Scholars in the village

Good evenings
Those who have managed to publish a paper on a journal.

1. What was some of the challenges you encountered in the process of publishing?

@King Mswati IV we need assistance . salidia huyu mtu wetu

Mteso vipi?unabugia chang’aa wapi?

I never had any challenge. Just look for an appropriate journal.

niliwacha kukunywa chang’aa in 1995. no regrets so far

Mwanaume ulikuwa unakunywa chang’aa ukiwa nursery?

No challenge. Get your writings in order, (na sio ile maneno umeiva ya babuon, hio haiwezi kuwa published beyond ktalk)

If your research is sound, you will have no problems. Expect requests for revisions from some of the reviewers. If the article is not good at all, it usually gets rejected outright.

To publish in reputable journals, you have pay $1500 upwards to submit a manuscript. Often, if this is done and the research work is original, the paper WILL get published.

There are many journals willing to publish your work so long as it is of 'SOUND RESEARCH’. For big journals you may have challenges as the reviewrs sometimes can be ‘very funny’ (& this is being very Diplomatic) and may give excuses so that your document is not published in ‘their journal’. You are always told AIM HIGH (cost implications are high if you are targetting high impact journals with NO subsidies/cheap alternatives) but then sometimes you may have to aim low (African Journals) which may charge fairly. Therefore have alternatives - ALWAYS. Some ‘high impact - BIG journals’ will likely publish your work if you have collaborators from their side (the west), and if you have ‘local’ collaborators, they may not publish your work - no matter how relevant your work may be.
All the best

What is your definition of “appropriate journal”

did you publish your thesis or you came up with another study for publication, did you pay the owners of the journal for the publication

$1500 is too much… wewe uli lipa ngapi kwa hao watu wa journal yenye uli publish?

Tunaomboleza kifo çha Mzee Alex Etyang

Ikiwa una jarida sahihi, haiwezi kuwa ngumu kwa njia hiyo

Please use the following as a guideline

1. Who are your intended audience…will help with which Journal to publish in
  2. Remember to publish only in peer reviewed Journals as currently there are very many predatory journals which after 5-10 years you will not be able to find what you published with them on-line.
  3. Keep impact factor reasonable. For starters between 1-3 for basic science which is my field is okay. with experience aim higher
  4. Turn around period of most on line access Journal example JAFC which I have 7 papers with is < 3-months. most of the traditional Journals take

6 months which is usually a pain

1. If you are in a research organization they usually have money budgeted for publishing . Example it cost USD 3000 to publish in Plos NTD, That was the figure I paid for each of my 2 my publications
  2. Your supervisors/line managers can be a pain some time as some of them will expect your writing style to be at there level not knowing you are just starting and in may take close to 1 yr for back and forth game before they accept to submit your work
  3. If in basic science, data generation might be a challenge especially in the universities as most studies require require sophisticated equipments/ instrumentations which majority do not have (at least I am okay in terms of instrumentations and anyone who need help can DM for procedure on how it can be done…we have GC-FID, GC-ECD, GC-EAG, GC-SSR, GC-MS, LC-PDA, LC-MS, LC-MSMS, LC-Qtof-MS