The Politics Behind School Closing Dates

Date has changed from 6-15 to 2-11. This is to prevent people from migrating from one place to another

Wouldn’t it enable people to travel more?

Fuel shortages in someone’s stronghold loading

Nope. People will not want to travel when they need come back on the 11th. The government is telling you that it does not anticipate violence anywhere

This is for primary schools not secondary schools… Many polling stations are in primary schools

Kwani lazima kukuwe na sinister motives in every move the government makes?:D:D

I don’t understand, does migration prevention benefit only one side of the political divide? With children at home, won’t people now move more? Regardless of what the circular says, most parents won’t take their children back to school on 11th until they are sure things are OK, most likely on Monday 15th.

Basic education includes both I think. Exception is tertiary institutions. Hata CAS are usually one for Basic education and the other one for higher education.

Kipiichoo and matiang’i showed their wickedness during by-elections

you think the government exists solely to look out for your interests? :D:D

Boss, si umetutisha tisha sana kwa other threads ati umestock enough resources the trample on the Ruto’s supporters? Ama vipi? Mko na grenades, AK 47, M16 ngapi?

I think that this is simply silly… What would have been the risk for closing on 6th as earlier planned? Then extend the holidays till 15th? Now, prepare for 2 weeks mid term break…

What has happened in the last 24 hours to make the government make these changes? Those in power should know that we are at a point where any decision made is scrutinized and might give wrong conclusions.

Of course not lakini some issues shouldn’t be blown out of proportion like this particular one:D

I’m not sure which political divide it affects the most. Regardless, political violence should not be tolerated under any circumstance, neither should the fear of political violence be. Unless the voting process is extremely shoddy, I don’t think there will be tension on the 9th or 10th. So, there is no need to migrate before the 9th, especially if you are highly political in nature and do not want to waste your vote. It’s logical that people start travelling as from 9th (after voting.)

Regardless of what parents choose to do, the M.o.E has spent a strong statement that they do expect things to go back to normal by the 11th.

Hogwash reasoning. How would this even be achieved? In effect people no longer have to worry about their kids still being in school and thus facilities early migration.

My only concern is with the school calendar being so compressed why not take the break atleast as from Friday? In some schools they’ve began doing mid term exams

You’re the one with hogwash reasoning. VIOLENCE occurs AFTER elections, NOT BEFORE. Why would people move before the election only to come back AFTER election, just when the results are coming in?

We knew immediately after 2017 elections that the next is on 9th August, why scrambled the midterm break at the last minute?

ALL schools. We have already been notified to pick all our babies tomorrow morning.

Where do you get this?