In the past, president William Ruto has said that the kalenjins have a big problem with Okuyus in the rift valley. But what exactly is the kikuyu problem in RV?
When Jomo Kenyatta took over leadership, he ferried thousands and thousands of Okuyus to the RV where they were given land for free. This land belonged to the kalenjins. Some few kikuyus have also bought land there.
Now many kalenjins don’t feel comfortable having so many invaders in their ancestral land. The land issue remains a very sensitive issue in RV. But how can this problem be solved? Ideally, Kenyans should confine themselves to their ancestral lands. Although in practice a Kenyan is free to settle anywhere in the republic, in reality this is not the best approach.
What Ruto can do is to begin a scheme where the government purchases land from foreigners in the RV and then give that land to its rightful owners. Alternatively, the government can relocate the Kikuyus to other areas- such as kamba land- where there are huge chunks of land since bantus like kikuyus can never live in peace with nilotes but can certainly live in peace with their fellow bantus like kambas. The kambas can easily assimilate the kikuyus.
Also, I am sure kikuyus can get land to buy in central kenya. Given the rampant population increase, a time will come when Kenyans will be forced to live in their ancenstral lands. For Okuyus, their ancestral land is to be found in muranga, parts of Kirinyaga, small part of nyeri and small part of Kiambu. A huge chunk of Kiambu belongs to the masaai.
Remember, Okuyus don’t entertain madoadoas in their home grounds. As a Luo, if you move deep into muranga, they can never sell land to you. Even if you offer to buy 1 acre for KES 500 million. Okuyus never accept foreigners to own land in central kenya. No kalenjin owns land in central kenya.
Another problem is that Okuyus in the RV have refused to assimilate themselves. they have refused to adopt kalenjin culture and never bother about mastering the kalenjin language. If these kikuyus were wise, theyd renounce the tugeges in central kenya and adopt kalenjin political positions to be their own positions as well. When in rome…right now, they should be busy professing loyalty to mzito ruto. this is to ensure what happened in 2007 is never repeated.
Hopefully, Ruto will address this issue during his second term.
You mean criminality? Hapana.
where were thery? What is the evidence of their diplacement? Who is homeless becuase kikuyus settled there? Truth is the land was only valuable becuase the government destroyed the economy and forced people to live on subsistence farming. if the economy was working, rural land would have no much value. Ukweli ni kuwa uchumi mbaya ndio sababisho ya land problems where everyone feels failed by the government
Once you open this can of worms ndo mambo itaharibika vibaya.
We just have to learn to live with each other. Actually it’s our political elites who thrive in lighting these kinds of fires in order to get votes. After being elected you see them dining and wining together mambo ya madoa doa completely forgotten.
Ruto himself has displaced poor kales from their land and you think he gives a shit I hope you have a spare brain somewhere with better specs hehe
@Banyamulenge = Sudi
The should buy land from those who were given and give it to the righful ancestral owners.I see same problem in South Africa and former Rhodesia -Zimbabwe an Zambia.I see the same issue in Laikipia Ranches and Naivasha.
The way people are reacting is the same way Elon Musk Trump reacts to the views of Malema and Robert Mugabe.
Wacha nicheke tu
Anti Okuyu racists are slowly exposing themselves
But you guys constantly talk shit about njaruos, paruhyas, Kisiis, Kambas etc. Why does it only become a bad thing when Kikuyus are mentioned?
Ni wapi tumesema watu wakue violently displaced?
Yet all prosperous cities in Rift Valley are run by those Kikuyus. It’s always a chicken and egg problem. Minority moves to a majority region and starts dominating the business sector. Majority starts comparing because they’ve been left behind. A tale as old as time.
I take it ukizaliwa there were no female condoms. You embarrass your mother.
So should we put a roadblock hapo mau summit to prevent people of western, Rv moving, working or living east of the road block? Should we put roadblocks such that a jaruo is confined to homabay county, a luhya confined huko kakamega, a nandi huko nandi county and no one should live or work in nairobi except maasai and okuyo?
False. Poorly researched bonobo nonsense.
Hii inakaa dissertation ya Oscar Sudi na Farouk Kibet.
Fool.
Haha based. Kila mtu acheze kwa mlango ya mama yake. We need Majimboism for this and also because watu walilelewa ocha kama @miritiandes wanajaza Nairobi na ushamba.
We must learn to live with each other yet in White Highlands they don’t accept non Gema? Fuck off
Yes
I stopped reading at “they were given land for free”. Upussy