She is one of our neighbouring galaxies. Located 2.537 million lightyears from Earth. Has a diameter of 220000 lightyears. We see her as a hazy star with a bright spot at the middle in the night sky. If one was to travel at the speed of light (300000km/sec), it would take you 2537000 years to get to the edge of the galaxy. But don’t worry about that. In only 4 billion years to come, our galaxy (Milky way) and Andromeda will collide and merge into a single mega galaxy. Scientists of that time will have to rename the new handshake galaxy. Something like Milkymeda.
[ATTACH=full]339490[/ATTACH]
@cortedivoire hana haja na hizi maneno
Leo nimeona amepost trigonometry Kwa thread ingine nikashtuka sana
[ATTACH=full]339506[/ATTACH]
It’s very depressing that we have only managed to land on the moon, a mere 300,000 km away.
@ChifuMbitika mbuta I have never understood about light year. Someone explain it to me a toddler.
It is suspected that the two are a binary system. Recent estimates show that the milky way is probably the larger galaxy by mass and therefore gravity. The more the home galaxy is examined, the larger it seems.
Wee toddler tuseme full-speed unaeza kimbia ni 1 km/h… Without variation yaani ukianza kukimbia u will hit hii top speed bila kupunguza au kuongeza. Now say you toddler can run day and night, week in week out for a whole year ju ya bhangi high grade zile zako bila mbegu or sth. Meaning in that one year utakua umekimbia a total of 1 km/h X 365 days X 24 hrs/day. Hiyo inakam 8,760 km umeenda the whole year. Sa hiyo 1 km/h ingekua speed of light, tungeita hiyo 8,760 km ‘lightyear’. Lightyear ni distance sio time… Umbali sio muda. For these astronomical distances, inakua convenient to express them in lightyears ju ni more workable small numbers
A light-year is the distance travelled by light in one year. The standard unit of cosmic distance since the kilometre would be too small.
Milky way is larger than Andromeda contrary to what was previously thought
And even more saddening to know that with all the technology we have, we can’t even take human beings to the edge of the solar system let alo
i wonder if our species will still be around in 4 billion years… One thing is for sure, we will be dead if we never leave this planet as scientists estimate it will be unliveable in 1 billion years due the suns increasing luminosity/heat
The human species will be extinct in less than two million years from now
Swafi mdau.
Lakini hapo Kwa nyasore ume ongea kaukweli flani.
Why would you say that?
-Adverse weather change
-Possibility of a virus or other pandemic that wipes out the whole species
-Possibility of a fatal nuclear war
The movie Interstellar ya Nolan issa good example missah