The Future

Kenya’s population in 2080 will be 118 million. That’s a little more than 2X of what it is today.

Why 2080?? Because that’s the only relevant period for most of us. After that most of us will be dead.

The era of random land speculation is officially over. If you think that you will buy land in the middle of nowhere and cash out like our parent’s generation, you are in for a rude shock. To mirror their returns, you will need to do more work e.g study migration patterns etc.

Rental property? For a while I thought this was the holy grail. Then covid happened and I saw blocks of flats with 50% occupancy. Landlords couldn’t pay their loans and the dailies were full of landlords cashing out.

What about stocks? NSE has been dead for years. Opportunities are rare. Internationally, stocks were overvalued some trading at crazy PEs and laughable dividend yields. During covid, most companies froze dividend payments to survive.

Geopolitics? Russia already invaded Ukraine. Nuclear powers have learned from that action that they can invade non-nuclear powers without consequences. They certainly will.

The future is bright but it might require slightly different thinking. If you try to do what our parents did, you will lose.

For example, every Kamau, Rotich, and Onyango is advised to buy land. From experience, I know that if everyone does the same thing, that thing stops working. People will get burnt badly in “traditional” investments going forward.

For the younger lads and married cats who like different diets, what about dating? The days of finding a 10 at a supermarket in Karatina (insert any small town) are officially over. Every 10 knows she is a 10 the moment she signs up on instagram. Now she has access to the top tier men. Men in her hometown don’t stand a chance.

Rights? The government already converted your home into a prison. You did not resist. It will certainly do it again.

They have learned this lesson from Russia’s invasion of Ukraine? They didn’t learn from the invasion of Vietnam, Iraq, Afghanistan, and Libya? Stick to singo matha stories, mushienzi.

Elders walishasema taking advice from this nincompoop is akin to to sitting on knives.

Village peasant pia wewe una opinions…hehe

Kumbuka ulirudi ocha after maisha ya Nairobi kukushinda. When I say jump you should ask how high.

Tulisema wewe you dig for bulshittery deep in your ass alafu unatuletea apa

umesahau banae

Options zenye unatuachia ni tujinyonge ama tunetflix and chill till 2080. I believe traditional opportunities like farm land are here to stay, especially with the ballooning population. If worse comes to worse, I’ll just copy what the top 10 billionaires are doing with their billions, and do that on a micro scale with my thousands.

Sijasema mjinyonge lakini pia mkijinyonga ni sawa. Nimesema opportunities ziko lakini sio exactly vile wazazi wetu walipata. Things have changed.

Agree. The old model of school-job-wife-plots-car is outdated.

What about zile picha za nyani?

I will ignore the other side posts… You have a point, in theory! Because there are many things that are bound to change in the next 60 years… You cannot effectively predict what will happen based on the extrapolation of the current state of affairs and development… It is never a straight line… I am 100% sure that I will not alive in 2080 based on my age since I am above 40… For example, you assume that a “10” will always go to an Alpha… It does not always work that way because for every man there are about 1.01 women. Now for 1 Alpha there are about 1 million women, For 1 Alpha there are possibly 100,000 10’s… What must happen will happen and the 10 will possibly just practice whoring without being attached to anybody and explain it so well that it looks like she is really independent… I also do not know whether intelligence is one of the parameters that you use to arrive at the special 10… because if it is not, your theory will fall flat… Finally, emotions… women are not always logical… These are from another planet and therefore you cannot box them like that… But whoring is universal…

Some truth in there but not all

Even the most intelligent AI cannot predict what will happen in 2080.

What I know for a fact: There will be a higher number of single mothers.

I don’t know a lot but the era of land speculation is far from over. In 80% of múrang’a and parts of nyeri the next generation will have to do with less than ½ an acre of land if they will be lucky. Saa hii for those who can see far invest in good education for your kids and if you are thinking of bequeathing them some land then invest on land somewhere else now. By 2080 the demand for land will be higher than it is today.