December 8, 2025, 10:46am
“This is a landmark achievement for our country… For the first time, Tanzania is stepping onto the global uranium map with the capacity to supply a strategic mineral essential for safe and sustainable energy generation worldwide.”
— President Samia Suluhu Hassan
Tanzania’s entry into the global nuclear landscape has taken a significant leap forward. After nearly a decade of groundwork, the country officially launched its pilot uranium processing facility in July 2025—a milestone personally officiated by President Samia Suluhu Hassan. This marks the beginning of a broader national ambition to generate clean, reliable, and strategically valuable nuclear energy.
The journey began in October 2016 when Tanzania signed an agreement with Russia’s State Nuclear Corporation, ROSATOM, to develop a nuclear research reactor as the foundation for future energy generation. Today, this collaboration has matured into a full-fledged uranium development program centered around the Mkuju River Uranium Project, located at the Nyota deposit within the Selous Game Reserve. Operated by ROSATOM’s subsidiary, Mantra Tanzania Ltd., the project is structured to produce up to 3,000 tonnes of uranium annually, positioning Tanzania as the second-largest uranium producer in Africa after Namibia.
“This is a landmark achievement for our country… For the first time, Tanzania is stepping onto the global uranium map with the capacity to supply a strategic mineral essential for safe and sustainable energy generation worldwide.”— President Samia...
Est. reading time: 3 minutes
Jaweed
December 8, 2025, 10:51am
255:
This is a landmark achievement for our country… For the first time, Tanzania is stepping onto the global uranium map with the capacity to supply a strategic mineral essential for safe and sustainable energy generation worldwide.”
— President Samia Suluhu Hassan
Tanzania’s entry into the global nuclear landscape has taken a significant leap forward. After nearly a decade of groundwork, the country officially launched its pilot uranium processing facility in July 2025—a milestone personally officiated by President Samia Suluhu Hassan. This marks the beginning of a broader national ambition to generate clean, reliable, and strategically valuable nuclear energy.
The journey began in October 2016 when Tanzania signed an agreement with Russia’s State Nuclear Corporation, ROSATOM, to develop a nuclear research reactor as the foundation for future energy generation. Today, this collaboration has matured into a full-fledged uranium development program centered around the Mkuju River Uranium Project, located at the Nyota deposit within the Selous Game Reserve. Operated by ROSATOM’s subsidiary, Mantra Tanzania Ltd., the project is structured to produce up to 3,000 tonnes of uranium annually, positioning Tanzania as the second-largest uranium producer in Africa after Namibia.
Suluhu calls this a “landmark achievement,” but it’s another reckless move. Uranium mining in a protected reserve endangers Tanzania’s environment and communities. Partnering with Russia raises questions of sovereignty. Instead of celebrating, we should condemn her shortsighted leadership that sacrifices long‑term safety for hollow prestige.
December 8, 2025, 10:52am
Jaweed:
…second-largest uranium producer in Africa after Namibia.
Suluhu calls this a “landmark achievement,” but it’s another reckless move. Uranium mining in a protected reserve endangers Tanzania’s environment and communities. Partnering with Russia raises questions of sovereignty. Instead of celebrating, we should condemn her shortsighted leadership that sacrifices long‑term safety for hollow prestige.
Kwikwikwikwikwikwi Kenya siyo washauri wa Tanzania.
Jaweed
December 8, 2025, 10:55am
255:
…bia.
Nitakunyonga na hii kwikwi yako we mzee…Nawaasauri because they don’t know Inglis. Mzungu atawakunywa mbaya
December 8, 2025, 11:00am
Jaweed:
…ed reserve endangers Tanzania’s environment and communities. Partnering with Russia raises questions of sovereignty. Instead of celebrating, we should condemn her shortsighted leadership that sacrifices long‑term safety for hollow prestige.
Nitakunyonga na hii kwikwi yako we mzee…Nawaasauri because they don’t know Inglis. Mzungu atawakunywa mbaya
Tanzania haihitaji ushauri toka Kenya. We have our own values and plans. We have minerals we will extract them. Wheter you like or not.
Read this:
Jaweed
December 8, 2025, 11:02am
255:
…shauri wa Tanzania.
Tanzania haihitaji ushauri toka Kenya. We have our own values and plans. We have minerals we will extract them. Wheter you like or not.
Read this:
mantratanzania.co.tz
MINING-LOCAL-CONTENT-REGULATIONS-2018.pdf
192.63 KB
Basi kwenda hiyo Tanzania yenu uko… So mumuewacha Rice now ni Minerals? One good thing, Mwangi and Njoroge will be buying those minerals and shipping them to kenya
December 8, 2025, 11:04am
Jaweed:
…ed reserve endangers Tanzania’s environment and communities. Partnering with Russia raises questions of sovereignty. Instead of celebrating, we should condemn her shortsighted leadership that sacrifices long‑term safety for hollow prestige.
Oleg Snitko
Managing Director
Aleksandrs Starikovs
Country Representative
Beria Vorster
Project Manager
Dua Mbapila Rwehumbiza
Legal Manager
Frederick Kibodya
Senior Management Advisor
Majani Moremi Wambura
Sustainability Manager
Gabriel Msabi
Chief Accountant
Gaydon Mtenga
Finance and Investment Manager
Khadija Kawawa
ADVISOR - SUSTAINABILITY
Grace Changa
Plant Procurement
Hii ni ya watanzania hatuhitaji ushauri toka Kenya
December 8, 2025, 11:05am
Jaweed:
…kunywa mbaya
Read this:
mantratanzania.co.tz
192.63 KB
Basi kwenda hiyo Tanzania yenu uko… So mumuewacha Rice now ni Minerals? One good thing, Mwangi and Njoroge will be buying those minerals and shipping them to kenya
Kwikwikwikwikwi Kichaa kimekupanda. Unadhani Tanzania ya 1990s ni kama Tanzania ya leo? Wewe njoo ununue kwa terms zetu. We do not give a shit with anybody
Jaweed
December 8, 2025, 11:06am
255:
… this:
mantratanzania.co.tz
192.63 KB
Kwikwikwikwikwi Kichaa kimekupanda. Unadhani Tanzania ya 1990s ni kama Tanzania ya leo? Wewe njoo ununue kwa terms zetu. We do not give a shit with anybody
We all know you reside on the rice fields, mambo na minerals I hear you call it madini wachia Musungu,
December 8, 2025, 11:12am
Jaweed:
…ia yenu uko… So mumuewacha Rice now ni Minerals? One good thing, Mwangi and Njoroge will be buying those minerals and shipping them to kenya
We all know you reside on the rice fields, mambo na minerals I hear you call it madini wachia Musungu,
Tanzania never seek advices from Kenya. Utahangaika tu.
Read this act of The United Republic of Tanzania: Natural Wealth and Resources (Permanent Sovereignty) Act 2017