The team handling API integration is really making our lives difficult. They rarely respond to queries and it takes longer to approve production apps.
And their new V2, how will we now send a ‘thank you’ or other biz transaction without the number if they hide it in callbacks?
Number lazima zi fichwe, tumechoka na promotional ads.
They are stretched thin. The best devs left for these FAANGS that are setting up here
Some companies needs the numbers to communicate to clients, like I have a client who upon payment the system sends a code to enable them use the internet services
kina microsoft na google
andika mimi kazi buana… ndio kumalizia shule …
I need a frontend volunteer for a possible long term engagement. Frontend gives me headaches am not that creative with visuals but I know a good UI
okay give me your email or contacts…
upuss tupu…
Dear partner,
Lipa Na M-PESA empowers any business across the country to receive and also make payments from the convenience of a mobile phone.
Today, more than 387,000 businesses such as yours have made Lipa Na M-PESA the most trusted and preferred cashless payment option in the country. More than 30 million customers rely on their mobile phones when making payments and to most customers, the mobile phone has become their wallet and identity.
With the increasing relevance of mobile phones, it has become critical to further safeguard customer data that can be linked to a person’s identity, especially their phone number.
Equally, the Data Protection Act 2019 which came into law on 25th November 2019 requires all organizations that handle such data including Safaricom and our Lipa Na M-PESA Partners to take action to minimize the use and transfer of sensitive customer data such as name and phone numbers during the processing of a transaction.
[B]In this regard, we have begun to minimize the level of detail that our partners receive when a customer makes a payment. These changes will affect both API and SMS notifications.
We are implementing this change in gradual phases starting with availing a new API with minimized data on Daraja (V2) from 17th March 2022.
Below is a comparison of our current notification detail with the minimized level to be achieved at the end of this process.
Parameters shared currently via API (V1)
What will be shared after minimization (V2)
Detail
Description
Detail
Description[/B]
Transaction Type
G2 Transaction Type name
Transaction Type
G2 Transaction Type name
Transaction ID
M-PESA transaction ID
Transaction ID
M-PESA transaction ID
Transaction Time
Transaction date and time
Transaction Time
Transaction date and time
Transaction amount
Buy goods or Paybill amount transacted
Transaction amount
Buy goods or Paybill amount transacted
Business Shortcode
Merchant store Till or Paybill number
Business Shortcode
Merchant store Till or Paybill number
Bill Reference Number
Paybill account number
Bill Reference Number
Paybill account number
Invoice Number
Org Account balance
Merchant’s account balance
Org Account balance
Merchant’s account balance
Third-party Transaction ID
Transaction ID generated for the merchant
Third-party Transaction ID
Transaction ID generated for the merchant
MSISDN
Phone number paying for goods or bill
Masked MSISDN
Masked Phone number paying for goods or bill
First Name
Customer’s first name
First Name
Customer’s first name
Middle Name
Customer’s middle name
Last Name
Customer’s last name
Current SMS format
New SMS format
OB57V1MMEV You have received Ksh 1,000.00 from Jane Rita Doe 254721345654 on 3/5/20 at 6:23 New M-PESA balance is Ksh2,345.00. Transaction cost, Ksh0.00. To reverse, Forward this message to 456.
OB57V1MMEV You have received Ksh 1,000.00 from Jane 2547XXXXX654 on 3/5/20 at 6:23 New M-PESA balance is Ksh2,345.00. Transaction cost, Ksh0.00. To reverse, Forward this message to 456.
Upon payment by a customer, you will now receive a redacted phone number and a customer’s first name as the confirmation message.
To complete this process, you will need to make the changes detailed below.
Safaricom
Description
What is expected from Partners
Date
Avail of the live API ready for integration on Daraja labeled V2.
The new V2 API with masked data will be available for partners to test and integrate with their platforms.
Safaricom will also avail the V2 API documentation on Daraja for reference.
· Partners will be expected to do some developments on their end to be able to consume the new API.
· Safaricom will be available to offer support
API will be live on[B] 17th March 2022
[/B]
Migration to the new V2 API
This will be a gradual process of moving our partners to the new API. This will be done in batches.
Partners will be migrated in batches, with the last batch being on the night of 30th June 2022
The old API will be unavailable from 11:59 PM EAT on 29th June 2022 and all partners will need to be on the new API to successfully consume our services.
We are inviting you to test the enhanced C2B API and share feedback. Please find the M-PESA Client to Business (C2B) V2 API Documentation here https://developer.safaricom.co.ke/Documentation .
More information will be shared in due course.
[B]Should you need further clarification or support, please reach out to the API Support Team at [email protected].
Thank you for your support. We continue to work on more innovations and features to empower you to manage and grow your business with M-PESA. [/B]
Kind Regards,
M-PESA Business
There are ways around this. Like adding a field where the code should be sent to if the payment is successful and then saving that data. Sasa shida is they have to register as data collectors/processors and for them to abide by the requirements of this.
How will KPLC Send tokens to the number that has made the payment? Will they have to attach a meter number to one particular number? shida tupu
Not necessarily. KPLC or really any merchant can register as data collectors/processors and update their terms and conditions to reflect that they will use the number of any data subject/person who uses their service to facilitate delivery of this service. If a person/entity voluntarily gives a company their data and this data is necessary for the fulfillment of a contract, then they can use that data. Read the Act Sections 28 and 30.
Anatafuta kazi sio volunteering. Mlioe hata kama ni kitu kidogo.
Safaricom can create a random temporary alias number (whose seed is the IMSI of the payee) and pass this together with the cash amount to KPLC who then send the token to Safaricom. Safaricom then lookuo the alias inthe database and forwards the token details to the payee.
KPLC won’t know the real phone number or be ae to send any marketing data to alias since it is expired.
Unfortunately they are not doing that with the v2.
What i Understand is that KPLC might not be interested in storing the user number, they just use it to forward the generated token of the meter number given in the callback as ‘BusinessrefNo’, then forward the token to the MSISDN. By doing away with the MSIDN, the only option is to tie meter number to a phone number, that will mean that only one person will be able to receive token hata kama mwingine ndio amelipa.
Why are guys limiting themselves to Safcon? There are up and coming entities that offer APIs with same benefits. Dev options are of wide array… Achana na hawa wanapimia mtu codes:D:meffi:
Which entity offers Mpesa Services mkuu?
I see you are not alone. Sometime last year we phased out direct Daraja API integrations from our payment platform - too much headache with undocumented features, we’ve opted to work with other reliable telcos/fintech APIs providers like Finserve or Cellulant who can provide proper handling especially on that that painful callback issue on C2B/B2B transactions. And for this V2 I wish they had something like payment webhook url mechanism which they could consume on their end and use it to notify the back-end system that the payment went through or acknowledged
Leta kazi mkuu niwarudishie hiyo Daraja stuff. I have it all figured out. Plus for Mpesa, the only people who will consume the user number in the API are the Financial Institutions and Govt organizations