On That Adani Controversy

Adani Group intends to Spend $1.85 billion (Shs 238 billion) to upgrade and expand Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA)? The amounts suggested is enough to build a new Airport from scratch and that includes buying land, for instance Qatar Airways is building a new Airport in Rwanda for only $1.3 billion! Kenya 🇰🇪 Is Running Short Of Fools! System Ya Majambazi! #RutoMustGo #AdaniMustGo

https://x.com/kwachiffu/status/1833137495959036075?t=HApfyqXzuJO-440_RuYpQw&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFMVR1leHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHQvfP22IzA8syR4e27P1aGoRxDtBzNhyf6_DRc-5FH4iQYEBpcHNuhetiw_aem__2bWeaCeeS2FcLEyuO45BQ

https://x.com/Wycliffe_Otie/status/1833094071960687104?t=zb2og8jyse7t6L1OnsPG_A&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFMVWlleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHWEJ-u6Qoip7sat6UA0bJqEMZTW3AC1dadmuSD2416jljWykOak2Fqi_JA_aem_JhWZjuB5fDVnmz85xeO0Ew

Powerful VIP Linked to Noisy Kilimani Party As Nairobi Environment Officer Confronts Rowdy Foreign Guests

On the night of Sunday September 8, 2024, Nairobi County Environment Chief Officer Geoffrey Mosiria intervened at a raucous party in Kilimani after receiving a noise complaint from a local resident.

Upon arriving, Mosiria found the party hosted by Nigerians was causing significant disturbance to the neighbourhood.

He attempted to address the issue by asking the attendees to reduce the volume of their music but one particularly aggressive guest resisted.

This person who boasted about influential connections threatened Mosiria and tried to use his supposed status to intimidate him.

According to a source, the party’s high-profile nature was underlined by the presence of an influential figure linked to prominent political circles.

This is believed to have intensified the situation.

The source also mentioned that the event might have been backed by the boss of a well-known international company as its country manager was reportedly among those seen in the video.

https://twitter.com/i/status/1833084622613139626

“Hello Cyprian, I have come across a video where the County Officer environment Nairobi had gone to stop some Nigerians in Kilimani from playing loud music then the president’s son-in-law Alexander Ezenagu is threatening him. Some friends tell me Pernod Ricard Martell probably sponsored this event that is making noise to neighbours. Pernod Ricard’s country manager Olayinka can be seen in this video. Please keep my identity hidden!”

Nelson Amenya, a Kenyan whistleblower currently residing in France, has voiced serious concerns over his safety following his public denunciation of a controversial deal involving the Indian multinational conglomerate, Adani Group, and Nairobi’s Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA).

Speaking on a X Space on Sunday, Amenya claimed that the deal could tarnish Kenya’s international reputation due to Adani Group’s questionable business practices.

“Adani runs Mundra Port in India, a facility that was the scene of the world’s largest heroin seizure in 2022,” he stated.

He further suggested that similar illegal activities might infiltrate JKIA if the management changes hands.

“If Adani takes over JKIA, by extension JKIA will inherit Adani’s reputation. This could drive international traffic to competitors in Kigali and Addis Ababa,” he explained.

Soon after revealing the details of the deal, the whistleblower revealed that he became the target of a coordinated harassment campaign by Indian bloggers allegedly paid by Adani.

“They have not only attacked my professional background but have also spread falsehoods about my personal life,” Amenya disclosed.

The whistleblower noted that these attacks escalated to threats, making him fear for his life in France.

The situation worsened when Amenya received a letter from a boss at the serious crimes unit at Directorate Criminal Investigations (DCI), on behalf of the Kenyan authorities, following his allegations.

“They have labelled me an enemy of the state and are seeking ways to arrest me,” he told the listeners at the X Space hosted by Eric Amunga, popularly known as Amerix.

Despite these pressures, Amenya remains resolute stating that he will not be scared because he is doing the right thing as a patriotic citizen.

“I am not cowed by these old-fashioned tactics to silence a citizen fighting for economic freedom and social justice,” he affirmed.

The Adani Group is yet to respond to the allegations despite protests by JKIA workers opposed to the deal. Reports further intimate that representatives from the multi-national companies have been sighted at the airport.

Meanwhile, the Kenyan and Indian authorities involved have yet to make any formal statements on the matter.

Kalonzo Musyoka has also taken a fresh swipe at the Kenya Kwanza Government alleging that there is an ulterior motive in the controversial Adani deal to take over operations at Jomo Kenyatta International Airport.

During a church service at St Paul ACK Nyathuna, Kabete Town, the Wiper Party boss strongly opposed the deal and accused the government was engaging in shady deals behind the scenes.

The former Vice President further faulted the government for going forward with the Adani deal without public participation.

Former Defence CS Eugene Wamalwa, another fierce critic of the current regime, echoed Kalonzo’s sentiments, alleging that the Adani group was rejected in other first-world countries.

"The Adani group was rejected in Australia and Sri Lanka. In Bangladesh, there were protests and the regime failed because of this group which has now been brought to Kenya, " he alleged.

Kalonzo has been on a mission to strengthen his presidential bid ahead of the 2027 polls and he appears to have upped his political game since Azimio la Umoja leader Raila Odinga confirmed his intentions to go for the African Union Commission (AUC) Chairmanship job.

Despite Odinga’s new-found cordial relationship with President Ruto, the Wiper Party leader has remained adamant that he will not collaborate with the current regime. He insists that he will be Ruto’s main opponent come 2027.

News that the government had entered into a deal with the Adani Airport Holdings in a 30-year concession arrangement to upgrade the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport was met with public uproar, despite assurances that all Kenya Airports Authority (KAA) employees would be absorbed under the Indian company.

The Indian multinational reportedly intends to invest more than Ksh96.6 billion to go towards the establishment of a second runway, a new passenger terminal among other facilities.

Government spokesperson Isaac Mwaura had previously dismissed reports that the deal was a public-private partnership, insisting that the goal was to upgrade the JKIA to modern and international standards.

Mwaura noted that part of the reason the partnership was necessary was because of the surge in passenger capacity at JKIA from 7.5 million to 8.6 million last year in 2023.

“How can we sell our international airport just like that?” he posed. “Of all the scams this country has seen, the Adani scam is unbelievable.”

“They’re engaging in secret deals without engaging the public, Parliament, the Senate or the National Assembly. That’s why we have to say no.”

The ongoing strike by airport workers has brought business to a standstill in major airports in the country.

For the better part of Wednesday, the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA) was characterized by long queues and passengers stranded as flights faced incessant delays while some were canceled altogether.

Nairobi Woman Representative Esther Passaris on Wednesday morning defended the controversial Adani takeover deal describing the much maligned agreement as a “potential game changer for airports in Kenya”.

Speaking at the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA), Passaris claimed that Kenyans need to educate themselves more on the benefits the deal will present the country instead of reacting to prevailing sentiments, which has seen Kenyans across the country express their vehement opposition to the deal.

The Mzungu customer stranded at the Moi International Airport, 11 September 2024.

The strike which started at the JKIA inspired aviation sector workers operating at Moi International Airport, Kisumu International Airport, and Eldoret International Airport to join in demanding accountability on the nature of the JKIA upgrade deal signed between the government and Indian conglomerate Adani.

“Kenyans need to understand what the Adani group will provide. I have been to Ahmedabad Airport (India) that was done by Adani. The first time I went to Ahmedabad airport, four years ago, it was a mediocre airport, today it’s one of the five-star airports,” Passaris stated as she was leaving the country for Johannesburg where she is expected to represent Kenya at a Pan African Parliament forum.

Passaris went ahead to praise the value of infrastructure Adani constructed around the Ahmedabad airport. She opined that the only negative surrounding the deal is the Kenya Kwanza government’s reluctance to come clear on the terms of the deal and educate Kenyans on its benefits.
“When you try and have a big contract, there are many people who want that contract. The government should come clear and that’s why we have a government spokesperson, to break it down and help people understand how much money are they gonna put into the airport,” she stated.

As the airport workers continued to stage their strike, Kenyans and passengers streamed into the country who bore the brunt.

Long queues witnessed at JKIA as KAA workers down tools. Photo Edwin Dande

Persons inconvenienced by the strike spent the better part of the day expressing their disappointment and frustrations.

One highlight from the day was the plight of a white man who vented his frustrations expressing fears that his marriage was at risk. The man claimed that due to the delay in flights, his wife might probably divorce him by the time he gets home.

“Now we are here to suffer, my flight is delayed, I will miss my wife and she will probably divorce me when I reach Kisumu as a result of their actions”, the man lamented.

" I am disappointed, we have been here for over three hours and have not gotten any communication, we have important things to do," another customer complained.

“It’s been chaotic… there were hundreds of people outside the airport when we arrived but we stood around and eventually made it inside," a female passenger who cut short her holiday trip to Kenya to go back to the Netherlands for a funeral told journalists.

Among those stranded was also Zimbabwe men’s football team. The team had flown into Nairobi after an African Cup of Nations qualifier game in Uganda.

Defending their move, the airport workers have revealed that the protests are necessary as they are pushing to be heard.

“We are pushing to keep our jobs, we are pushing to avoid being colonized again”, KAA workers at the Moi International Airport said.

“We have never seen those Adani documents they are talking about, it would have been better if Adani himself came here and explained what is happening to us.” Another worker said.

The Kenya Aviation Workers’ Union previously warned of an indefinite strike after the government failed to disclose details of the Adani deal.

City lawyer Francis Njoroge Wanjiku has issued a demand to the Kenya Electricity Transmission Company Limited (KETRACO) over the controversial Adani deal as protests at major airports in the country persist.

In the letter obtained by Kenyans.co.ke, the lawyer has asked KETRACO to make public the particulars of any Private-Public Partnership (PPP) deal with the Adani Group.

“We wish to exercise our right to access to information held within your organization including but not limited to project agreements, financial capacity of the tendering company, the tendering process undertaken, public participation and approval of the Attorney General.”

Speaking exclusively to Kenyans.co.ke, Njoroge said the demands were prompted by the coy nature of the government in revealing the particulars of the partnership with Adani.

“Apart from the Cabinet’s approval, there was no public participation. There is no telling what the deal is about and that is why we want to move to court,” he said.

His statement comes amid a wave of protests at the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport on Wednesday, September 11, as aviation workers downed their tools.

For the better part of Wednesday morning, operations were paralysed at JKIA and other airports across the country as aviation industry workers continued to stage strikes, leading to cancellation of flights.

Despite Adani Group’s controversial global track record, its subsidiary Adani Energy Solutions Limited (AESL) secured approval for a multimillion-dollar energy transmission project in Kenya.

This move, which was under the Private-Public Partnership (PPP) framework, instantly sparked fear that the government could be opening doors to more than just foreign investment.

Kenya Aviation Workers Union (KAWU)'s Secretary General Moss Ndiema recently revealed part of the reason aviation workers went on strike was because of the government’s apparent ingenuity over the Adani deal.

“The government has not been straightforward and they are not genuine. They have not provided us with all the documents that we demanded. All we want is the government stop the Adani deal,” he stated in an interview with a local publication.

Meanwhile, the Kenya Kwanza government has largely attributed the move to partner with the Indian conglomerate to budgetary constraints.

After the fall of the controversial Finance Bill brought about by nationwide ‘Gen Z protests’, President Ruto has seemingly shifted focus to the private sector to drive his development agenda.

The Law Society of Kenya (LSK) and Kenya Human Rights Commission (KHRC) have since successfully moved to court to block the controversial takeover.

Safisha elders mesho na porno

Passaris needs to understand she’s making herself an enemy of Kenyan people of goodwill, and she’s insulting them too by presuming a blanket ignorance of those she supposedly represents.
Are all the nice and efficiently run airports in the globe built by Adani? If they have an unsavoury reputation, and they are presenting a deal which is suspicious at best, we must say NO. No two ways about it.

Cc: @TrumanCapote

Esther “Pessary” Passaris is a well known Kenya Kwisha Bimbo Socialite.

She is simply echoing her masters voice on an issue whos implications She does not fully understand

Shenzi Kabisa …!! :rage:

Very dubious fashion statement…

https://x.com/RodgersKipembe/status/1833521700925018139?t=UBReOj_v0Lews4_r1e8qvw&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFO3gxleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHQYif8SEuppnm7XvzudYnxRPXiY1qxBG6jmQuXQ1MuJFmG0Z2JuaLh8Ypg_aem_dINIZQqPu9PJWI9aU5hQEw

The Chairperson of the Presidental Council of Economic Advisors, David Ndii on Thursday dismissed allegations that Adani paid a Ksh258 billion bribe to secure the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA) revamp deal.

Taking to his X account, the economist argued that it was illogical for the Indian company to pay such a huge amount of money for a deal that would last for over 30 years.

I hope this is not true…that Adani is now threatening and intimidating the few individuals who benefitted from their bribes at the expense of Kenyans… :rofl:

Ndii in his remarks claimed that Adani company had several investment options besides the JKIA deal and thus could not pay such an amount of bribe to secure the JKIA tender.

“So Adani paid a $2b bribe! for the JKIA deal. Why not invest the $2.6b in bonds at 5% and watch it grow to $11b in 39 years,” Ndii charged.

“Let’s do the math. Adani proposal is a $2 billion investment. 30% equity = $600. 18% equity return (ask, actual will be less) = $108 p.a X 30 = $3.24b,” he added.

According to the president’s advisor, Adani could have made more money over the same period by merely investing in government securities.

Ndii further stated that it was impractical for the Indian company to pay such a bribe yet there were better investment options in Kenya like KeGen whose market capitalization stood at Ksh16.5 billion as of September 12.

“JKIA profit as is best case scenario is Ksh2 billion per annum. KenGen which is a better company is currently valued at Ksh16 billion,” Ndii claimed.

Ndii while insisting on the matter, underscored the need for a better airport particularly following the recent backlash about the leaking roofs at JKIA.

He was forced to issue clarity on the matter after a section of online users alleged the company allegedly paid a Ksh258 billion bribe to convince top government officials to hand it the deal.

“Allegations of a $2 billion bribe in the JKIA deal raise serious concerns about transparency and accountability, especially when the math points to massive long-term profits,” claimed an online user.

Ndii’s sentiments come a day after activities at the country’s main airport were brought to a standstill after aviation workers resorted to staging protests inside the facility.

The name Adani has been rife in Kenyans’ mouths in recent weeks for all the controversial reasons.

On Wednesday, September 11, the rubber finally met the road when Kenya’s aviation workers downed their tools in protest of the so-called ‘Adani deal’.

Through Transport Cabinet Secretary Davis Chirchir, the Kenyan government admitted there was no formal agreement with Indian multinational company Adani Group over the KSh 260 billion takeover. The proposal, according to Chirchir, is still in its infancy stages.

However, it is ‘not yet Uhuru’ for aviation workers, since the government insists it is in everyone’s best interest to lease the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport to the Indian conglomerate, owned by one Gautam Adani.

Gautam Adani and Vietnam Prime Minister Phạm Minh Chính

But who exactly is Gautam Adani? The Indian business mogul is the owner of the Adani Group, which is at the heart of port development and operations in India.

His entrepreneurial journey dates back to 1981 when he collaborated with his older brother to operate a plastics unit in Ahmedabad, India.

Their business flourished after the Indian government relaxed import licences, enabling the businessman to eventually set up Adani Exports in 1985, which initially dealt with agricultural and power commodities.

Over the years, Adani Holdings has tapped into different markets, including the power-generation business in 2006.

Thanks to his industries’ influence and Adani Group’s financial muscle, the company was able to acquire a 74% stake in Mumbai International Airport, which is the second busiest in India after Delhi Airport.

Within the Adani Group are Adani Power, Adani Total Gas, Adani Ports, Adani Energy Solutions and Adani Airports holdings, among others. The group makes $32 billion (KSh 4.14 trillion) in revenue.

As of 2024, Forbes ranks Gautam Adani as the richest man in India, with a net worth of $85.7 billion (KSh 11.01 trillion). Overall, the mogul is competing for 20th place in the global rich list with French entrepreneur Françoise Bettencourt Meyers and family.

Experts predict Adani could become the second trillionaire in history by 2028.

The success Adani Group has experienced has not come with its fair share of controversy. There have been allegations of fraud against the company, who were accused of stock manipulation in 2023 - something the company vehemently denied.

Australian senators also published a damaging report on Adani, accusing the company of running offshore tax havens, environmental destruction, and human rights violations.

Ngoja, si ni mimi nawashow?

Caleb has just bought Range Rover 2024, which he could not afford even as Soy MP

That’s why me hutusi Luos supporting Ruto. He fired Awuondo who has 34 yrs in banking, for his inexperienced, corrupt nitwit tribesman

Sai you’re erecting billboards - “Welcome Dala”

Back to Adani Deal, 16 people wa briefcase led by Henry Ogowa who chairs Karen South association, hood ya wadosi,

And is the Director of Airports Sacco,

Hao ndio were ground setters sent to India, before big men came in after it was confirmed lucrative

Anyway, Adani has already told his Indian Gafment hataki hii deal ya nduru,

All he wants is the $2B he’s given out so far as bribe… Put that in Kenyan shillings

Yeah, I understand your tears. Coz ni tax yetu ita refund pesa watu are buying nazo latest cars and exorbitant watches

Sisi tuko kula air burgers for lunch hii Nairobi

Walaaniwe milele. Amin

https://x.com/NderituBenM/status/1833815043655283038?t=y2l6P4MoznYREdmi6c55EQ&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFQUJ1leHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHbCfmB3wYZPPiu3I24HfNsLr2F-xbYlagj5-DjTGsOZyUr5N925Fx3_l-Q_aem_3WKvLv-XnzeV6VJ09BWlqA

https://x.com/KarentheNrse/status/1833802798548295736?t=A6tLBWYZRymUKbv0X7Zcww&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFQUVNleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHe2OlCW7abHFfJiGY2bN9R_A5J9sbKVCOuvk5w00b4vtfudqmnC8Al_MLQ_aem_0FsbjI1ernO-T7k7skzlZQ

https://x.com/gaelaluda/status/1833795350756299126?t=hyaThSsKxFZy_9pSR-WomQ&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFQUYFleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHWJjpdAKi-6mKa_SQBxZtzlafQ_kQFcxwwlt9zkz9s51v_KLFwP1CJ0nLA_aem_8Vp0FY9JNZeZ-W4B7UCxaw
https://x.com/kijanaGachagua/status/1833795824666485158?t=PVd6VePW8-v-HyAk1dhuzA&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFQUaZleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHbEj1e09kuaJHF88IkXrGPXnHVbGWs8tqBp6yizBJrrunVdYTcwhRzV6iw_aem_oN_VTslR1-JCQ2MDdnT8sg

https://x.com/i/status/1834294080680984764

Apart from the takeover of the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, Transport Cabinet Secretary Davis Chirchir on Thursday revealed that Indian conglomerate Adani Group has submitted proposals to undertake various other projects within the country.

Speaking during an interview on Citizen TV, Chirchir gave more insight into the deal the government has signed with Adani that will see the Indian conglomerate take over a few power lines controlled by the Kenya Electricity Transmission Company (KETRACO)

https://x.com/kwachiffu/status/1834336176611766576?t=UwLFt8WebZ-JOvsXeD599g&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFRFjNleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHdCUMX8pZNEyyVCCHLNlx1BIDlH0cskWM63gshAR1ZhFLU0ZquKJmuqW6g_aem_3jpWeTbmnYVwWNK_lhbVNA

The deal according to CS Chirchir is anchored on a Public-Private Partnership (PPP) framework. With this, the government is targeting to raise Ksh50 billion in the next financial year.

Chirchir specifically revealed that talks are underway for Adani to take over the Gilgil-Thika-Malaa line.

“There are over 150 proposals on PPP by different companies especially in the Energy sector. Adani has proposed to take over the line lying between Gilgil, Thika, Malaa”, the CS said.

The CS was forced to clarify if Adani had an ongoing deal with KETRACO after Kisii Senator Richard Onyonka exposed the possibility of the deal after the CS appeared before MPs during a grilling session on Thursday.

According to the CS, the Kenya Kwanza Government is looking to leverage the potential of PPP even further which could see more foreign companies land lucrative deals to run or operate critical projects.

“I am aware of plans under the framework of employing more PPP projects to open access to the unreached parts of the country.” the CS said.

Chirchir said the PPP model is not new and has been applied in the country for over 25 years.

Kenya has in recent years turned to PPP to finance costly projects without adding to the country’s debt, a shift from the yesteryears when commercial loans funded key projects.

According to the National Treasury, the PPP Directorate has a pipeline total of 31 projects at various stages of the PPP project cycle, with most of them being at the procurement stage.

Adani has come under heavy criticism in Kenya in recent times due to its proposal to take over the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA) for 30 years, during which it will exclusively develop and operate it.

https://x.com/Banks_Banksg/status/1834896185317826771?t=lEruTamzjmt2MkJgEs37Hw&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFS1W9leHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHS5QVIGr0ehSn3o2N3uYQMCBWS0HcHMyDpa4_SGcMy0kW-40BpxGn5-yFQ_aem_l4AHbloN7EOBFshjTMfSYA

Atleast the Senator was honest and placed a disclaimer but we have something on you. So, Senior Counsel Ahmed, it’s interesting how you cling so fervently to the teachings of your faith, drawing the line at consuming pork because it’s “Haram,” yet your hands seem to have no problem wallowing in the filth of corruption, claiming those billions in proceeds from the Kenya Pipeline ghost project are somehow “Halal.” Hypocrisy doesn’t even begin to describe this contradiction. You and some your fellow white-collar elites—lawyers, accountants, engineers—have mastered the art of facilitating grand theft from public coffers. Let’s talk about Zakhem International and the Kenya Pipeline, shall we? Billions of shillings siphoned off for a ghost project, all while Kenyans are left footing the bill to this very day. And yet, the funds continue to flow—conveniently, into your accounts, Senior Counsel. You, the so-called custodian of this blood money, would have us believe you had no inkling, no reason to suspect foul play? Please, spare us the feigned ignorance. A legal professional of your caliber, cannot possibly claim to be unaware of the crime-ridden swamp in which you’ve been wading for years. It would be laughable that you’d even try to dispute your role in the Kenya Pipeline deal, not when those millions from the government keep streaming in under your watchful eye. Kenyans have every reason to question the legitimacy of your wealth. If it smells like stolen public money, looks like laundered funds, and lands in your accounts—guess what? It’s stolen money. You and your ilk in the legal profession—far from being defenders of justice—have become central figures in public corruption. Your professional skills, honed for upholding the law, have instead been deployed to tear it apart, enriching yourself and others at the expense of this country. This, sir, is the tragic irony: the very people meant to safeguard the rule of law are the ones enabling its destruction. And please, don’t think the rest of your white-collar accomplices are off the hook. Corruption wouldn’t thrive without the engineer signing off on a faulty project, the accountant balancing crooked books, or the lawyer like yourself, handling dirty money. Every single one of you is complicit in this rot. If there’s any justice left in this country, it demands that the legal profession and others like it clean house. But will you? Or will you continue to sit in your high towers, pretending to be pious while you stuff your pockets with proceeds of crime? The law may be your profession, but corruption, clearly, is your real calling.

https://x.com/kwachiffu/status/1834857591106637852?t=8aALpmykjGHPhDupzm7Nwg&s=04&fbclid=IwY2xjawFS1fdleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHQiAJokSR2rRKUXCIOSxgHm_UoQzx-b24fdNnCRE2HL0n1fD_EGjEYmNKg_aem_vATRWAey4g0H1QNkZgbaMw

The Ministry of Energy is set to hold a stakeholders’ public participation conference on Monday, September 16, to get views of Kenyans on the proposed private investment partnership deal with Adani Energy Solutions Limited despite the uproar it has elicited from Kenyans.

The public participation forum is set to get the views of Kenyans on whether they support an agreement where the government is planning to award Adani Energy Solutions Limited permission to transmit Kenya’s electricity.

Should the deal sail through, the multinational company will take over from Kenya’s electricity transmission company and be in charge of the electricity transmission from the power generators, a move that has been opposed by Kenyans.

The government had initially expressed interest in the partnership to address the perennial power blackouts in the country that have been largely blamed on Kenya’s transmission infrastructure.

Energy Cabinet Secretary Opiyo Wandayi blamed the blackouts on the old infrastructure of power transmission, pointing to a need for improvement in the infrastructure.

Wandayi, while reacting to the blackouts, claimed that the government had recently approved a Ksh117 billion power transmission infrastructure proposal from Adani Energy Solutions Limited.

However, according to the government, this could not be done by the state due to the fiscal constraints that the government is currently grappling with therefore necessitating the need for a private investor to assist the government.

Religious leaders on Sunday, however, asked the government to listen to Kenyans over the proposal to permit Adani Holdings to run Kenya’s infrastructure investments.

The leaders asked the government to halt the process and listen to Kenyans who have expressed reservations over the partnership.

‘’We are saddened by the information that our infrastructure including the airport is going to be given to a foreigner despite the fact that we have blessed and talented businessmen who can run the same on our behalf, who are Kenyans,’’ Bishops from Glory Assembly Outreach implored.

Should Adani Energy Solutions get the deal, they will help the government construct 371-kilometer transmission lines together with five substations in Western and Eastern Kenya.

This came even as the government remained on course with its public participation sessions to get views from Kenyans over the proposal to have Adani transmit Kenya’s electricity.

Busia Senator Okiya Omtatah has explained how the Parliament can stop the JKIA-Adani deal from going forward but maintained that the Parliamentary probe could not halt discussions surrounding the deal.

Since JKIA was built using taxpayers’ money, Omtatah termed the Parliament as the custodian which holds the public interest, thus they have the capacity to stop it on its tracks before it is contracted.

“Parliament has the capacity to stop it where it is. After it is contracted, Parliament lacks the tools to stop it. Only the courts can do it.” Omtatah clarified.

Passengers stranded at JKIA after all planes were grounded due to workers’ strike.

When asked whether the ongoing Parliament probe could stop Kenya Airports Authority (KAA) from continuing the conversation with Adani, Omtatah said, “No, it does not stop it until an order is issued.”

Therefore, it could be more efficient if the Parliament could hasten the process in order to ensure that it is not too late by the time an order is given.

Nelson Amenya, the man who blew the whistle on the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA) Adani deal on Wednesday confirmed the contract is yet to be signed which he attributed to the public uproar that ensued after he leaked details.

The whistleblower, speaking from France during an interview with KTN News said, “This deal has not been signed yet because of course after I exposed it things slowed down. If I did not expose it, it would have already been signed.”

He went on to add that the deal was shrouded in secrecy and this was the reason why Transport Cabinet Secretary Davis Chirchir took time to appear before the Senate. According to Amenya, Chirchir did not reveal everything that was included in the initial proposal while making his submissions on the floor of the house.

Amenya even name dropped a senior Kenya Kwanza politician who allegedly received bribes to hasten the deal. The whistleblower went on to dare the government to provide documents to prove what he is saying is not factual.

The whistleblower attributed JKIA’s sorry state to mismanagement revealing that a Chinese firm had been contracted in 2020 to repair the leaking roofs at the national airport even though the problem persists to date.

“Do you know that there was a tender of Ksh1 billion that was issued to a Chinese firm for them to repair the roof? The first time they were given this tender was 2020 I believe, and then when CS Murkomen was in power they were called again.” Amenya claimed.

He went on to add that the tender was single sourced with government officials allegedly blocking a competitive process.

Despite the shoddy job done by the Chinese firm however, Amenya claimed the Chinese firm was still contracted to finish the project. He stated that even in light of all these facts, work was still not done despite the firm being paid a whopping Ksh1 billion.

Amenya was reacting to a question on whether JKIA needed an upgrade due to its deteriorating nature.

The whistleblower blamed the Kenya Airports Authority (KAA) for failing to ensure that funds set aside to revamp JKIA were properly utilised.

“It is mismanagement of funds that has led JKIA to the point where it is today and that’s why we are in dire need for an upgrade, a new terminal.” Amenya said.

He concluded that an upgrade was required at JKIA but then the due process needs to be followed. “If it’s a PPP project then it has to follow the PPP Act of 2021 whether it’s an emergency or not.”

Despite all the controversial claims being made against the Adani Group, the conglomerate has consistently refuted any claims of wrongdoing.

On Wednesday September 18, the firm released a press statement denying yet another claim that the KAA approved their proposal in 17 days and confirmed that the contract had not been signed yet.

Head of Creative Economy and Special Projects in the Office of the President Dennis Itumbi was on Friday heckled by university students while trying to justify the Adani Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA) takeover deal to the audience.

Itumbi was speaking at the Bomas of Kenya where the ruling United Democratic Alliance (UDA) was launching a program where university students can engage directly with the ruling government.

The digital strategist was attempting to defend the controversial deal but the varsity students shut him down through jeering and booing, forcing him to cut short his speech.

Itumbi compared the Adani deal to a similar contract in Rwanda that allowed the neighbouring country to build a state-of-the-art airport.

Headbox Itumbi who was appointed as ICT CAS in March 2023

“Our neighbors in Rwanda are building a brand new airport to house 7 million passengers, but you guys here are saying don’t do it, don’t expand that airport…It’s okay, it’s okay”, Itumbi stated.

The over 2,000 University students from different parts of the country had been mobilised as the ruling party explores different strategies to engage stakeholders at a time when Kenya Kwanza is having a hard time selling its ideas to Kenyans.

The Adani deal has been ferociously opposed by Kenyans across the board. Most citizens have questioned whether the deal is in the country’s best interests.

The Indian conglomerate is expected to pump in Ksh238 billion to revamp JKIA in exchange for running the facility for 30 years during which Adani will recoup its investment.

On September 11, activities at JKIA and other airports across the country were paralysed as Kenya Airports Authority (KAA) staffers downed their tools to protest against the deal which they believe will render them jobless.

The airport workers want the deal dropped altogether.

Several stakeholders including the Kenya Human Rights Commission and Law Society of Kenya moved to court to stop the deal citing that leasing a strategic and profitable Jomo Kenyatta International Airport to a private entity is irrational.

The Adani conglomerate submitted the proposal to run the airport on 1 March 2024. The firm has since denied allegations that the proposal was cleared 17 days ago.

Apart from the JKIA, Roads and Transport Cabinet Secretary Davis Chirchir confirmed that Adani is close to reaching a deal with the Kenya Electricity Transmission Company (KETRACO) to run select power lines.

Pokot South MP David Pkosing on Tuesday advised the Kenya Airports Authority (KAA) to halt all proceedings with the Adani Group until the Parliamentary Committee on Transport submits a report on its findings on the contentious deal.

Citing an impending audit by the Transport Committee, Pkosing said that the two entities need to be cognizant of the investigation the committee is currently carrying out with lawmakers expected to give way forward on the matter which Kenyans across the board agree is a matter of national interest.

“It is the advice of this committee that because we are going to order a special audit, that you don’t do anything with Adani until this committee presents a report to parliament. If you do it it’s up to you,” he stated during Parliamentary proceedings.

According to Pkosing, the final report will be tabled by the end of October. Pkosing warned in the event the two entities fail to heed the directive, senior bosses at the two organisations will be held personally responsible. He however, did not expound.

Acknowledging that the National Assembly was the house with the highest authority to decide on the way forward after the report, Pkosing said, “The house that has the power to do these things is the National Assembly. Aviation is a national function, not a county function and therefore we will do our work as is required by the constitution.”

Pkosing took cue from Nairobi Senator Edwin Sifuna who had on Monday expressed fears that KAA and Treasury officials were doing Adani’s bidding instead of working in the best interests of Kenyans.

“That’s an advice. Number 1, please don’t blame Parliament, it is you people because of a lack of trust. Number 2, you halt any interaction with Adani until this committee submits a report by the end of October.” He said.

The JKIA-Adani deal has captured the attention of Kenyans countrywide since Nelson Amenya, a Kenyan working in France exposed that the government was in final-stage talks to hand over the running of JKIA to the Indian conglomerate.

Different committees in both the Senate and the National Assembly have in the last few days been meeting with different stakeholders involved in the deal including Treasury Cabinet Secretary John Mbadi and Kenya Airports Authority (KAA) officials.

By Tuesday afternoon, the Public Debt and Privatisation Committee was grilling the National Treasury CS John Mbadi to get more insight on the deal.

The CS while appearing before lawmakers questioned the hurried nature at which the deal had received greenlight and placed the blame on KAA officials.

As the web of the JKIA-Adani deal continues to unravel, it seems like the intrigue continues to build and more questions still linger on not only the legalities of the proceedings but also exactly what the deal is all about as top officials continue to be mean with the truth every time they appear before a parliamentary committee.

https://x.com/i/status/1838262903478063321

Huyu mnyanye hunibore sana.