Origin of names. - 1. "kurutu"

“kurutu” is now a popularised Swahili name meaning inexperienced or a person new to the job .

Its origins can be traced to the colonial era when the Mzungu enrolled new RECRUITS into the Police force.
Kuruti is a corrupted version of Recruit.

Other names of places that owe their meanings to that time in Kenya’s history include Karioko and Kariobangi.

For no points at all,can anyone tell us where the names Karioko and Kariobangi originated from?

Rumuruti (Remote Route),
Ikolomani (Gold mine),
Kilifi (Cliff),
Roy Sambu (Royal Suburbs)
, Kapropita (Corporal Peter)
, Kariakor (Carrier Corps),
Kariobangi (Carry Your Bags)
, Eldoret’s Sisibo (Sixty Four),
Kirigiti (Cricket)
Thogoto (Scotland).

Yah yah @Ka-Buda , my Grandfather’s Uncle’s cousin’s cousin told me that weed smokers were rather lazy and blazey back then so they had porters carry their weed for them.
Porters walichoka…wakasema carry your own bangi.

@Meria Mata covered this topic at length a while back and even told us the origin of Juja … lord @Ice_Cube leta link.

Some of this location names are mostly made up. I have heard or sort of derivatives that somewhat make sense lakini not all of them can be right. Who can tell me the origins of that place along Thika road called Witeithie/ Kirima kia Witeithie? :D:D:D

Most of the land around Witeithie was owned by a land buying company called Witeithie Gwaka, which in Greek means, help yourself build (a home). I guess they just shortened the name to Witeithie.

Witeithie=jisaidie

Kabarnet- Barnett’s place

Na je kafraita ilitoka.

labda chief @Meria Mata anaweza jibu

shimala bandu- what finishes people

from Carburetor, Makanika murefi Jakipash @introvert couldnt mouth carburetor all he could say was kavuraita.

we also have Foleni (line up)
this came from the military where kurutus are told to “fall in line”

Not exactly. As the story goes kitambo before the Chinese came and insulted our primitive energy that place used to be dip into a ‘valley’. Now, the likes of wanugu per excellence used this to their benefit. Wary travellers would struggle going up the steep slope and their tired legs and arms could not afford them the strength to run from the wayward strangers. They would simply cobble up like scared chicken as their worldy possessions were pilfered. Hence if you ever found yourself in such a situation nobody was in a position to help you. Help yourself. Yaani, witeithie.

nani hajui kurutu ni recruit?

Carrier corps (the operational base for carrier corps during ww1, mostly africans who were responsible for transporting supplies to the front lines)

like in that place in Ngong forest near Lenana school known as Ngai Ndethia, its a crooks paradise, gari yako ikiharibikia hapo mtu husema “Ngai Ndeithya” na hio jina ikashika.

Origin of Names of Towns and Locations in Kenya. - General - Kenya Talk

Purr_27 na Uncle Nyam walienda wapi?

VC maybe wanakula mbeca za county pole pole

Somebody told me that kariobangi is where the ganja smoking whites went to puff and hence the name carry your own bhang…