Close incident at JKIA at 15:42
2 planes about to land, 5Y-KCA and 5Y-RNK then China Southern Airlines 787, B-209E enters the runway for take off, forcing 5Y-KCA to go-around and 5Y-RNK to do a sharp right
NIABM
Controllers wapelekwe Moyale airstrip
Sources?
Unacceptable..
JKIA is equipped with a functioning Approach Radar and Certified ATC personnel.
All approaching aircraft are also supposed to monitor ATC Approach radio frequencies and alert / confirm ATC anomalies.
I am reminders of a situation a few years ago when a British Airways B747 on a misty morning approach above Ngong Hills was directed to descend to 5000ft by JKIA Tower..
(.. JKIA is 5500ft ASL ..!! ).
The BA Pilot was able to save the situation when suddenly , as the mist cleared , he saw the approaching Acacia Trees of the Nairobi National Part and aborted his landing ..!!![]()
![]()
![]()
Wacha story za jaba. The aircraft alarms will go off long before they reach 500 ft above ground level.
Ati sasa ndege huland JKIA altimeter ikiwa 5500?
![]()
Ambia nurse Nekesa akuongeze dawa hapo Mathare mental hosi
Point made. We obviously have wiseguys in the house who don’t understand the serious mistake the aircontroller made–just talking because mouth muscles must be exercised.
IF you were a certified pilot ( which you clearly are NOT) ..
You would know that Approach Minimums and Data are set manually to facilitate Auto land procedures in bad weather..
( ..and they vary according to different Aerodrome elevations and surrounding terrain..)
What saved the day was the GPWS ( Ground Proximity Warning System ) which gave Aural and system warnings as the aircraft was approaching minimums..
Since an aircraft is not like your 20 year old Toyota Probox …
Slamming throttles for maximum Go Around Climb Power takes a few seconds to deliver as the Jet engines spool up …
Meanwhile , the aircraft was in low speed landing configuration and established on the ILS …
Look for a real Pilot to explain it to you ..!!![]()
All this you are talking is rubbish. I have done hundreds of hours on a simulator, and dozens from JKIA, and the scenario you are depicting never happens even in fiction.
Have a look at this chart and tell me which mad pilot would be approaching at 5000 feet. Umezoea kuropokwa leo umepatana na wenyewe. Ghasia.
Typical behavior in here ..
But our thankless role as Legends , Elders ( ..and Betters..) is to educate and inform the ignorant hoards in here.
Fortunately for all the Doubtful Thomas’s (..and Kamau’s ..) in here , the Air Safety Board of KAA keeps accurate Incident Logs for the perusal and learning of interested parties ..
I would urge interested parties to verify the same for themselves before sounding off in ignorance ..!!![]()
This one might interest you ..
The Air Canada “Gimli Glider” Incident of 1983.
The plane ran out of fuel at 41,000 feet due to fuel uplift errors..!!
I’ve bookmarked it. Will watch later.
Maliza huyo wildlife veterinary nurse