Just because it was a prominent person involved in the accident, people have stopped using their heads and emotions have taken over. If it was drunken subaru boy overspeeding from “Vasha” at 3am and disregarding all traffic rules to ram head into a bus nearly killing 65 innocent bus passengers the story would be very different.
I have seen people blaming the driver, that he should have stopped apishe the merc motorist, that he should have veered off the road to get into the killer culvert hapo karai. You can imagine a bus travelling at 80km/h on the slope from kimende to naivasha then out of nowhere an impatient drunk driver suddenly joins the road from a petrol station and gets into your lane and rams you head on. You have to pity the bus driver and the 65 passengers for the trauma they were caused by the reckless drunk driver.
[At around 2:15 am Saturday, December 13, Jirongo, driving alone in his white Mercedes-Benz, entered Eagle Petrol Station in Karai, Naivasha, along the busy Nairobi-Nakuru Highway.
The politician, who was travelling towards Nairobi, turned into the petrol station in the opposite direction and steered his car towards a fuel pump. However, instead of refuelling, he turned back and rejoined the highway. It was at this point that the former MP made a fatal error, according to a reconstruction of events by witnesses who spoke to Sunday Nation.
Upon re-entering the highway, Jirongo reportedly continued driving in the lane reserved for oncoming traffic, vehicles heading from Nairobi towards Nakuru. A petrol station attendant, who requested anonymity for privacy reasons, said that was when a loud crash was heard. Jirongo’s Mercedes-Benz collided head-on with a bus belonging to Climax Company, which was travelling from Nairobi towards Nakuru. The former minister’s car was dragged several metres from the point of impact before the bus eventually came to a halt, the attendant explained. He rushed to the scene and attempted to open the car door, but it was locked. When he peered inside, he saw a man slumped over the steering wheel, facing downwards, with blood visible on his head.
The attendant said he called the emergency number at 2:37 am to alert the police. A lorry sped past, but another driver stopped later to assist.]
When someone is prominent, they get into our consciousness just like relatives and friends.
When someone prominent (or not) has a history of rubbing deep state the wrong way, many people will interrogate the circumstances of their death
Let the truth come out, however piecemeal. Even your post (intentionally or not) has provided useful information that helps solve the puzzle
Even if it was purely drunken driving that caused the accident, it would be useful to learn why a man that left Karen for Ngiringiri after 11 pm eventually found his way to Naivasha the same night.
The collective interrogation of his death will help provide a sense of closure and aid healing to his family, relatives and friends.
In death, all our transgressions cease. May Cyrus Jirongo’s soul rest in peace
Mkulima wa mapera jifunze kuonesha heshima ukitaka Jina la one of the few globally recognised African scientist. You cannot use my name in the same paragraph with common thieves and fornicators.
Nimekubaliana na wewe on everything else you said isipokua hii. Our actions don’t end with us; their impact lives on long after we’re gone. Leo, we’re talking about Jirongo, who was not a good person. It was Moi, aided by Ruto, who enabled his rise to prominence and gave him the power to nearly ruin the economy and to definitively ruin people’s lives. Moi died, Jirongo went on living for some time, and Ruto is now our president. A coincidence?