KNH Negligence killed Ken Walibora

Ken Walimbora

Ken Walibora’s tragic death wasn’t an ordinary accident…

Ken left his home in Lavington for town on Friday April 10 morning in one of his cars, a Mercedes Benz.

He parked the car along Kijabe Street and proceeded to Muthurwa/Country bus area by other means; his mode of transport between those two points is unclear at the moment.

Ken had gone to talk to a truck driver who was to transport his construction materials to Western Kenya. And that’s the reason he was in that area that early morning.

He was violently attacked by a gang of unknown people forcing him to flee

It’s in that process of flight that he was knocked down by a speeding matatu while crossing Landhies Road to get out of harm’s way; that was at around 9am

The postmortem report confirms the attack…

A St. John’s ambulance was first on site but for unknown reasons the crew refused to act as first responders; they left him right there wounded…

He was taken to KNH by an NCC ambulance that turned up later; he got to the hospital at about 10am

At KNH he remained unattended/abandoned/neglected until about midnight when he gave up his soul…

Ken’s death was tragic and not unavoidable…

It’s clear that there are issues of insecurity, there are issues of recklessness on our roads, there are issues of dysfunctional public institutions (security and health services) and dereliction of duty,

All driven by a culture of benign neglect and impunity within our institutions

And normalization of dysfunction and cover up… Everyone is in a hurry to move along…

Ken didn’t have to die like he did…

His tragic death raises many question that should be a subject of serious public introspection and discourse…

And indeed an inquest…

Or that should haunt us, until we up from our comfort zones and fix the shit…

Coz today is Ken… tomorrow it might anyone of us…

By Kepta Ombati

This negligence only becomes visible when a samebody dies. On average police collect and deliver between 4 & 8 bodies to city motuay daily. Mostly nobodies that we never get to hear about.

How’s all these KNH’s negligence?

It’s in that process of flight that he was knocked down by a speeding matatu while crossing Landhies Road
to get out of harm’s way; that was at around 9am

If you ever land at KNH, with nobody to usher you and speak for you to be tended to, you will die. Always pray that in case of accident, somebody recognizes you so that when you get to the hospital, they can pull strings for you to be tended to. Otherwise you will lay there and die.

You are full of shit. Ken arrived at KNH at 10 a.m and died at mudnight and yet you pretend you can’t connect the dots?

KNH are not GOD, mathafaka.

How’s all these KNH’s negligence?

It’s in that process of flight that he was knocked down by a speeding matatu while crossing Landhies Road
to get out of harm’s way; that was at around 9am

It’s true.
I once happened upon a hit and run accident victim just near KNH, happened to live nearby then.
It was vv early kitu 4.30, was just from town from a night out. Total stranger, passersby would just stare and vehicles would zoom past.
In my drunken stupor nikifeel tu kaRoho ka huruma, got a cab and took the guy to KNH.When we reached there the Accident entrance crew was slow as F and I remember raising a sizeable amount of hell till they took him in.
Managed to get from him contacts of his relas n informed em of what was happening.stayed there till he was given first aid and stuff.
As fate would have it was working that Sato morning so had to leave him before the relas showed up.
I hope they did.I hope he pulled through.

PS: lost the phone that same Sato and in essence the relas contacts, and his details.

Gives me peace that I did what seemed right then, and hoping that he got well.

Dude, maybe if you’d take the fridge off your head, then your brain will be unfrozen and then you’ll be able to reason like a human

[SIZE=4]This account of Ken’s death as described by Citizen is rather disturbing. I do not know the guy, but to imagine that a fellow human being was set upon by chokoras, and literally chased to his death by accident is sad. What is even more tragic is the amount of time he remained unattended. If this account is true, we are doomed as a sane and working society[/SIZE]

[SIZE=4] https://citizentv.co.ke/news/accident-or-murder-autopsy-reveals-ken-walibora-had-deep-knife-cuts-on-his-body-330233/ [/SIZE]

Alikuja akikimbizwa na machokoraa akavuka ya kwanza ya pili akagongwa na gari,” says a witness.

The events surrounding his death took place at around 9.30am, an ambulance was called but failed to take him to the hospital upon arrival, a Nairobi county government ambulance later rushed him to Kenyatta National Hospital.

He remained at the hospital’s emergency area without being attended to from 10.30 am, throughout the day and at midnight he passed away.

Ujinga wa mwafrika haidhabitiwi na masomo! Tunangojea wenyeji wa KNH wajiuzulu!

You still didn’t get it ?

That’s almost 12 hours, just seated there in pain and agony.

We’re very docile people, we will just seat back, and hope nothing of that nature happens to us. Well, in other jurisdictions, heads will be rolling.

M’wie radhi “mangele” maanake hatamatishi msomo! Haifai yeyote angojee kwa hayo masaa bila kuhudumiwa KNH, au popote! Ken alikaa kwa muda mrefu bila kuhudumiwa(barabarani na hospitalini). Mgonjwa yeyote huwekwa kwenye “triage” ili wahudumiwe kwa kasi kulingana na mahitaji ya ki afya. Wale wote waliokuwa kazi KNH huduma za dharura itabidi wachunguzwe ikiwa Kenya iko na serikali ya uwajibikaji!

KNH inakuanga kifo direct. Hiyo hosi ni poa tu ukipelekwa as a referral, otherwise wewe umekufa.

Wengine husema kuwa mwafrika ni kundu la shetani, mzungu ni ibilisi bila maarifa, na mchina ni mzalishaji aangaliaye kundu sio kuma! Wote hao ni bongo hafifu! Mwafrika akiteta eti asikuniwe , yeye husahau kuwa ametengwa kama mavi na mshuto! Jiokoe, mwafrika!

There is absolutely no excuse for a patient esp. in the Emergency/Accident section of any hospital to remain unattended for several hours.
What is the meaning of emergency?
That is where the most critical and urgent cases are! Maybe I expect too much sometimes, but come on Kenyans, this is insane. It is primitive to work like that in a place where people are supposed to be in the business of saving lives.
Yes, heads do need to roll at KNH like yesterday.

Huo ndio mtindo pale hospital kuu ya Kenyatta. Sio Walibora wa kwanza, hali ndivyo ilivyo pale. Kama haumjui mtu huwezi ukahudumiwa.

No amount of education shall salvage the monkey in the black brain!!

This is like the 75th scandal involving KNH, that we know of because it involves some “big shot”. It will be business as usual because the hospital’s directors do not get treatment at the same facility they manage. If Ken had arrived at the hospital looking rich, they’d have scrambled to attend to him, but the accident probably made him look like a peasant. Halafu hapo Muthurwa, those muggers operate barely 100 meters from Kamukunji police station, but someone will tell you the D- materials there aren’t aware of the goings on.

Why are you engaging the maafaka.