The mindo krass keep making the wrong moves every time and it shows.
There’s this content creator (Kenyan, of course) who just uploaded a new video of her moving into a newer, more expensive apartment. She also drives a moderate fuel guzzler. Yaani fuel na rent peke yake imeshagonga 50-60k (of course including random car expenses here and there).
The mbitch just juzi alipiga a euro trip na hizi sii pesa za mbabaz. This is someone who actually works for her money at some parastatal so pesa ni zake.
I’m still in awe of such terrible decisions. Kenya is ahead of the west in that you have the ability to build your own pig sty and not have to pay any taxes on it. Why not pursue that goal first before any of these other hefty expenditure that only takes money from you? The bitch has upgraded to high end expensive furniture all which cost a few hundred Gs.
I learnt a lot from one of my distant uncles. Jamaa alipeleka a whole family (himself, wife, 2 daughters and a son) to a one bedroom apartment and downgraded to the cheapest Toyota Corolla. Tulikuwa tunashindwa why is this guy living in a one bedroom and drives a cheap car yet sisi wote tunajua anakuanga mafutani? 4 good years waliishi kwa one bedroom.
Kidogo kidogo tu ivi jamaa had already moved into his own mansion Thika Road. Kumbe all that time jamaa alikuwa anapeleka pesa mjengo? Alafu sasa akanunua a proper SUV. I learnt a big lesson from that. Mwanaume ni all about making short-term sacrifices for long-term gains. Maisha ya mindo krass Nairobi wannabes isikupatie pressure. As they look for that 50k rent every month wewe utakuwa unakunywa mursik at the comfort of your mansion that you OWN bila stress.
Self-employed individual. Yeye anatoka nyumba saa tano saa zile barabara iko open and clear for his highness.
Niliwaambia only wage slaves worry about traffic. Entrepreneurs hawajui traffic ni nini. Ata homosexual chieth @Gaines knows wage slaves peke yake are the ones who have to beat traffic.
Businessmen wanagonga barabara 10:30 AM onwards when the road is clear.
Building a house is not the 100% win you think it is. Building a decent house is the equivalent of 20-30 years of rent, plus most people build in faraway places, which naturally adds costs to a family. Someone who dabbles in financial instruments could easily put such money to better use.
Moreover, building a house anchors you and your family down to this shithole country of ours while the real money is out there in the international markets.
And don’t talk to me about a house being a good investment. Selling a house is extremely rare in Kenya, usually done in desperation where the house is sold at a throwaway price
Anyone who thinks owning is house is big deal, most probably comes from a peasant family that had no proper house.
As someone who comes from a family with bungalows both in Nairobi and upcountry, I can tell you that houses will limit you to living in one place all your life. Besides, kuna corporate guys making over 700k+ p.m and live in Lavington at a max monthly expense of 250k. Hiyo ingine direct kwa savings. After working for over a decade, nigga can afford to build that bungalow “big-deal” without sweating.
My point is: don’t assume you know the pockets of people in nairobi. Nai has over 4M people na kila mtu amejipanga kivyake with their own targets in life. Wewe jipe shughuli otherwise these articles you spew might make you think you are doing something yourself but you really aren’t.
Mtu anaishi Kilimani with proper money is centuries ahead of someone who built a house more than 50KM from CBD. Hiyo ni maisha ya pimbi. Unakula vumbi, time-wasted in traffic, inconveniences all over. Gadamn son! Mimi nikishuka lift najipata Yaya Center, nikijiskia naenda breko CJs, lunch Abbysinia, etc. Weekend nikitaka kurelax ndio huyo mimi race course in less than 10mins. Nikitaka sherehe, black samurai, oyster, ibiza, alchemist, ziko karibu sana. Ongeza tortoises and the company of high IQ neighbours like westerners and japs.
Thika Road has traffic Jam all the time, I usually pity people who have to use it daily, especially those with houses as they have no other option. Angenenua tuu ranch
Mike Jenga nyumba wacha siasa, hio rent unalipa sati saousand ni kutupa unatupa tu, Sahi ukakatikiwa na mbirrions utatoka na furniture zako chache…uwache nyumba ya wenyewe tenant mwingine aingie…
You make some good points. Personally, I’d still build the house and have plenty to do the other stuff. Building a house only sounds foolish if you lack ambition and start thinking that ukijenga pesa zako zitaisha and your ability to make money STOPS.
Never forget that 10M is peanuts to some people. The fact that mindo krass folk pay rent is actually an indication that they’re still not at the point where 8M to build something is nothing. Even more reason to build because they can lose the little they have.
Don’t fool anyone. An 8M house ain’t tying nobody to a shithole country. The ability to make money also doesn’t end when you build a house. Who told you ati ukimaliza kujenga your earning capacity comes to a complete stop? Nobody.
Some of us can build and still buy that Kilimani apartment. You’re operating on a scarcity mindset. You need to operate from a position of abundance.
Low IQ comment. A house is not the security you think it is because it doesn’t cashflow and if you try to make it cashflow (by renting it out), the payback period is terrible (200+ months). Time ya covid some of my neighbors who own their houses tried to sell them juu birrions zilikatika. A house is a utility, not an investment.
Rentals are actual investments juu it is unlikely for all tenants to default even during hard times. Building is not as smart of a move as people think it is. However, I agree that having your own house is better than not having it and not having investments.