Bruh it is not hatorade.
@mayekeke said that someone he once hosted was awed by Vumbistani standards. It’s all about attitude adjustment.
The thing is no one owes you an explanation for not meeting you. If they fail to show up, move on with the program.
question is; how many osungu.dll tatas would you want lined to meet you at jkia
I wouldnt be bothered if it wasn’t the same people that have demanded niwaletee vitu… I have a plan nikifika juu time huwa limited… Anyways mi hupatia mtu one strike… U let me down that’s it… And I don’t get why people can’t keep time. Traffic jam is hardly surprising in 254
we always keep african time, its usually 1-2 hours behind gmt time. and btw if you are complaining about kenyans not keeping time try tanzanians
Mi hata siwezi eleza my experiences with relatives who are in the diaspora. People nimelisha when we were growing up. Saa hii hata wakifika naskianga kwa grapevine that so and so is around… Just sad. Recently one had a function here at home and they invited a second cousin first. And then they said a word to me about the function two days to the event. Hata wewe @Ebonycurves is this what you are talking about. Drop everything and travel the entire breadth of Kenya on a two day notice? Ni ngumu kumesa. Wacha ikae. Wacha wasema niliingiwa na maringo…thengiu
This only happens to people who stay majuu for long without visiting. Been in and out of country last 10years without much funfare. Used to be a big deal first 3 years because back then I would only afford to visit once a year and every time I came visiting lazima watu wangejua, but with time it became so regular and low key that you wouldn’t even know whether I was staying here or majuu.
Last time I came over there nilirudi na pesa yangu yote :D. I sleep at my mothers, I rented a small car for Sh2500/day.
whore
IS that really a valid fear ? How many diasporans have been mugged ocha ? Why even go to Kenya kama hautafika ocha ?
There are some places in this country ni kama watu hujua harufu ya pesa. When a diasporan visits, a family can be woken up at 2 am by robbers. Hata in some areas mahari inalipwa na bank statement, not cash due to such fears.
Expand your vocabulary bure
When you see someone behaving like a king when they come home ,with bling bling and tweng, please check his upbringing . These are people who walked barefooted to school ,sleeped hungry and had it rough. .
Should they get a chance to go where there is plenty of what they lacked ,they have culture explosions .these are the people who rub it on our faces …
Hehehe! One way to know those who are doing well abroad is by how often they can afford ku come home. Once a year? Once every five? And when they come how lavishly they live and for how long. Watu wako na jobs professional get paid leave while those in low skilled jobs don’t, so visiting home is a big loss of income to the latter group. Anyway having been on both sides, just try to understand their excitement. The pride and arrogance is automatic because most of the world thinks of Africa as a backward and savage continent.
@Meria Mata umenibamba infact hawa matoast wakikuja inakuwanga ni tao na westy daily na taxi ndio zao ati mats ni crowded ama ataperembwa so this guys you just hear nani ako area alafu pia the bros n sisters wake mnakuwaga tu nao sasa pia kujiskia ndio zao.shenzi sana.as meria puts it 3 wks later the bagga shows up at my hussle base ati anataka loan kiasi while his mayulus bank transfers his money to kenya at this point the nigga is like u knw meeen i asked fo u meeen and this is a guy tulikuwa tunaeendaga kuwinda tudem na yeye those days.nways mkikuja mtaani mkuje kama mumetulia juu mkiwa huko tulikuwaga tunakula na kunywa na kukamuana bila kamaneno.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xOuPK64l-vc
3:44
“In my opinion the word diaspora sounds and look like desperate,disgust and dispossed”
Not necessarily true. You also forget to consider factors such as those that have families. Take for example a family of four flying from the East coast you’re talking at least minimum of $6K just on tickets without factoring in spending expenses.
Then there are those that are just not interested in coming home so they instead have their parents or siblings fly over to visit.
Various factors come into play.
If said family of 4 visits every year hapo unajua there’s no way they’re making minimum wage. Discretionary income is at least 10k per year once you factor in living costs . I believe most kenyans abroad given the chance would like to visit often, but lack of finances is what limits them. Lack of time too can be a factor and is also a reflection of what type of job they have.
Napenda sana…nko K1 mafala
All I can say is expectations are high on both ends apart from a few cases.
For one your friends expect you to foot the bills wherever yell go to, since guys from abroad swim in money, pretence made by some stupid guys who preceeded .
Then you all over sudden are expected to participate in committees, and meet school fees and hospital bills, because you ‘have money’.
Mind you it seems like you got cash cozy you’ve saved up for the vacation. Simple rule, stay humble, the gossip will be spread, that , you broke or stingy, but people will always talk. Keep your eyes on your goals.
Second abroad guys come with the attitude like Kenya is a jungle , compared to the way things maybe organised in the countries they coming from.
Both are weaknesses .
If guys could understand that living and working abroad is no different to Kenya, it’s only that you have to go do it in another country, that would stop all the beef. Taking a plane to another country shouldn’t be that a big deal to an extent of getting your whole village escorting you to the airport. When you come back they expect a lot from you considering you boarded an aircraft that hopped to another country. The mentality is sickening.
As long as this mentality exists, and it will always exist, nothing will ever change.
I knew someone from abroad brought up in our neighborhood ,walking barefooted to school in early 90’s with me, who entered a citi hoppa and told makanga he wants to sit next to the exit door. But the passenger who was sitted there refused to stand up for this bling bling brother because bling bling found him there first .
Now our brother did something extraordinary ,he told the makanga “I want to pay bus fare for all these people here for ksh.1200 if this guy stands up and leaves this chair. Infact I want to double it so that the makanga can keep the 1200”. Poor makanga had to tell the innocent man to “leave” the bus because he was a nuisance with the support of other passengers cheering along !!!
There was an old mama sitted way behind who this fool paid fare for. That mama had 16 acres of land near road in kiambu worth several hundred millions. I’m sure she was laughing inside her despising this poor hustler who thinks he can disrespect everybody because he is from ulaya.jinga kabisa…
Another story; ;
Another bling bling went to bar and was ordering beer for everybody. Rounds after rounds after rounds . When he was leaving one of the beneficiary of his generosity followed him to thank him but meanwhile he was kidnapped with his lovely ATM card.
They would take him to atm machine at 11.50pm withdraw max limit of 20k hang around then withdraw another 20k at 12.03am
They would take him to their den cook for him the same foods he is used to eating abroad till he gained some good kilos.This went on for 2 months till 1million was gone and the plane left .
You can try imagine what went through his wife’s head who came with him to kenya.“urieda kukura mpesha na maraya” on top of that he had to book another ticket …
Humility matters alot.