Hahaha!.. huyu msee amekuwa crusade na ni kama content yake iko based on kuangusha hiyo familia
Ile producer also said the same that their biggest earner was Instagram, but hizi number are too low. Wode Maya has a production team for example. Steve Ndukwu has a international audience.
Wacha @DukeOfKabeteshire atuwekee earnings za Marwa so we can see how he built a $150k house.
African YouTubers, hell even western ones, don’t make much from YouTube. Very very very very few people make a living off YouTube. YouTube is for building a brand that you can leverage to make money elsewhere (ads, sales etc).
These are the numbers and you don’t have to believe me. A very small number can pull $300k a year from YouTube but to do that, you have to be in the right country making the right content and with brand partnerships (Ads, shoutouts) on every post.
An example of people that make it on YouTube:
- Taylor Bell (https://youtube.com/@taylorbell?si=SKcuw9mezdn4VTHA)
-
She went to an Ivy League college and worked at a consulting firm after college in New York. Her content is based on life in nyc, how to get into consulting and pivoting to content creation full time.
-
Why does this work? Lots of people dream of moving to nyc so they watch her content. Millions of American kids dream of a job in finance doing consulting for the big firms so she has a huge career oriented audience in her viewership. As a result, tutorial platforms like Udacity, Skillshare, Coursera and financial services startups partner with her so she can give them a shoutout. That means money!!!
I don’t think such a path exists in Kenya, for example because there’s nothing exciting about Nairobi, our colleges and certainly any valuable career paths that can be considered cool.
Ni wivu inakumaliza
60k kes
This is a typical kenyan standard Youtube channel earnings. 30 days earnings. Hii ni dashboard yangu nimescreenshot. Mtu asikudanganye kuwa youtube inalipa unless uwe uko na views from first tier countries such as US and Uk
I think Youtube hukuwa “winner takes all” kind of business. Hakunaga room for small players to operate profitably. Big channels get most of the attention. I would argue that the failure rate is extremely high and only a few people make serious cash from it. Shida ya biz online na scalable ni they always have a winner takes all type of growth path. One Youtube channel can have 100 million subscribers without any significant incremental management cost to the owner. Huku Kenya probably less than 1000 people earn more than $1000/month from Youtube.
Once you have money you will realise: The world is just a bunch of broke men bitching about rich men and their money.
This is exactly what this thread is.
Define broke and assign a number to it. Once you do that, ask us to prove that we have reached that number. If we haven’t I’ll shut up.
Yeah, the $250k guy who wants to relocate to Canada because KE is shiet ![]()
Define broke and let’s resolve this fair and square.
Anyone who can’t afford cocaine
Unless wewe si mwanaume. Men will always talk about cars, money and women.
Hizi views ni za kenya mostly ama majuu?
Mostly kenya.
Duke, achana na hawa watu. I think you have no need of engaging such people.