TBT Prologue

[ATTACH=full]21427[/ATTACH]

Nyiva Mwendwa, Grace Ogot and other women all in solidarity in condemning Wangari Maathai after she opposed the construction of Kenya Times Media Trust Complex

The proposed Kenyan Times Media Trust Complex and the protest by the mothers of political prisoners back in 1992, were two mutually exclusive matters, the coincidence being that both were linked to Uhuru Park, and both were concluded in 1992.
The Kenya Times Media Trust Complex was a joint venture between KANU and Robert Maxwell’s then giant conglomerate Maxwell Communications. The proposed KANU-Maxwell Communications venture took off around 1988/1989, when the then Kenya Parliament underwrote the huge loans that the Kenya Government would have to take to finance it’s part of the joint venture
The Kenya Time Media Trust Complex was meant to be built on the entire length and breadth of Uhuru Park, all the way from Haile Selassie Avenue to Kenyatta Avenue, comprising two twin towers that would have been the highest in Africa at the time, office complexes, apartments, shopping malls and a statue of Moi raising his trademark rungu. As I remember, Uhuru Park was fenced off with corrugated iron sheets beginning around mid-1989, till March 1992
Enter Professor Wangari Maathai and her Green Belt Movement, and their lone-ranger battle to stop the venture on environmental degradation grounds. She was an irritant to the establishment back then.
Bilateral and multilateral donors suspended foreign aid to Kenya in 1990, the country was restless socially and economically, plus there were the looming multi-party elections of 1992, so Moi was under rather tremendous pressure from different quarters as you can imagine. He weighed his options and decided to concentrate on the economy and the crucial looming general elections of 1992
Moi therefore swallowed his pride and threw in the towel regarding the proposed Kenya Times Media Trust Complex:Professor Maathai and her Greeen Belt Movement triumphed in the matter.One morning in March 1992,the corrugated iron sheets that had fenced off Uhuru Park for three years were gone. Incidentally the corrugated iron sheets had all along been branded in the KANU colours, and the trademark KANU Jogoo. Robert Maxwell in turn died a disgraced man. His business empire,that is, Maxwell Communications came crumbling down in the mid-1990s thereabouts.

Courtesy of Eng Mpendawote

Women are their worst enemies

Thnks …women are their worst enemies

Explain tafasary in this context.

They wish they could take this back

Nyiva mwendwa Lazima moi alidryfry. Wavinya ndeti I am pursuing.

kwani unatafuta sponsoress

Sell outs

Dat group is made up of mostly women in powerful positions who can support a good cause bt noo.

That woman Wangari Maathai, she had a lion’s courage, when I heard of her death I felt tears in my eyes, how death gets its way even with the best of us.

Thought that W.M was their leader or something, am rusty on the 90’s politics but my assumption was that she was not running around alone. Too bad that the likes of Nyiva were cowards when courage was needed, the irony is that they reaped big time.

I love the late Wangari for her other selfless endeavors, but I will never forgive her for contributing to the abortion of the construction of the complex! My love for skyscrapers!! I can’t imagine how imposing Nairobi skyline would have been if the 60 storey building was completed!

Tomorrow when you think further about it, maybe you will understand that some of them did what they had to do. Maybe they even honestly thought that they were the saviours and akina Wangari were the spoilers!

The Nyayo error that lasted 24 years really took this country to the dogs. I hope we will never experience such misrule in our lifetime.

if we were to have an election now and Moi was eligible, standing against baba and kamwana, he would win with a land slide

Wavinya Ndeti amechapa siku hizi. Nilimwona lifestyle nikasema hii siwezi kula. Lakini ile wakati alikuwa Mp before the Nigerian awahi vitu, si nilikuwa namtamani?

hii ndio irikuwa kitchen cabinet (women caucus) ya nyakati hizo