Straight Pipe Wrench
Offset Pipe Wrench
Straight Pipe Wrench
Offset Pipe Wrench
Offset
Why? There’s yet another one with a 45⁰ incline. So there are 3 types.
0⁰, 45⁰ and 90⁰
Can you determine the mechanical advantage of a machine without the values of load and effort? I thought VR is the one you get direct
Assuming the handle lengths are the same
Can you define mechanical advantage. The offset has a wide head and would be difficult to use in tights spaces.
Offsets works well in tight space
Straight of course…force is perpendicular and not angular and it has more distance to fulcrum assumed to be the centre of the gap…this is assuming same red handle length…and using formula…work= F x D
Offset work output is less for same force as it is is angular and distance from fulcrum is less too.
QED
2/10 is your score. You are supposed to be defining Torque.A wrench works by torque. And torque has an angular variable.
Doing more work with less effort.
Scientifically it is a ratio of Input Force to Output Force.
Torque=force applied(f)× distance between axis of rotation and force applied(r)× sine of angle between force and distance(r)
Now read my answer again…but you are right I didn’t use correct terminology…I was estimating mechanical efficiency and I did consider force, distance and angles which determines torque. Terminology is less important than the guestimation using the right variables in getting your answer.
With straight the angle is perpendicular meaning u calculate using sine of 90 degrees = 1, offset will definitely have to be multiplied by a theta less than 1 eg 0.89 depending on the angle of offset.
What is you answer to OP? Is it different to mine?
OPs question is either or…hakuna in between score…it’s either you get the answer or you don’t…hakuna scores…hakuna nusu mkate score ati 2/10…u win or lose…it’s either straight or offset
I thought hio kichwa yako maji imejaa Raira this, Raira that.
Op is asking a wrong question. What is a mechanical advantage ( in this case) ? You see those two tools are made for different purposes. One is to fit an angular position.
And you answered wrongly, thereof.
You are very academic, I can tell you are 8-4-4
Omogambi yaa.kumbe iko science kwa hio akili gaki?
There is no such thing as a wrong question…a stupid one maybe…and even if I am CBC or even ngumbaru…definition of mechanical advantage remains the same…different tools will have different mechanical advantages.
" Mechanical advantage is a measure of the amplification achieved by using a tool or machine system. The device trades off input forces against movement to obtain a desired amplification in the output force. The model for this is the law of the lever"
He’s comparing mechanical advantage of tools designed for a different functionality? It’s like comparing mechanical advantage of a crowbar vs a hammer.
It’s a wrong question.
Again…there are no wrong questions…Mimi sio mwalimu wa physics so nitaachia hapo…mechanical advantage of a tool for a specific task is precisely why you use a hammer for task 1 and a crowbar for task 2…a hammer might have a mechanical advantage over a crowbar for task 1 while a crowbar have a mechanical advantage over a hammer for task 2…it is relative to the task I agree…but given task x, we can always determine whether tool y or z has absolute mechanical advantage…my thoughts…nimemaliza…unless you hold a contrary answer to a straight holding mechanical advantage to an offset as per the OPs question…
…jibu swali badala ya kujaribu kuzungumzia swali halijaulizwa…
Sisi wenye tulifanya biology na agriculture tukae wapi
Gaaki nilikuwa ferry pright student in high school and college
Is why I said we ni 8-4-4 kabisa