Why Kenyans Are Angry About SHA Deducting Money Without M Pesa PIN

This move looks like a quiet backdoor into people’s mobile money.

For many Kenyans, M Pesa is not just a wallet.
It is their bank.
It is their salary account.
It is their rent money.
It is their school fees.
It is their emergency fund.

So the moment deductions can happen without a PIN prompt, the entire idea of user control collapses.

1) It breaks the meaning of consent

If someone never confirms a transaction with a PIN, then the real question becomes:

Did they truly authorise it?
Or did they just click something during registration without understanding?

Consent must be:

• clear
  • specific
  • informed
  • reversible

Many Kenyans feel this SHA setup fails that test.

The Biggest Problem: It Normalises “Auto Deduction” Culture

Kenyans are not just complaining about SHA.

They are warning about the future.

If SHA can do it today, then tomorrow it becomes:

• county levies
  • NHIF style contributions
  • debt collection
  • loans
  • taxes
  • penalties

That is why the anger is intense.

This is not only about SHA.
It is about power over citizens’ money.

“So What Is the PIN For?”

That is the loudest question.

Because PIN verification is the core security feature of M Pesa.

When deductions bypass PIN prompts, it creates a frightening message:

Your PIN is not really protecting your money.

And if that’s the case, then M Pesa becomes less of a secure platform and more of a system where institutions can pull funds once you’ve been enrolled.

What Kenyans Argued in the Comments

From threads like this, Kenyans consistently argue these points (and it matches your screenshot context):

A) “This is theft dressed as a policy”

Many Kenyans see it as:

• forced contribution
  • silent deduction
  • money taken when users are not ready

People call it daylight robbery.

B) “This is how scams start”

Kenyans have been burned too many times by:

• lending apps
  • fake paybills
  • subscription traps
  • silent charges

So people fear this is a new “official” trap.

C) “Where is the opt out button?”

Kenyans demanded:

• clear cancellation option
  • ability to stop deductions instantly
  • transparency on amounts and frequency

Most people don’t even mind paying.
They mind paying under unclear terms.

D) “Why are they targeting hustlers?”

Many said this affects mostly:

• low income earners
  • casual workers
  • mama mboga
  • boda boda riders

Because these are the people who keep funds in M Pesa.

So the outrage becomes class based:

The system is squeezing the poor.

E) “Safaricom is enabling state control”

The anger also spills to Safaricom:

People argue Safaricom has allowed government to turn M Pesa into a collection tool, not a neutral service.

Some even said:

• “Safaricom is no longer for the people”
  • “M Pesa is now captured”
  • “This is surveillance and control through finance”

Why This Is Bad Public Affairs for Safaricom

Even if it is technically “authorised”, it is a PR disaster because it creates:

• fear
  • mistrust
  • panic about M Pesa security
  • suspicion of collaboration with the state

Safaricom’s biggest asset is trust.

When Kenyans think M Pesa can be accessed without PIN prompts, you have already lost the public.

What Should Have Happened Instead

If SHA contributions are being automated, the ethical model should be:

:white_check_mark: prompt user to approve every deduction
:white_check_mark: send clear alerts before deduction
:white_check_mark: provide easy opt out
:white_check_mark: require user PIN periodically to re confirm consent
:white_check_mark: allow users to set maximum deduction limits

Without that, the programme looks coercive.

When some smart people foresaw these exact problems and declared that mpesa should be a separate financial entity from safaricom, walipigwa siasa as usual. This way, your money would have protections like banks and saccos etc. As of now, you can shout all you want. Safaricom is a telco holding all your money, government will do whatever it wants with all that money you gave to a random company.

It could also signal the end of Mpesa as we know it. It is just a matter of time before Kenyans vote with their pockets. Already, businesses are slowly ditching tills and paybills.

Lazima ita work- sakaja voice

One of the reasons I’ve never trusted the idea of leaving big balances in my mpesa and never stopped using cash in most transactions when the government is a shareholder. Pia hio idea yenye mtu anaeza trace my movements almost every minute through mpesa transactions haijawai nipendeza.

Halafu for a big company like Saf, hii story yao ya lipa mdogo mdogo on almost everything, now SHA, is really milking ordinary Kenyans dry when they offer bigger discounts on their services to upper class citizens. Kwanza system ya kuloan electronics to low-income earners is the worst na gava inaangalia tu. How can you end up paying sth twice the original price ata kama ni loan. Even banks don’t work that way.

Sijawahi trust mpesa either. Huge privacy violations every transaction. I don’t mind being in the stone age and paying with cold cash everywhere.

Kathiongo must go

Maybe you could elaborate the decision to set the auto deduction without authorization. Supposing the authorization is there when registering for SHA? Wakenya, tunasoma clauses za T&Cs kweli, ama kazi ni kubonyeza “Agree”. It’s more like signing a contract. Think of standing orders, direct debit etc?

I need to understand…kama employee anakatwa kwa mshahara, how about an individual who has signed for it using MPESA as the account.

I think we have to zoom out and look at the bigger picture.
However, I agree that there are privacy issues with mobile money.

This was Saf’s reply on the issue

But sometimes I wonder if Saf do provide extensive consumer education on their services. Unaeza pata many customers enrolled for that Mpesa Ratiba without actually knowing what it doese in details.

I don’t know how they introduced it to customers. But unaeza pata during launch, labda they only talked about the positive sides, kama hio story ya kuset up payments ya recurring bills but hapo kwa not requiring users to enter pin, they talk about it lightly to avoid eliciting concerns. So kunaweza kuwa na transparency issue hapa.

But again, kuna maumbwa wengine who just don’t take their time to understand what they are getting in to. Because naona, for such a thing to happen you have to 1. Register or Opt in to Mpesa Ratiba, and 2. Enable Sha to autodeduct.

Why are attachments in this post NSFW again?

MPESA wanabehave. Kitambo ukichukua mshwari walikuwa wanakata directly without prompting.

Which businesses? The paybills are everywhere

Hujawahi enda mahali ukapewa agent number ama number time direct?

Watu wa long distance matatu ndio wako na hio tabia. My house shopping Kwa soko, wholesale na hata za construction kila mtu ni paybill. Sanasana ya Equity.

We are probably talking about the same thing but using different languages. You are talking from experience same as I. Nimeenda places mingi including hardwares where unaona till ama paybills but unaambiwa iko Na shida utume Kwa number ama you withdraw at an agent.

Once again, why MPESA should have been a separate financial institution to be fully covered under 2010 financial act. Hiyo mchezo ya hiding under obscure T&Cs wouldn’t work.

Hao wanakula :sweat_smile::joy: