What did you eat as a child?

This morning I saw a kid chewing on plastic bag, which reminded me of myself as a kid.

I ate lot’s of charcoal; only stopped because my mum pulled my ears every time my teeth and tongue became black. I sprayed Mortein Doom into my mouth because I liked the smell and how it felt on the tongue and throat. When I was in class four I used to rip an entire exercise book page and chew for many minutes before swallowing. I’d have a mouthfull of paper and swallow in bits until it all went down. I ate pencil erasers and pencils. I used to lick dust that gathered on car rims.

Chewed hard on pieces of sponge. I ripped them off of blackboard dusters. I ate mango tree leaves and some other plant we called matawi ya chumvi.I bought njugu and put in a plastic bag then chewed as chewing gum. Only problem is testa was left stuck all over my teeth.

My sister an I used to steal pumice stones - soft ones, break them into smaller pieces and eat them. Aaaaargh f_ck. Now that I think about it.

And my personal favourite; chalk. I ate so much chalk, it’s amazing am still alive. The chalk would give me headaches but that did not stop me. When teachers started using dustless chalk I slowed down a bit while I recalibrated my tastedbuds. And the party restarted in earnest.

16 Likes

Terrible waste

Gluttonous pig

Uko na umama lakini tuko pamoja

interesting. will want to hear what doctors will say.

Hehe hii ni calcium deficiency… What a terrible waste

And I hope umemaliza kuoa coz I wouldn’t want your savage genes kwetu

fixed

Wah… looks like you were malnutritioned as a kid or you were an orangutan.

Part human, part Tasmanian Devil.
Wewe ni yule mtu alipigwa x-ray akapatikana na iron sheets kwa tumbo?

16 Likes

Hehehe. I must’ve been in a previous life or an alternate universe.

God loves you and He has a purpose for you!

or swallowing cockroaches…

OK Cool. Unrelated: Is your handle an anagram?

I used to put sugar in a polythene bag chew it.

it was all fun and games until mathe came and spotted the few stray grains on the table top…then the tears came…

How are you still alive?

Asiiiii too much info…

Burnt matchstick heads

Lots of smokers in my family
Unlimited supply
No competition
Yummy!

Aiih, hii yako ilikuwa sickness buda.
The only things I remember eating as a kid is lots and lots of wild fruits many of which I can’t even remember their names. Ndare, ngenia, thigiu, ndabibi, and many others.

Yeeeess! Sometimes unawasha kibiriti just so you can eat it!