KRA tax on imports kama hio yako incalculatiwa aje. Jana naambiwa eti nilipie stuff flani coz iko na motor ,at the same time kuna msee amepita na tv na blender,nikauliza mjamaa kama ni voltage wanatax coz the blender is about 750watts (1HP) na yangu barely 80 akastuka na kunishow nitembeze. How do they determine taxable items?
For Amazon, Aramex just delivers your goods but no receipt for taxes paid. Duty and taxes normally around 20 to 30% of cost. At the post office it depends how you talk.
Very safe, Somalis are not cons. If it’s not possible,they’ll tell you. I’ve brought several things using them.
True… it is ill-advised for resale… but very good for personal use because no need to proof payment of customs taxes…
Maybe you can as well sell online locally on Facebook. Some small electronics going $10 on AliExpress are sold locally for over 3k
Yeah… for small businesses… not sustainable in the long run because if you grow too big… the taxman will also look for you and share the spoils (they will actually auction you)… but for small hustles and personal consumption, it is very much okay…
Nop
Shukran kabisa.
Mzee mzito Kilpatrik shukran sana. This soo much helpful.
Was wondering the same?
That must be really lucky (the tax part). Most of the electronic items i’ve tried to bring in from Amazon, i gave up at the checkout part. KRA tax deposit for a 20k smartphone was 6k; For a $200 motherboard was almost twice its cost; A $400 Bissel carpet cleaner requires about twice the amount .
@Wanaruona @Kilpatrick @Jobi4 @Jimjones @Bazuka @coolkip @maina2000 and all other experts in this field.
To put it into perspective, and for easier understanding, say i want to bring in 5 of these babies (image attached). How would you go about it?
Shipping it directly through Amazon’s way would cost $399 + $694 each, which is meeeh … nuts.
[ATTACH=full]330893[/ATTACH]
Any time the customs duty is not clear on the onset, like a clear tabulation of taxes expected, one would be playing Russian roulette especially if you are importing items for resale… Pata potea is never good for scalable business
Usijaribu direct shipping hapo KRA itakukamua Hadi settings. Use woria. AFRISALI from USA to Kenya is 10 dollar. Minimum weight is 25kg. Ongea na hao woria. Wewe uta endea burungo in Eastleigh. Ofisi zao ziko New York.
Uko sure wanacharge 10 dollars currently? Most companies from the US naona ni 15-17 dollars
Not good for trade for KRA will still screw you, should they ever audit you… how will you prove how you paid customs taxes yet Worias never provide tax receipts for customs duty? For personal consumption, yes, for serious business, No… at least not for the long run
Waulize mdau.[ATTACH=full]330904[/ATTACH]
Kitu kidogo Una sema ulinunua second hand. Kwa ex-uk goods.
Aramex kimbia na usiangalie nyuma. Hao ni watapeli. Nikiwa fala mang’aa walikamua mbaya.
Then you become their “bank” because they will ask for proper importation documents (IDF) declaring the same…