The CEO Shooter Luigi Mangione is heir to Millions

The suspected killer of UnitedHealthCare CEO Brian Thompson is the heir to a holiday resort fortune created by his grandparents - and the brother of a top doctor.

Luigi Mangione, 26, comes from a powerful Maryland family centered on the late patriarch Nicholas Mangiano, a first-generation American who built a real estate empire in the state, including country clubs and media.

Nicholas, who died in 2008 aged 83 after suffering a stroke, was the owner of Turf Valley Resort and Hayfields Country Club, as well radio station WCBM-AM.
Nicholas was born in Baltimore’s Little Italy to a poor family but worked his way up from nothing. He also founded the nursing home Lorien Health Services. Luigi volunteered at his grandpa’s nursing home in 2014, according to his LinkedIn.

Nicholas had 10 children, including Luigi’s father Louis, and was married to his wife Mary until his death. The couple lived in a $1.9 million mansion on their country club, with Mary dying in 2013.

Luigi Mangione is also the cousin of Republican Maryland House of Delegates member Nino Mangione, The Baltimore Sun reported.

Meanwhile, Luigi’s mother Kathleen Zannino Mangione, owns a boutique travel company, and his sister MariaSanta Mangione is a respected doctor.

She now works as a medical resident at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas after graduating from Vanderbilt medical school.

Luigi Mangione is being held at a jail in Altoona, Pennsylvania, after the UnitedHealthcare CEO was shot dead on the streets of Manhattan after his arrest Monday morning.

He was detained at McDonald’s in Altoona, Pennsylvania just after 9am ET on firearm charges after an employee at the store called police.

Luigi is pictured with his mom Kathleen and dad Louis (both in purple) and sister MariaSanta (in burgundy) at a San Diego wedding ceremony

Luigi Mangione is a person of interest in the killing of UnitedHealthCare CEO Brian Thompson

Luigi's mother Kathleen Zannino Mangione owns a boutique travel company specializing in the Mediterranean

Luigi’s mother Kathleen Zannino Mangione owns a boutique travel company specializing in the Mediterranean

Prior to his death, the patriarch of the Mangione family, Nicholas, was very proud of his roots, as he told The Baltimore Sun in 1995: ‘They asked me what family I belonged to. I told them, “I belong to the Mangione family. The Mangione family of Baltimore County”.’

He and his wife Mary shared 37 grandchildren together, including Luigi.

Luigi’s family has an extensive background in the medical field, as they repeatedly donated to hospitals, nursing homes and even ran their own foundations.

For decades, the Mangione family has supported the Greater Baltimore Medical Center (GBMC), donating more than $1million to the hospital, The Baltimore Banner reported.

Generational wealth muhimu. God bless those of us who are starting from zero…ipo siku

And just like that, he has soiled the Mangione family name forever. What was the point of working so hard, getting into Penn only to now face years in prison and possibly dying in jail? His parents will age very badly in the coming years because of their son’s foolishness or perhaps mental illness. Vanity of vanities!

Atakua bottom for the rest of his life

Niliona lawyer wake akisema bring it on!
Leteni efidens sio heresy na screen grabs.
Prove it.

Luigi Mangione’s sweater sells out at Nordstrom one day after court appearance

Story by Brittany Miller

Luigi Mangione, the man suspected of killing UnitedHealthcare CEO Brian Thompson, became an unlikely fashion influencer after his appearance in a Manhattan courtroom.

The 26-year-old was attending his arraignment hearing on Monday (December 23) where he faces 11 counts in New York, including first-degree murder in furtherance of terrorism, second-degree murder in furtherance of terrorism, and multiple weapons offenses. However, all eyes appeared to be on his burgundy sweater.

Mangione was wearing a white-collared shirt underneath the sweater in addition to light grey slacks and orange shoes at the courthouse. While fans first thought his sweater was a $1,000 Maison Margiela sweater, it was later determined that Mangione was wearing the “washable Merino crewneck sweater” from Nordstrom.

The sweater was previously available for $89.50 according to the Nordstrom website, but it is currently on sale for $62.65 with 30 percent off. The sweater comes in six other colors aside from the burgundy one, which is no longer available.

“No fing way the sweater Luigi Mangione wore to court today is sold out,” one person pointed out on X/Twitter on Monday.

The Independent has contacted Nordstrom for comment.

In court, Mangione had pled not guilty to all of his charges as his attorney Karen Agnifilo told Judge Gregory Carro about her concerns that he would not receive a fair trial because of the amount of security around in addition to New York City Mayor Eric Adams’s presence.

“They are literally treating him like he is some sort of political fodder, like some sort of spectacle,” Agnifilo said. “He was on display for everyone to see in the biggest stage perp walk I’ve ever seen in my career, it was absolutely unnecessary. He’s been cooperative with law enforcement… There was no reason for the NYPD and everybody to have these big assault rifles.”

“It was perfectly choreographed, and what was the New York City Mayor doing at this press conference, your honor? That just made it utterly political,” she continued.

The judge then assured Agnifilo that they would “carefully select a jury” while the next court date is set for February 21.

Earlier this month a pro dancer on Dancing with the Stars joked about having Mangione on the next season of the show.

Ezra Sosa, who was partnered with convicted felon Anna Delvey during the most recent season, posted a TikTok with a photo of Mangione in the background. “He finna be my partner season 34,” he captioned the video.

“Make this a requirement, you’ll only take partners who have been arrested,” one person wrote in the comments section.

Billionaire wa kijiji, when will you start doing contribution to local causes ?

Are you crazy?

So I can make Jambazi Richer…Are you kidding me?

how does constructing an ablution block at your local primary school enrich Jambazi ?

The guy owns that Cement factory, etc etc

@Mangele, what is this, sasa hatutajenga ? how about donating personal time to the local hospital ?, you swim in those stench causing microbes .

The media is trying very hard to make this white boy look like a saint but heneeway hii ni mambo ya wazungu

You go ahead and do what you can do.

I’m planning in painting a few classrooms.

That will be very nice of you bro. Where is your County?

nakuru County, pale Mianzini or Rafiki primary school, pale molo sub-county.