The Rains have come!

I never thought in my life I’ll ever be a farmer. I hated it on merit basis based on what my father was going through as one while I was a kid. I have found myself as notorious one the last 5 months. Currently I have quite a sizable acres of perennial crops and slowing adding in a multiple of 20 acres every year.

The rains were late this year after I planted them. I felt like crying and crapping on my pants the last 2 weeks. My crops were drying after spending quite a fortune on everything: 200 bags of DAP, 130 lorries of cow manure each carrying 20 tones (So in total I had 2.6 million Kg of cow manure.)

As from yesterday, it rained. My withered crops are now blossoming . I whispered to mzee my excitement. “You are now a farmer something that you have been evading for a long time,” he slowly replied. I have put Kakuzi on notice in 10 years to come.
Meanwhile, I listened to Don Williams “Lord I hope this day is good”. It’s an anthem that should be sung by every farmer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZKjjlZmR4Y

ABBA

Has it’s ups and down…but it is doing good as you are feeding njaruos ndo wasichome lami

mbona unachukia wakenya wengine hivyo

Congratulations. Now you need to stop relying on rains.

I have found a borehole guy to do the job.

Mimi nasemanga, AND I PRAY FOR RAINS, THE REST WE WILL DO. AMEN

Lakini in my eyes , wewe ni mteso mijinga

You’ll soon be addicted. Farming is almost like being God. You bring forth life and nurture it to fruition. Then kill it.

prophets of global warming kina @Electronics4u after kulipwa peanuts na Biden walisema mvua haitawai nyesha Kenya tena unless tu destroy all our coal, get full vaccination and start eating vegetables only .

From the inputs mentioned I guess you are doing between 200 and 300 acres. That’s huge! If well managed it’s returns will be a couple of times the amount invested.

200 acres and he is still relying on rain? This must be a low IQ bonobo farmer mwenye hata mechanization ni alien concept…

Banyamulenge niaje

kwanza wa explain hii story ya carbon emissions. if trees emit carbon dioxide at night, why do you want us to plant more trees? :D:D

Believable until that part of 130 lorries each with 20ton manure. From which dairy farm did you get 2,600 tons of manure? Getting 5 tons mahali moja is almost impossible. Even from a city’s water and sanitation company, you’ll not get that amount of manure. Another question. How did you spread all of it in the farm? Yeah, start researching. In short, hii hekaya ya busaa den danganya nayo watoto.

Rather than farming @uwesmake would prefer being a Sonja , @Sambamba will still tarmack holding tight to his degree , @Nipe Nikusifu would rather let weirdos penetrate his ears since they are the only tight orifice remaining . They won’t utilise the heavy rains nabii and Mrs prayed hard for .

Wewe naona ni kama unaishi tu Nairobi…Visit Maasi land,Laikipia, Samburu and other ASAL regions mahali they keep large herds of livestock and you can even get 1000 lorries of manure if you want to…Tembea Kenya.
Spreading it is using manual labour…na pia Lori ikikuja haimwagi mahali pamoja,they enter the shamba and mwaga at different points…
Hongera Mkulima…when you are done with the borehole you’ll be a Lord…next will be installing solar and going off-grid Kabisa…in ten years,you will be featured Kwa magazeti na mitandao…
Ensure you practice GAP and SAP

I use that trick after buying lands and it pays well . nothing compares to cattle manure when it comes to farm fertility

Exactly…Mtu kusema there is nowhere you can get that manure means hajatembea…Use cow manure to plant,then use a mixture of chicken plus pig manure to topdress (but ensure it is well dried and aerated before using it ju inawezakufanyia mambo Kwa plants ujiharie ju ya stress na regrets).