I have this female friend who always consults me whenever she has a business idea but this time am unable to exhaustively advice her. She has some cash, around 1.6m and shes planning to get two Beltas for Uber business. I have asked her to give me a week or so before I can give her feedback. Nyinyi kama mbirioneas wa Ktalk what are the pros and cons of uber and what are the profit margins? and if it were you what alternative business ideas would you advice her to explore other than uber considering that shes a career woman with a 9- 5 job
Kenyans always copying everybody now wants to have an uber taxi
I asked hii swali hapa last month. I can’t get the thread but ambia mod wakusaidie. I use uber often coz I hate driving in the city during weekends. I do also talk to those uber drivers alot. I have asked your question to a number of drivers and the common answer is “You only benefit from uber if you are the owner and the driver of your vehicle”.
Notably even the taxi drivers who were protesting uber have bought vehicles and registered with uber. The business is flooded from a common mwananchi view but then I see new matatus everyday yet people say matatu zimejaa route flani.
Lastly transport business inataka balls of steel.
Give your female friend this analysis I have done based on my uber receipts and let her make the decision. Price per km may go higher because I have not factored Kshs 3 per minute and Kshs 100 base fare
[ATTACH=full]86088[/ATTACH]
Uliza wale wako na Uber na wanagoma why they are always protesting. Once you get the answer to that, join the long queue of Kenyans trying to register their vehicles with Uber.
theuri-wa-kigogoine and okiya
This lady, like myself has zero business experience apart from Mpesa agent. What do you suggest she should invest in. The two of you sound like experienced business people. Plots amenunua tayari, gvt bonds ako nazo, insurance ziko she just wants something to dubble in as she makes some cash on the side. Btw shes still single:D:D
Biashara ya kuambiliwa usually doesn’t work
What we lack as a country is creativity, I am not sure whether this is because of the 8-4-4 system or what.
I was talking to an uber driver the other day and he told me that Uber has 6000 vehicles right now and there are 1000 vehicles that are in the waiting list. Tell your friend to use her brain and invest in a less crowded business.
Fisked
@Grundy hio lack of creativity ni effects za 8-4-4 cram to pass exams. Hii ni education system that is free of knowledge
6000 on the lower side meeen, a friend aliingia uber last month feb and he was like 10000 person, kuna rumors that one of the big shots kwa gava bought like 1000 cars to uber na thats why uber seems to be immune to threats za drivers, sitasema Faruk kibet but one of people close to ruto.
Problem with uber is you (owner) of the car bears the greatest risk but your income is the one which is not certain. Uber will retain the 25% commission but lower the fare prices to customers. Put the cost of fuel going up, maintenance…
The basic business formula of uber is
Uber takes 25%
Owner takes 75%
But wakenya nao will buy a car and employ a driver who will eat on your 75%. Interestingly people who drive their own car make something good but drivers employed ndio were striking coz they take 2500 kwa mwenye gari everyday. Now calculate going backwards with 2500 going to the owner, weka ya driver, fuel to cover the distance which will make you break even in a day. Uber is doable but the market now is saturated because of Kenyans copycats habits
Great insights guys. I will advice her accordingly and let her make her own decision. My folks used to own matatus and the business only survived because my ruthless uncles were the ones in charge…hii biashara ya magari sio ya kila mtu…unless you have a fleet.
leta mbisha na namba nitamsaidia niki approve
Why do people blame everything on 8-4-4.? Is there a system that teaches you how to be creative?
On the contrary, 8-4-4 actually kills your creativity.
I think that culture is what contributes to how creativity grows. If society punishes anything different or unique but adores conformity and rigid structures creativity will be stifled. Look at China and compare them to America. China has smart people but all they do is copy, they’re good diligent workers who do what they’re told. They’re hacking American tech companies because they can’t be original. Baidu and Alibaba are like clones of Google and Amazon. Kenya has a culture that does not reward creativity, look at the old actors. This has more to do with our culture. We are conformists.
hehe escapism, anything to blame for our failures. But on Klist 8-4-4 seems to be a punching bag of those without anything valuable to contribute in adiscussion. I also do the same at times. For example the thread is asking for alternative investment decisions and you can tell real mbirioneas have weighed in with some wonderful input but those with nothing to contribute have lashed on 8-4-4
If she wants to get supernormal profits, she should invest in something she knows. Otherwise, she could alternatively invest in her own business.
I do portfolio management and I could give a proposal for investment options. Inbox me if interested.
if ni uber , who pays for the overhead costs since the company just takes its share and leaves the other problems to you
As a side business , its good but don’t expect much esp if its your main business
Subaru Taxi/psv
https://image.ibb.co/gRtUaa/WP_20170302_08_16_56_Pro.jpg
whoever is saying uber is saturated doesn’t know what he’s saying, the secret to a successful uber business is finding a hardworking driver who will treat this biz and the car as his own. Kazi iko ya kufanywa but when you get a driver ana amka 11 and ends up doing half day how can you expect to break even let alone make profits?