ni kama congo ni kubwa kama shiet.
tunakulanga palm oil yenye mungu alipanda na hatujawai maliza
Seems like you’ve eaten strange meat in that strange land
Very innovative. Something as simple as that is enough to bring return customers.
“Pale huwa wanaosha watu na maji moto kwanza hii wakati ya covid.”
Maliza hio ghasia completely.
Hehe … acha ufala
Mimi je na utambi yangu,i’d look like a stuffed turkey…it would not come as a surprise if there are indeed cannibals hiding in the congo forest
Just the subtle not too obvious ones,the more weirder looking ![]()
Ukialikwa huko hakikisha una mafuta ya kutosha kwa gari, na hakuna kushuka na hakuna kuzima gari, incase of anything you just accelerate to safety.
Eastern Congo.
Aii is this Kenya kweli? I don’t think monkey/bush meat is our cuisine. It is a delicacy in Cameroon. Thank God for the strict immigration rules pale Heathrow else tungeletewa mpaka dogs from Thailand. and snails sijui from where. Once you are caught…you are in for a bumpy ride.
Yeah. I have just watched a documentary and they confirmed cannibalism is rife.
You will be chopped into pieces na uingie kwa bush meat market. I fucking hate those people and I am starting to think mahali wako wengi Kenya kukuwe kunachunguzwa in case there are missing persons.
That menu is just a creation of the imagination. I remember Njoguini.
If you happened to pass by its ancient brown door at lunch hour in the late nineties, you might have caught sight of three men entering its dim interior, led by a dwarf, then a giant, and another, of a somewhat nervous, boyish sort, not quite the dashing man about town yet, but just past boyhood…
I was doing a few months’ work stint with the big guy, and the small one. The ‘dwarf’ was really just a small funny guy, about 5.1 feet, with a broad face, a moustache and a beer belly, which he loved to part occasionally, smoothing his tie, while telling tall tales. Ironically, perhaps too conscious of his size–despite always being in a coat a size larger, which completed his broken suit, and speaking in a gruffy bass–he always addressed his tall and big friend and colleague as kamundu (little guy) even in the office. I never heard him call him by name. It was always, We, kamundu this, kamundu that. If you heard them speaking without seeing their faces you would think the big guy was the one mocking the small one.
The giant was always neat in well fitting suits, and carried his large frame with grace. They liked to drag the timid new guy (me) along for lunch at Njoguini, where the dwarf would regale us with many stories. If you looked at the table, you would notice that apart from the steaming plates of kienyeji and stew, water glasses, and soda bottles, there would always be two short, dark brown bottles of Tusker Export, the small man’s favourite escort for his lunch.
Afterwards, as we walked back to work, we would sometimes spot one of @Rexximba’s broad bottomed obsessions on the street. Our small friend would call out to the giant.
“Mamamamama! Kamundu, do you see what I see?” The giant used to speak very little, he would just chuckle and say, “I see”.
Then our dwarf would adopt a waddling, half-dancing, half walking gait, arms stretched out, his coat and tie swaying from side to side, snapping his fingers, and quietly sing Kanda Bongoman’s song: “Inde, inde, inde moniii, inde monieeee-!”
Here’s the real Bongoman doing his thing
Hehehe…but I thought the menu by Baby Panay is not Kenyan? the Njoguini one looks Kenyan. Does it still exist today?..late 90’s singekuwa karibu na hiyo area. I was grounded at home. Atee Kamundu :DGod Bless Kenyans. I used to be a regular customer at Kosewe’s and I am sad to hear that it shut down. I saw Kenyans who clearly looked like corporate employees having a huge looooong lunch and some beers. While I watched in amazement at the demolition of a huge ugali by one person, he then downed the beers. Mimi nimekaa with my mouth open wondering if watachapaa kazi afternoon.
Thenks for that Kanda song…my older Sistas used to dance to it.
Hiyo menu ya @Baby panay is just a joke, but receipt ya @Jobi looks genuine. I think Njoguini still exists, I haven’t been down that side for a while though. The culture of taking alcohol at lunch has been there for long, but now there are much fewer places where they sell it because the laws were changed to try to wean people off it.
Kanda Bongoman was the rave in the nineties, seems your sister fell under his spell.
hakuna mtu ame kuuliza huo ujinga umeandika
Hiyo ya Baby Panay is clearly from a neighbouring country and think Talkers have addressed it. Yes my Sistas loved that Kanda and another one called Arlus Mambele??? I think…They were in Unis at the time. So I did hear that music.
Not my genre at all, at all. But I respect other peoples’ tastes.
Back to the menus…they have become more interesting coz as you know Kenyans are v creative. Sometimes I meet my Kazos huko kwao na kuangalia menu…I don’t get it na kumbe ni mambo mingi ya kuleta chapo na beans…ati beef wet hunh? I lurve it tho. But the worst place to look at a menu is down at the coast region jameni…sielewi kitu without uber driver anieleze…
Arlus Mabele was/is also a great sensation to many who love the Lingala dance beats. He’s just one among very many popular artistes of his time. Now, the food has difinitely evolved as its names. Beef fry can be wet or dry (if you want it with a little soup it will be “wet”. You’ll encounter terms like kuku choma, kuku fry–dry fry or wet fry, mbuzi choma, mbuzi fry, etc. At the coast, don’t be shocked if they tell you they have mbuzi ulaya. It’s pork, not a roast mountain goat from the Pyrenees.
Indeed. I will always go for kuku choma na mbuzi choma…beef needs to be a bit wet. As for samaki, gorra a long way to go, but keep it dry. And the greens too. What surprises me are the menus describing simple dishes…
Wooi no pork for me. My hubby likes it v much but he has to order takeaways. I don’t know what can help me correct the mentality that it is not bad meat when I have seen pigs eating anything and snorting…naaah.
Oooh, you have no idea what you’re missing.
That’s the mental image that keeps squeamish people from pork–the thought of what pigs eat. Of course there are people who shun it for religious reasons, and that’s quite understandable. I used to dislike even trying it, till someone managed to convince me to take just a bite. Now it’s one of my favourites. But I prefer to roast it myself. Very nice, it goes down well with baked potatoes, fries or ugali.
You gorra a point you know? I like sausages, bacon, ham etc. Just the actual pork dish itself…in the spirit of trying new dishes nitajaribu…I might surprise myself.