How do you import items to Kenya (Electronics mostly)

This is to those in the import, supply or retail ( &/or wholesale) businesses, of mostly electronic products/appliances. How do you import your items of business to Kenya (Electronics mostly)?

For a long time now i’ve ‘skipped’ on numerous business ideas only because the most practical way would involve purchasing the items overseas (since their prices locally are exaggerated), and i haven’t yet grasped a reasonable way to do this.

For instance, purchasing a product for retail import via Amazon is taxed by at times upto 50% of the price by KRA hence, the end of business sense. So what is the economical way of importing say a motherboard, GPU card, SSD/HDD, Case, … from abroad? Btw, i know there are some sites that ship for you and charge per kg, but for instance, for the parts above, when you do the math, it doesn’t make sense anymore.

For wholesale import, i honestly have no idea of the options/alternatives. Say i want to import 30 motherboards from Intel, or just 50 laptops from Dell. Sth close to what established enterprises like Saruk do. For the record, i’m not asking for your import secrets or sth. Off-course, as a start, i might need someone (or an enterprise) to import for me at a fee, or ‘guide’.

Again, i’m not attempting to undercut those in the current businesses. But then again, when the cost of an item is well … . Plus, some of the items in mind are scarcely available locally, and highly overpriced when you bump into them.

Let me know where you need clarification. Na shukran for all feedback.

Buy from Amazon import via savostores
They pay tax for you pay transport 1500sh per kg.
[SIZE=1]But @Wanaruona ndio expert[/SIZE]

Wacha nielimikie hapa pia

For small scale imports, try aliexpress. You can pay via m-pesa, freeshipping on some items, and the consignment posted at any posta nationwide. And you pay posta kenya 100bob handling fees per package

Issue is, if the product is taxed from Amazon to the Savostore location, that tax is placed on you. But importantly, the savostore way only applies for light items e.g. smartphones. If one was to assemble a performance PC, that costs ~80K, with total parts weighing ~10-15kgs, you end up paying highs of 15k alone, excluding other charges. Which starts making less business sense.

@Wanaruona saidia hapa na insights.

Shukran

Yeap, Alibaba has been good for small scale & sized items. Used without any issues for some devices last year. Its probably my go-to for small items. Thanks.

If it is bulk tumia Afrisali they charge 12 dollar minimum ni 25kg. I use kentex but after kukosa battery yangu ya lappy. Am not using them anymore. Offlate wamekuwa na upuzi mingi.

Another alternative ship to Dubai using Afrisali address from there Afrisali will send it to Kenya from Dubai to Kenya ni 7.5 dollar. I used this way where importing from uropian countries.

So what would happen to ,say, a stone crushing machine ile wanaadvertise utalipishwa tax for the total weight? I’ve been eyeing that contraption na ile ya bricks for months now .saidia na info

kama umeappoave hapo sawa

machine china ni 300k…ikifika kenya its 700k

Get it from China and use Rolling Cargo to sea ship it to Kenya. cost per CBM 60k. All costs inclusive

They even charge half a cbm 30k.[ATTACH=full]324949[/ATTACH]

Na customs?
Kuna tofauti ya CIF and FOB…most of these agents cater for FOB, inafika port unachapwa customs ama taxes wazimu!

I want to import a pre ordered XBOX which I saw will be launched in Amazon,the thing is small,taxes zitatufinyilia?

Tumia Afrisali waship to Dubai. Halafu ulete Kenya it’s 750 per kg. Hapo umeruka KRA foot kumi juu

Uko na msee Dubai, you’ll need to trust me to bring it as personal goods thru an Alias…

Just tell your supplier to ship to the Rolling Cargo warehouse in Guangzhou. You will only pay for the weight currently 1kg/usd10.

Tell the supplier to write your name and phone number on the package. You will get notified via sms when they receive the package and a call when it arrives in Ke

Iyo yote comes to around 30k…the machine is about 30kgs na bado ni FOB, I must get slapped by insane taxes! Ama kuna kitu sielewei?

You can import from Amazon and have it delivered to the Africa Saliya (They are Somalis) address in Dubai. Then they ship the consignment for you to Kenya. They charge per kilo (not sure how much, you can Google them) and they will give you a call once the shipment is in either Eastleigh or their town store at Jamia Mall basement.
They will sort the tax issue for you, so you don’t have to deal with KRA, they only charge you per kilo.)

Is this safe?