Parker Solar Probe

This morning, NASA launched a spacecraft (Parker Solar Probe) to study the sun. It’s closest approach on the sun’s orbit? … 4 million km. Question is if we can sustain an object that close to the sun for any length of time (let alone seven years), how is it that we cannot sustain a lander on Venus for more than just a few hours?

https://www.space.com/41454-nasa-parker-solar-probe-launches-to-sun.html

Hio kitu itamelt kabla ifike saitan

it can travel from new York to Tokyo in one minute…

Iyo ni energy gani inatumika tutoa hizo speeds?

[B]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZAD3CNWrM98

fun fact[/B]:Earth’s circumference is about 40,000 kilometers, so at its top speed, Parker Solar Probe could make one trip around Earth in 3.3 minutes.

Not really,it’s made of the carbon composite,which as the temp increases,it gets very very strong

On December 15, 1970 an unmanned Soviet spacecraft, Venera 7, became the first spacecraft to land on another planet. It measured the temperature of the atmosphere on Venus. In 1972, Venera 8 gathered atmospheric and surface data for 50 minutes after landing. On Oct. 22, 1975, Venera 9 landed on the surface of Venus.

In a vacuum objects can achieve such crazy speeds, now imagine an object in such high speeds entering our atmosphere, it would bust in flame due to friction.

Jina yangu iko kwa memory card iko ndani ya hiyo Paka probe.

makes sense

In my post, I talked of not being able to sustain a lander for more than a few hours. That means I was aware that mankind had placed an object on Venus’ surface. The question still remains; at 450 degrees Celsius, Venus’ surface is nearly three times cooler than the kind of temperatures Parker will endure on Solar orbit, yet the Venus lander could not withstand the cooler heat :D. Parker is expected to “run the gauntlet” for all of 7 years!!!

The technology that keeps Parker safe will at some point probably be used to make more useful explorations of Venus. One Talker or Lister (I forget which) ran a post on a scientist who used Venus’ limited surface data to posit that there could be subterranean life on the planet. @Icecube saidia.

I waited forever for @Ice_Cube to show up only to realize I had the wrong one :rolleyes:. Please @ TherealIceCube, saidia hii link.

Hi been off the grid. Just seen your post. Did a quick search sijapata. Maybe twas klost? Not sure though. Will try again later. Hitting the sack