Moving away from windows 11 to Ubuntu

I think its high time I move away from windows 11. My PC is always up to date with windows update. Back then when I was using windows 10 my PC would boot and open Edge browser in less than 10 seconds, it was very fast. Sikuhizi with windows 11 it takes more than 30 seconds to boot. Also it feels sluggish somehow when opening apps. Windows 11 is bloated with background applications.

Below is a screenshot of task manager. I have opened only 2 apps but background processes ni more than 57. My PC has 8gb RAM.

But si naona hizo background process haziconsume alot

Nikifunga Edge browser RAM inakuwa around 50%. Meaning in idle state system inatumia around 3-4gb RAM.

Windows processes ni 98. Na sahizi I have not installed any external apps. Nimeinstall fresh windows install jana.

If you want better performance for your windows 11, increase RAM to 16gb and get an SSD. That will be the sweet spot of performance though nashangaa why Edge makes your RAM slow. Kitu najua inaeza fanya computer iwe slow ni Chrome juu iko heavy sana. If you feel Edge is heavy try using Firefox Browser uone kama it will fix the problem.

Karibu Linux. I have been a user for a decade now since the release of Windows 10 back then (I hated it the day I first laid my eyes on it and decided to exit Windows altogether). To help you along, look for Zorin OS. It has a more gentle learning curve but is a very powerful Ubuntu-based OS.

Ubuntu 4.0 use to be a killer

From my understanding, Windows 11 is built more like a smartphone OS, whereby apps require persistent memory access, instead of being constantly swapped in and out of a page file as with all other versions of windows up to Windows 10.

In your case, it’s Microsoft Edge causing the issue. What you are seeing there is just what is used to keep the tabs open.. the media management (images, YouTube videos, audio playback) are each accessing RAM as you switch around the tabs, and all are staying in memory unless flushed (which I hear can take up to 30 mins)

I have 16GB’s myself, and the performance is quite poor, even when just idling on desktop.. 60% memory used.

Seeing myself going back to Windows 7. The best one, by a mile.

Here’s a workaround video you can try.

I moved to Mac OS because Windows just got worse over time, niliichoka kitambo nikaona niende ecosystem ingine. You can use this guide, nimetumia guides za Chris for years one of the best when it comes to matters PC.

I have done the switch. I have moved to Kubuntu. RAM used at idle state is around 15% compared to over 60% on windows 11.

With Edge browser open its around 50% RAM usage

Browser tafuta kitu light. Edge na Chrome usijaribu ata kidogo. Alafu weka zile firewall za kudisable programs. Block hizo upuzi zote. You should be able to use your machine in peace. Sio story machini inahema hadi unaanza kusweat wewe mwenyewe.

Hata mimi I will get a M3 pro. I am tired of windows. Windows huanza hata kulemea gaming laptops after some time.

Edge browser iko na copilot. Its a very useful tool. Also nimeisync na all by passwords na bookmarks. Siwezi kuiacha

Windows sahizi lazima laptop yako ikuwe na 16gb ram. Less than hio utapata lag in everything.

Harmony OS?

Hii ni ya Huawei ecosystem

You just migrate the passwords and bookmarks to firefox then get used to using other Ais. I never let anyone compromise my comfort. After all firefox has more functionality and extensions.

Copilot inakuwa on the right side of the browser, its convenient for me.

No desktop OS can support multithreading without memory paging. Even with 1000TB of RAM u will still need paging.

Anyway, OP could just ask chat-gee-pee-tee how to improve performance on his PC.

@Jack_Black though windows recommends your specs, the real requirements for a smooth windows 11 experience are:

• 2.4GHz and above with 16 cores and above
  • Minimum of 24GB ram
  • SSD (NVME not SATA)
  • Dedicated graphics card to take advantage of new graphical features.

Tell me more about smooth experiences as I play Tomb Raider on my laptop with my 16GB’s of RAM.

P.S: Did you know only 20% of current computers can run Windows 11 smoothly?

Kijiji amuses me sometimes