The Towel, The Shower, and the Bronze Anatomy of Mr. Kenya

September 2001. The world was mourning the Twin Towers, but in my small corner of the universe, a different kind of architectural wonder was taking up space. I was in Form One. You know that age? The age where your voice is a confused DJ, constantly scratching between a bass and a soprano. The age where your blazer is three sizes too big because your mother, in her infinite wisdom, bought it to “accommodate future growth.”

I was a “mono,” a small, nervous satellite orbiting the chaotic sun of high school.

That Saturday, the Old Man came home with The Standard. In 2001, the Saturday paper wasn’t just news; it was a ritual. It had the pullouts—the glossy, colorful invitations to worlds we didn’t belong to. Tucked inside was a full-page spread of the newly crowned Mr. Kenya.

I took that paper to my room. I didn’t just read it; I interrogated it.
Mr. Kenya was a marvel of biological engineering. He was all angles and shadows, glistening with enough baby oil to fry a kilo of chips. I stared at that picture for twenty minutes. Straight. No blinking. If there was a world record for staring at a man’s deltoids, I’d have been on the podium.

But here’s the thing about being fifteen: your brain is a liar. It tries to negotiate with your instincts. I told myself, “Boss, you just really admire his work ethic. You want to know his bench press routine. You want him to be your mentor. Maybe he can show you around the gym and teach you the secret of the tricep.” I wanted to be his friend. Or his student. Or his gym bag. I wasn’t sure. I just knew that looking at him felt like standing too close to a heater in July.

At fifteen, a boy’s body is not his own. It’s a warzone. It’s a civil war between hormones and common sense, and common sense is usually the first casualty. You are a walking container of volatile chemicals, waiting for a catalyst.

Two weeks later, the catalyst arrived.

It was after a long afternoon shower. The kind of shower where you’re trying to wash off the existential dread of a double-math Monday. I was in my room, dabbing myself dry with a towel that had seen better days—one of those rough, Kenyan towels that exfoliates your soul whether you like it or not.

Then, an accident occurred. A biological “oops.”

I happened to rub a certain way. By no intention, mind you. Just a stray movement of the towel. And suddenly, the universe shifted. It spilled out. Creamy, white, and—let’s be honest—terrifyingly gelatinous. I stood there, towel in hand, frozen like a statue in a courtyard. I looked down and, in the ultimate dramatic flair of a teenager, I whispered to the empty room: “Woi! My babies!”

I was so startled by the discovery that I did what any logical Kenyan boy would do; I went back into the shower to wash away the evidence, and then, for good measure, I let it happen again. Eureka.

I went back to my room and sat on the bed. My eyes drifted to the Saturday paper I had stashed away. I looked at Mr. Kenya again.

And that’s when it happened.

You know that “click” when a Bluetooth speaker finally finds your phone? That sudden, seamless connection? Bloop. Connected.

The lie about the “gym training sessions” evaporated. I didn’t want to know his workout split. I didn’t want to be his “friend.” I wanted him with an intimacy that was as remarkable as it was terrifying. I didn’t want the gym; I wanted the man.

I kept that newspaper for three straight years. It was my most sacred relic, hidden under my box of school textbooks like a state secret. I guarded it with my life until my sister, in a fit of unsolicited domestic heroism, decided to “clear out the junk” from the house. Screw you, Sharon. You didn’t just throw out a newspaper; you threw out the archives of my epiphany.

But the paper didn’t matter anymore. The “Bluetooth” had stayed connected. That was the story of how a Saturday tabloid, a glistening bodybuilder, and a rough cotton towel taught me the most important thing a man can know: exactly who he is.

punguza ushoga msenge

He’s shooting his shot :rofl::rofl::rofl:

I read the whole thing. Good on you for finding yourself… I guess. Make me your editor though. It was a bit difficult to read. Reminds me of Alan Wake.

Unacheka nini mbwa hii ?

Shoga takataka za municipal

Kumbe hii jamaa ni shoga pia

The fuck is happening to this forum

You Are Wait What GIF by Wahala Room

Meza dawa ama turpentine shenzi

indignation-jump