i thought nyama choma was the deal, lakini wapi. some jungu made us a whole brisket of smoked meat. well, the meat was just delicious.
here are some youtube video on how to Smoke meat.
Guy Fieri and Robert Rainford introduced the rest of the world outside of the U.S to American style grilling. Black Americans from the south are the fathers of grilling. The true pitmasters.
Jaluos have a traditional smoker, made from clay. Tastes even better. The actual big deal is actually just the smoke. SO which wood are you using.
Luhyas use maize cobs. It works perfect with chicken. You eat chicken smoked with maize cobs you will never want any other chicken.
Yeah smoke cooks slow. One of the biggest reasons I want to finally settle in a farm, is so my sunset years can be spent doing things I actually like. And smoking meat is one of those things. I’ll construct a dedicated smoker.
That is the problem with Kenya’s education system. Smoking meat was an examinable topic in the old days but no Kenyan student in the urban school setting had ever seen PRACTICALLY how the traditional Luos and Luhyas actually did it. Kids only read about smoking meat in text books.
And yet in the west these are key entrepreneural skills. Opening a grill is very big business in the West as wellas in the far east e.g Japan, Korea and Vietnam. Sasa hizo skills za western Kenya ni kama zitapotea na zisahaulike if the community is not keen.