in the mind.

Fact is Rice and Wheat have higher calorific value than maize meal (Ugali).

The thing that maize can outdo wheat and rice is that whole corn meal takes more time to breakdown in the digestive system (kushika tumbo).

Wheat and rice have fed civilizations for millennia, maize on the other hand is pretty recent having been domesticated from it’s wild cousins in Mesoamerica just centuries ago.

[ATTACH=full]419149[/ATTACH]

The smart way to eat food is to maximise satiability (kushikilia tumbo) and nutrients as much as possible while minimising calorific content. You want ugali and some little beef for satiability and as much greens as possible to go with it. You want to minimise fat and eliminate processed sugar altogether if you can.

Do you know you can make Ugali from oats. And it will taste better than regular ugali. More nutritious too. Unazisiaga Kama mahindi tu.

I dont see much difference , but Ugali is the best ,

As a skinny nigger, junk is my shit.

Rice is snack, Ugali( whole maize) is a meal. Consult mjengo guys or those doing heavy manual work.

avoid processed sugar and artificial sweeteners (corn syrup) at all costs

Baruya najua umepata njaa after kufungua hii thread

Corn and soya are animal fatteners

Ukweli nijaribu these weekend?

Watu wakule ugali ile ya kishagi. hii ya duka ni mbaya

When I landed in the US I had these issue at first. Unapata supper tunaserviwa waffles or pancakes with syrup, apples, yogurt, eggs, sausage, bacon, or cereal. Na sometimes burgers and I was like nitakula mkate nilale mimi :D. So I had to order wings kama 10 hivi ndio “nishibe”. On weekends we used to come together as Kenyans alafu madame wanapika Ugali (ya yellow juu kupata white flour ni ngumu) na sisi tunagrill a whole lot of meats and then we have a “real” meal. It was so nice and acted as a bonding session too. Over time, Ugali became “tasteless” and we had to abandon it altogether. Nowadays we do dine ins in Mexican restaurants or visit Kenyan restaurants once in while where we eat “serious” meals.

Elkana, bado unakula ugali asubuhi

Wewe hata umeshai kuingia ndege?

In India they have an Ugali version called Suji, I think the flour is a mixture of Rice and maize. The Suji is between porridge and Ugali. Sio uji na sio Ugali it’s in-between

How can one make ugali out of oats? I have resorted to oatmeal breakfast as I attempt to shift some unwanted weight gained over xmas and fruits can be monotonous.
The ugali would be sticky:confused:…ebu tell me so that I can try kesho. We are huge fans of ugali in my house but wooi the carbs…

Hapana.

Nani amekuuliza? Ama ulikua umelala ukacomment?

No it’s not sticky like wheat. Just blitz the oats into a blender into a flour. Then cook like a regular ugali.
Here’s a recipe.

Try it. Grind the oats. In fact Ugali can be made of a few other cereals. Whenever I have used it, the only difference my visitors have noted is the color.