I am concerned with matters regarding the opposition of Prof laban Ayiro to head the VC docket.
It seems to have generated alot of heat around the country and mostly the parties concerned with CS Matiangi standing his ground that he followed due precudure in appointing the acting VC sentiments that were echoed by the DP.
Today a group of lawyers are moving to court under certificate of urgency to ccompel the university council to make public the results of the interviews.
To those in the know, is there more than meets the eye. What are we not being told? Many will say it is our man sydrome or tribalism but I beg to differ.
Moi university being located in rift valley, I am of the view that the surrounding community should gain the most in terms of jobs,that is support staff.
When it comes to professional jobs then every kenyan has the right to apply and get the job.
Hiyo University iwachiwe wakale,staff and students just like the previous government did in Egerton.95% of the staff student population comprise of chamgei lineage
K.U. is in line also, Matiangāi will also have to appoint an āoutsiderā after Wainainaās current term as acting VC expires to show the Kaleās that it is replicated countrywide. There was also a National Cohessionās report that listed most universities as not being compliant in terms of ethnic composition of staff. Moi was among them as well as K.U. Currently in KU kuna professor Okumu the DVC academic and Professor Godfrey (bukusu) the DVC Finance, those two may end up succeeding Mugenda. Lets wait and see
Correct, professional position to be filled competitively, manual jobs can go to the locals but there should also meet a certain minimum qualification which is not a problem. Here the governors are playing popular local politics. To them politics is local. Lastly Moi university was allocated 5 billion for expansion to five counties. Governors are fighting to get one each in their counties and fear the new VC might look somewhere else.
The gova and C.S. know that Moi University will set a precedent. If they bow to the demands of the local politicians on ethnicity, they will have set off a chain reaction that will be difficult to contain. I hope by the time Jubilee is done, the VC of Masinde Muliro will be a Meru/kikuyu/Embu or Kale and the one for Machakos University will be a Maragoli etc. Just like police officers, unakuta a Wafula is an O.C.S in deep central counties. Otherwise the Universities will turn into ethnic enclaves
True saa hii wakipatia wakale Moi, kutanuka, Mabel (A luhya) wa JKUAT atakua under sieke wanataka watu wao, huyo Mjaka kwa Masinde Muliro atafurushwa na waluhya, etc etc
In an ideal situation yes it is a public university lakini we know kenya as a society the tribe plays a very crucial role. and the government has to play a very active role in trying to ādetribalizeā public institution. The gover is charged with changing perceptions of the population. It should not reach a point whereby certain tribes as seen as having exclusive access to senior positions in particular universities. That will be a disaster
This is a non-issue⦠Just let globalization and internationalization hit these Kenyan Universities and I can assure you the demand for the best candidate available will come from within.
True, heās already received too much opposition from the DVCs who even went to the extent of sabotaging his change projects, using tribal propaganda against him etc. Kwanza the finance department has been the one place shida zimekua mob coz people did not want the changes he made especially because they disrupted the corruption networks. They went as far as burning down part of the offices. Iām not sure his contract will be renewed, but heās done some good progress with digitizing they university.
Yeah I have some inside info. on several universities. When the guy took over the finance department was crippled and even salaries were delayed in his initial months. it was sabotage
I donāt know whether this issue of tribalism was this prevalent in the 80ās when I was young,but I had an unfortunate stance of being in a high school for a year where during the parade we would be addressed in the localās dialect save for national anthem which was sang in swahili.Then I embraced the language and got to know a few of their words but altogether felt like an outsider coz i couldnāt participate in discussions or debates.Now I work in a place where there is a Unit which comprise of guys from the same tribe.You hear them ask each other āQuerii iyo ya yaku dirarutaa wiraa wegaā¦cejia kiriaaā.I know its a challenge especially to a govt which want to show unity but this vice should be fought at all cost.My local chief is a guy from Somali origin and believe you me he has contained all nocturnal activities that used to happen when we had one of our own.We can now rear chicken and do other business in peace.An āoutsiderā should be welcomed at all cost.
Was at home during weekend at a function local politicians were saying Farouk kibet asked for 20 mill from the kosgey who was interviewed. farouk reports to Ruto so this if it was true couldnt surprise me
Right now that man that you have mentioned (I wonāt mention him your guess is as good as mine) has landed a tender to construct a 200 Million bob wall around University of Eldoret.