Steve Mumbo: The deceased PwC Employee

The PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) employee who fell 17 floors to his death last weekend had suffered three work-related burn outs in the last two years including one where he fell asleep in the middle of a presentation.

The Saturday Standard has established that Stephen Mumbo worked so hard that on the day he died, he had left the office at 1:30am and was back at his desk 6:30am. He was also prone to emotional disturbance so much so that when his mother died five years ago, he took a year’s unpaid leave to mourn her. Now, with the police having concluded that he committed suicide, the difficult part is determining why a man with a high flying career decided to jump to kill himself. Walked out What we know however is that sometime in October, 2016, Mumbo who had worked at PwC for 13 years had such a mental breakdown that he walked out on his boss. “They plied him with so much work, and he wasn’t the type to decline, so he did it anyway. He was always very well groomed, but always tired,” said a relative. Mid last year, an employee who talked to us said that Mumbo fell asleep in the middle of a presentation with a client. “He was totally burned out, but his bosses simply told him to go to another board room and sleep for some time then get back to work,” said the employee.

The employee said that Mumbo who was a civil engineer by training was not only laid back but a perfectionist. “He would rather be late with a client’s report, than bring in a report which had a comma in the wrong place. He wasn’t just careful with figures, but with grammar too. He was a perfectionist,” recalled the employee. Sources said Mumbo arrived at his 12th floor office which he shared with some colleagues at about 6:15am last Friday. He had left his house at Pangani Palace Apartments located next to the Muthaiga roundabout shortly before 6am leaving behind his wife and adopted daughter.
Read more at: https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2001299706/pwc-worker-led-gloomy-life-gave-in-to-pressure?fbclid=IwAR1bnANJ0LFHhwFYxQG1wtUPIjT1EMTxMT_C2FprXR_pGE-gMBIlZFG0L0Y

Unajifanya kuwa wewe ni very hardworking kwa job, mdosi anakusukumia kazi yote, unashikwa na depression, unakufa.

Perfectionist… Politically correct synonym for obsessive behaviours

Probably meaning wife alikuja na mtoi.
More stress.
This guy had nowhere to hide…

isokei

Bibi akikuja na mtoto stress inatoka wapi

Mkigombana anakuambia sio wako just to rub it on your face. Anaeza kushow atapanulia baba mtoto… single mothers are a big NO.

Work smart not hard… Dress sharply, know the big words that management like, pretend to be the ultimate team player… Delegate, delagate, delegate… Outsource work to third-party even if ‘illegal’. Take calculated risks. If you work hard then you’re doing it wrong. Fuck the corporation, learn to play the system and not become a cog in the conglomerate. Some ants never do shit in the colony except eat the sweat of others. That my friends is being a company man

Hawa watu hujifanya hard working ndio hutumiwa vibaya saidi. Wanaskumiwa kazi zote mpaka za lazy employees. Meanwhile the lazy ones network with the higher ups and get promoted. Kama sio kazi yangu then 5pm on the dot ndio huyo mimiiiiii.

Some of the people I went to Campo with are working in those NSE listed companies and they make relatively good salaries. Lakini ile stress hawa watu huwa nayo ni ya kuuwa. Unaingia job 8am unatoka after 7pm. Working Saturday ni lazima and sometimes wanaingia Sundays kumaliza projects. I tried it and said thanks but no thanks. I’m not a slave… Saa hizo Wakubwa are never there after 6pm. They enjoy their families and golfing and their MWKs while you are wasting the best years of your life staring at a computer screen in a cubicle. There’s more to life than this.

Good observation, but how do you suggest they pay their day to day bills if “there’s more to life than this?” Saa hizo bibi anakupa pressure that you have to live in a Kile apartment and drive a Subaru. Pesa zitoke wapi? It’s a trap!

That’s how you find yourself standing on the window ledge on the seventeenth floor ready to give it all up

You can do it for a few years and save up especially if you get hired as a graduate employee because you can start with 50K+ salary. I know that’s not much but what I also know is that your expenses usually are low at that point of your life because you were jobless. Rather than adjust immediately to the new salary you can save as much as possible while exploring your options. Long distance farming like what @Kimakia said he is doing is a way of making side money. So you can work those demanding jobs in your early years after Campo then downgrade and take a less demanding job after you position your investments

In this life, you can either work hard or you can work smart. For me I prefer the latter. Otherwise you can work your way to jumping out the 17th floor window through sheer hard work and stress.

Sad thing is that is not how others see it… one can prescribe all manner of ways to rope in the horse but if already bolted then its a zero sum game.

How hard is it to walk away though? One’s sanity should come first, regardless of the obligations and responsibilities.

I think it also comes down to personality. Its said that this guy never could say no to anything and couldnt hold his own in situations where its necessarily to politely decline stuff. I think this mindset did him in in the end. He should have found a way to show his wakubwa’s that the workload is too high. I highly doubt he would have been fired. I mean we are talking about someone who would at times walk out on his boss during a burnout and not get fired. Someone who mourned his mum away from work for a year and still not get fired. This guy must have been very valuable to the company and good at his job. But I dont think his mindset allowed him to see it that way

You don’t get the option of working smart at the Big 4, they demand both. If you try that slacker strategy, ni mlango nje.

How do you end up with these kind of women, single mums or not , surely?

Weddings of mabebe-ini