So, there is this guy I met in 2012. We became friends but not such close pals. And its not like he katiad me, nah we just happened to be on the same line of business. 2013 we lost contact. We reconnected in 2014, mind you its the guy who called me. He always insisted on visiting me at my place… duh I’m allergic to such kind of bullshit. My place is not a hotel or a meeting venue. He somehow figured out that it would not work out, so he invited me for coffee at some restaurant. He told me that he quit that business and got employed by a big company.
2015… we didnt communicate much. and the few times the guy called me it was all about him coming to visit me someday but I lengad that vibe. Come 1st 2016… he calls to check on me blah blah. asks me about my job and all. After a few days, the guy calls me. This time round he had a deal. The company he works for allows him to give that package to two of his friends. The two friends can access services at a reduced price. Its such a nice deal btw and I was like why did this guy choose me yet we aint that close!! I wont mention the specific company but its among the best companies to work for in Kenya, apparently. Here is the catch, you have to register with 15k. I did my research and found that the deal was real but registration was around 2-5k. I didnt pick his calls anymore. Later on he texts me “mambo uko na 500 unisave nitakurudishia kesho” I was like WTF! how can someone working for a such a big company ask for a 500 loan! … note that he had kopad me 500 sometime back guess early 2015 but he did refund. My bf told me to lenga that vibe. Anyhow, the guy continues to call me but I never pick his calls. Today the guy texts me “Mambo Lola nisave na 1000 nitakurudishia mon” What do you think is wrong with him? am so irritated
I think this guy no longer works for that company… He probably got fired kitambo.
You are overthinking… the guy was obviously trying to rope you into a pyramid scheme. You are not the first he has done that to… he is trying to milk whatever trust he had built with anyone.
I once asked money from a woman who was trying to request a soft loan from me;
Dame: Niaje Bingi, how are you?
Mimi: Niko poa mimi sijui wewe
Dame: Ni save na 1k nakurudishia Friday (was on Saturday then)
Mimi: Babe una 500 nikwamue pesa zangu on Monday mwanzo ndo nikupe hiyo 1k?
Dame: Sawa nitakupa, but promise utanikopesha 2k basi
Mimi: Sawa
She gave me the 500 ambazo nilimzungusha nazo for a whole week. In the end I gave her back her 500 na kumwambia “sori sana babe, ile stori ilishindikana…shika hizi 500 zako coz nikikaa nazo nitakula zote!” The lady was “aki Bingi umeniwaste, sitawai kuomba pesa tena!”
And this is the trick that I have been using on anyone (sana sana madame) trying to get soft loans from me
It was a set up. You should be glad you had your doubts before you fell into the trap. He would then have started to turn the screws and while trying to recover the money, you would have ended up giving him much more. That’s how cons operate.