Watu wa kawasaki/nduthi

Yes i know, the heading is a little misleading for you enthusiasts of the other kind.

Anyway, I have always been very apprehensive of these motorized mechanical seats of death. I hate them on the road taking up space on the highway like some sort of hybrid-mutated vitz and i hate them crowding the junctions of towns as they wait for customers to carry them off to their graves and the lucky few to their destinations. And its unfortunate that you have to dress up like the rubber, leather and loud colours turn you on to ride one those death traps.

I have been on them fewer times than the fingers on my hands. In fact I’d rather walk. And im not just talking about the kawaida boda-bodas, even those big supercharged bikes that look very impressive and powerful are guilty.
Videos like these keep me convinced never to get on those bloody machines ever again:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1HWDcMzO_2g

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJD5JesZbmY

I fear motorcycles too but sometimes I have no choice.

most superbike riders are careless like this guy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vB6Y1SXVJu0

kwanza pale thika road na waiyaki way kuna very daring motobikers

kama ni kuenda ocha, on a dirt road, sawa lakini nai I avoid them like plague

shida kubwa ya hawa ma-fellow ni they are ganjaheads…fangi ikimwambia kuna shortcut hapa hakuna kuangalia ni kupiga corner tu hata kama njia ni one-way…

lol didnt know we had so many alarmists here

Blame the laws of physics

alarmists you say? just go to any public hospital and count the number of people nursing broken bones in the socalled bajaj wards…and those are just leg injuries…

for what, riding like a monkey and thinking you are exempt from the rules because you have 2 wheels rather than 4?

@Nefertities is one of those girls who is a speed-demon. and she is probably turned on by speed. more so, on a bike. And thats fine. My contention is that the danger these things come with far outweigh their convenience and thrill.

Oh please! If you pick one thing and chose to focus on it, of course it will stand out. I could go to youtube right now and get you a compilation of morbidly obese people then preach about how being vegetarian is the best thing for everyone. I could also get you a compilation of people affected by STDs. I highly doubt ya’ll will stop fvcking around on your families just because you saw a video of 35 deeks rotting from gonorrhea!

But thats how interacting works Nef. You focus on one thing, then move on to the next. Doesnt make us alarmists in any sense of the word. If every other post was about how dangerous motorbikes are, then yes, we would be alarmists.

lol go back and read your post, watch the videos and then read comments and tell me thre isn’t an alarmist tone here.

If someone who has never seen a motorbike or been on one was directed here as the very first source of information, they would NEVER even come near a motorbike!

Thats true if that was the only info they ever got about bikes. But we all know that isnt the case. And any reasonable person would look for redeeming qualities in motobikes to make an informed decision. So no, its not alarmist, its an opinion. One that you can take and hold or plainly reject.

Kama ni siku yako ata ukikaa kwa nyumba kwa sofa, TV itakuangukia tu

Alarmist wa fangi wewe :smiley:

People died, die and continue to die in car accidents. A motorcycle is not a death trap until one chooses to make it so.

Motorcyclists have their own safety standards and if one chooses to ignore them that is to their own peril.

I have one and there’s no way I can ditch it for a car. I rarely do 80km/hr and on roads like Thika and Mombasa where there are service lanes those are the ones I will take.

Nikibebwa na bajaj,I actually do the riding myself…enda pole pole buda,usigonge bump ingine hivyo nimekalia watoto,hiyo speed iko sawa staki kufika mapema mbele ya manzi…etc

You’re losing the perspective here mummy. You don’t have to pick on the bikes subject for it to stand out- it actually does STAND OUT. I’ve never seen wards entirely dedicated to HIV, STDs, et al. But I’ve seen entire wards dedicated to motocycle accident victims. Ask @Luther12 . A bulk of the 3000 deaths that occured in the Kenyan roads last year emanated from bike accidents. Unlike vehicles and other mods of transport, a simple mistake on a bike could potentially be fatal.