I have realized that most of the top national schools like Alliances, The Kenya High School, Maranda, etc have a few hundred slots for Form 1 yet over 40,000 apply and its obvious that the top 300 students in Kenya perform very well…How do they carry out the selections in the midst of such competition? Is it really computer selection or are there some other hidden hands that manipulate the process, knowing that this is Kenya?
Kijana yako alipata ngapi? , kwanza tuanzie hapo
not mine… but you can put a scenario of 413 for example… first choice Alliance High School, Kijana in an Academy in Nairobi like Riara…
I’d say Alliance will take around the top 8 of the top 15 boys in every county. Some counties like Nairobi will have more while others like Turkana might have less. But then this is Kenya so kuna wengine wataingia back door. In this case, you will have to pay the principal well.
413 in Riara can be tricky but ajaribu backdoor.
But why do people fight for Alliance when kuna some private schools that are better? Get that kid into IGCSE, make sure they perform super well && have them go to a foreign university(the best outcome). Shida ya 8 - 4 - 4 schools is that students are shaped to go into local universities. The best outcome, in that case, is doing medicine. But if you follow what’s happening, utajua kuna shida nyingi sana in medicine.
Yeah. You are right! The problem with many International schools is cost… I would not like my kids to go through the local Universities even UoN where the only course that “sells” is MBChB… I guess my friend will have to try and see if the backdoor is closed…of course amechelewa sana sasa… may be he should have tried seeing the principal before the results were announced because the kid was scoring an average of 430 in class 8… so he was sure of scoring above 400
You don’t need IGCSE to go to a foreign uni. 8-4-4 works just fine. I say only do IGCSE if you have a lot of money. It’s better to spend that cash on the foreign college when they get there. There’s a few local schools that are as good as the top public schools. Some private, some public. Alliance is a top performer only because they take the top performing students. Give them students like the other schools and they won’t be at the top.
Back door is very hard. You have to be public figure.
If your friend is unable to secure a spot, tell him to invest in creating a conducive learning environment at home. A reasonable public day school should be okay because a bright kid will perform well regardless of what school they attend. Tell him to buy the best revision books and enlist the services of a tutor. Or just go online. Getting an A in kcse isn’t as hard with a comprehensive study plan so that most learning takes place at home whereas school hours are for socializing and carrying out experiments.
I personally know a guy who paid close to 1M for his sons to join national schools. One of the boys couldn’t get into the school of his choice because his grades were not quite good enough but he still got admitted to another national school. It’s like anything else in Kenya. Money talks.
I cant tell but with 412 out of 500 in 2001 I found myself na barua ya Patch
My son scored 395 and is in a national school. It all depends on where the kid went to school, mine was in a public school and with a weekend tutor who’d tutor on for 8 hours every weekend and make a scheme for him for the following week. A friend’s son who was in a private school scored 410 and they went to the same national school
Backdoor students are very few. And those students will usually suffer a lot in there. The other students know that the guys are slow. The syllabus is covered at breakneck speed and students cover topics out of the syllabus eg some schools use the Abbott (an O level physics text book) for form 1 and 2 and the Nelkon (an A level physics text book) in form 3 and 4. If you are slow utashinda tu hapo ukichora vitu zako watu wakisoma.
Abbott in form 1&2, and Nelkon in form 3? Then those kids ni mageniuses.
Rote learning should be discouraged at all costs. It’s pseudo education. That’s why exams should be multiple choice trick questions with negative marking to really gauge student mental abilities. 95% of the population should go to TVETs and leave the books to those who can really read.
An IQ of less than 130 will never invent anything.
Necessity is the mother of inventions.
Pale Kabarak wanachukua watoto wa 309 na huko with a guarantee of B+ upon completion… dunno how they do it. Bora tu ulipe.
Not exactly, but they are sharp. Usidanganywe na mtu. Hawa watu unasikia wakisema ati rote learning sijui cramming…a big part of iq is ability to retain information, besides ability to process and apply.
I do know a number of average students with well heeled fathers who joined Alliance through the backdoor during Khaemba’s time.