Things we take for granted!

I remember back, about two decades ago, when I was a young boy, sometimes during the school holidays my parents used to take us kids to our somewhere in the edge of mau forest where my dad and uncle owned farms.

Those days the forest spread right to the road that dissected my uncles farm with some forest, but under private hands. If you went further into the forest, you’d descent into a river in about a kilometer.
The water was crystal clear, and sweet, grass always green. Close by downstream on the river the river parted to two streams, then rejoined in about twenty metres ahead, to for an island of sort.
More amazing was the fact that at the point the two streams met there was a small water fall. And some 'oke had set up a water mill for grinding millet and maize there, a poshomill of those days.

Sometimes we used to cross the river or the two streams to the other side of the forest proper, owned by the government and as wild as a forest can be. Full of bamboos so tall and thick, and all types of wild fruits. Elephants and all kinds of wild animals inhabited the placed. The only people who lived there at the time were the Dorobos, and they lived strictly on nature, hunting and gathering.

We used to go there with my cousins and friends to collect wild strawberries, some fruit that resemble k apple and much much more that is lost to memory or I never knew them.

About two years back I went to the place, to visit my uncle.
The place looks beautiful, is warmer and the roads are well maintained.
Any trace of natural forest is gone.
You look in all directions and its green tea plantations. A first time visitor there would probably be impressed with the place. As for me, I feel a loss, a loss like death.
All that nature is gone. The streams are gone, the throbbing forest, our wild fruits. Even the Dorobos are gone, while a few of them squat around.
Some politicians at some point hatched a plot to hive off a part of the forest, registered the Dorobo’s and squatters as genuine beneficiaries, then once the allocations were done, went ahead to transfers the forest to themselves.
They then went ahead and used all available government machinery to clear the forest build roads etc.

But what hurts most, the only thing I think back with Nostalgia, is the virgin nature.

12 Likes

usiende mbali sana upto mau, you only need to go past otiende dog section to see forest grabbing right here in nairobi

I feel your pain bro. I also harbour such memories. Man is inherently destructive.

Ngong forest is going going gone.
@Wakanyama kumbuka vile ilikua

Ngong hills zimeanza kuenda,there is a route we used to like tukienda hike,now we cant use it coz it feels like you are tresspassing.kuna hadi deep trenches to discourage you from ever using it

I feel you. When I was a little boy, I used to be woken up by chirping birds. Back then I found it irritating coz the “noise” would interfere with my sleeping. Actually the birds were some sort of alarm coz they would start chirping around 5.30-6.00 am. On my way to school I would see frogs, grasshoppers, ants, lizards, butterflies, caterpillars, even snakes and monitor lizards once in a while. Mark you this was an urban area. Nowadays it’s extremely hard for one to come across these creatures. Sometimes I wish I had a time machine so I could experience these simple pleasures (without having to pay some “exotic resort” for the “privilege”). We’re so focused on “development”, replacing all the beauty we were given freely with ugly concrete jungles.
Nowadays the chirping birds have been replaced with matatus and bodabodas. It’s fucked up.

I hate people who destroy nature for their selfish personal gain

There’s a stupid kikuyu DC can’t remember his name who chopped down the entire maragoli forest on maragoli Hills … i curse him up to the tenth generation

and settled kikuyus there,stupid mluyha

Ngong forest saa hii inaitwa Kihara meaning bald kwa wale hawajui lugha ya taifa

In your dreams autistic baboon with a prolapsed anus

wewe ni mtu ya otiende hapo sunvalley

Unfortunately, your kids won’t get to enjoy such wonders.

@shocks back in '98, before KMA and Sun Valley came up you could actually spot buffalo at a watering point somewhere there. So serene.

Greed. Forests are cleared and no reforestation is done, instead bricks and concrete fill such places. Grey, unorganized structures are an eyesore. If only some supernatural entity can focus an ice age in those places and regenerate green vegetation!

dave mwangi…i am ashamed to share a genealogy with him…

“IF YOU DESTROY NATURE,NATURE WILL DESTROY YOU;” WANGARI MAATHAI… ALL THESE NIGGERS WHO ENGAGE IN SUCH A VICE WILL DESTROY US

what he did was terrible . I pray he burns in hell with the amount of firewood he chopped when he singlehandedly destroyed a tropical rainforest

brambleberries…nostalgia is made of this…

https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTPxInJgecu_M3pdjRp9mg7Hy5txTPgj-AJtq9wfRStiVanm9S5

It’s not too late to make a difference. In the early 2000s we bought pieces of a maize farm on the outskirts of embu and started developing homes…we all planted some trees, ornamentals and fruits (including avocado [ahem!] and mango grafts)…in about 12 years the trees are big and the nesting place of a variety of birds…their songs give me peace every morning i am there…If you have some space plant some trees this el nino season…

I dunno if I’m the only one but if I woke up in the morning and there was no sound of birds chirping in the air, I’d be depressed. It’s one of those rare luxuries of living out here mashambani.