Mike Rua invites Uhuru for some random drinks at his palatial Syokimau home

MIKE RUA; ONE MAN GUITAR, ONE MAN ARMY

When I first met Mike Rua sometime back in 2006, his name was high up in the Mugithi music circles.

At that time, his pictures were all over showbiz pull outs, but he rarely gave interviews to journalists. His story was still a mystery.

I called him on a Friday afternoon and asked for a one on one interview. He agreed, but asked me to meet him first at the then Three Wheels Pub, near Adams Arcade. He was scheduled to perform there that evening.

When I got there at 9pm, since that was the only time he was available, I found him at a table with a female friend, his drummer and bodyguard.

To introduce me to his female friend, he said “Huyu ndiye nafanyanga tabia mbaya na yeye,” and that was it. Now, if you are a Kikuyu, switch that sentence and put all the dirty words you can think of.

I knew he had dirty lyrics while performing on stage, I just didn’t picture him speaking the same way in normal conversations.

After chatting for a few minutes, where he mostly used ‘dirty’ Kikuyu words, he had to get ready to go on stage since revellers had already packed up the place.

The lady left the pub while Mike and his drummer was followed by the bodyguard towards the stage to get started. He told me we would talk more after the show.

What I didn’t know was that it was going to be a long, painful wait. When he started performing at 11pm, he got off the stage at 3am.

Yes, he usually performs for that long and that has been his standard practice for the nearly 30 years he has been rocking different stages.

At 3am, he told me he wanted to test my patience. He said he rarely trusted journalists, that’s why he never gave interviews those days. He agreed to come to Nation Center the following week for a full interview and photo shoot.

The story of Mike Rua is well known, especially how he stole a church guitar back home in Gatundu and fled to Nairobi to start his music career.

What’s interesting is that he performs other people’s music, and has never been sued for that. He just corrupts a few lyrics and inserts dirty words for entertainment. And people love that.

“They can’t sue me because I am just performing. It’s like gospel musicians suing the praise and worship team in church for singing their music. In fact, most musicians tell me I sound better in their own songs,” Mike once told me.

However, a few of his own compositions like ‘Kamuruki Karia “ and ‘Muuka Wa Kiarie’ seem to be very popular during his performances.

With the likes of Samidoh, Jose Gatutura, Waithaka Wa Jane, Tony Young, and others, recently emerging in the music scene, none of them have ever dethroned the ultimate King of Mugithi, Mike Rua.

Mike does not have low seasons. He always has a show, at least one every week. It does not matter whether it’s in a small or big club, he just performs.

Another interesting bit is that as much as he is a one man guitarist, he is also a one man army. When you pay him for a show in your club, he takes over the marketing bit. He prints his own fliers, distributes them and personally talks to the media personalities he trusts, to spread the word. He does not rely on the clubs to do that, and that’s how he has been able to survive in the game.

The only downtime Rua has had was a couple of years ago, when he had some marital challenges, just like any other man. During that time, he would miss some performances, but he realized that his reputation was on trial, and rectified the issue very quickly.

Even though Rua might seem to be open to many people, he keeps his circle very close. You will rarely see him hanging around just anywhere. He only goes to places that give him value.

And he is very well connected too.

One afternoon, when he used to live in Langata before moving to his now palatial home in Syokimau, he invited me for a few drinks at his home.

Outside his gate, there were several SUV cars. He said this was a normal weekend afternoon when he is not working, he likes inviting some few friends over for drinks and nyama choma.

When I got to the backyard, my jaw almost dropped when I saw former President Uhuru Kenyatta and his uncle Ngengi Muigai, just chilling out, amongst a few other notable figures.

That’s Mike Rua for you.

JOHN MOSH MUCHIRI

523007_82e22a308ed7173303282e172a4acd5e

nimekuja kuona palatial home in the desert that is syokimau.

Hata picha ya kifuli ya hio palatial home hatujakata, otherwise hii ni mushene!!!

Nonsense. Syokimau is a nice place kwanza for those who bought land kitambo. Saa hii shamba huko hazinunuluki

you gotta be fucking kidding me

Kama hii estate. 5 bedroom ni 130K. better than renting a one bedroom in Kilimani but your mentality is wired to live in Nairobi.

the palm trees ALONE tell you that the place is a desert. and isn’t it strange how clearly you can tell from both videos that the sun is super hot??

yaishe.

I am just trolling. :green_emoji: :green_emoji:

Anyway, unaishi wapi?

grogan road. a spit-throw away from nairobi river. small stuffy rooms where you must be home by 7.30 pm and not leave the house until daylight.

OKAY

I gave up on kitengela, syokimau and Rongai…maybe its just me and my sinuses. Wacha nikae tu huku kangemi for now nikingoja kurudi kwa shamba nakuru.

Nimewai jipata kirinyaga Rd 10pm hio place ni lanye city ikifika hio masaa, alafu machokosh kibao, actually I had a theory that hao mapoko wakilewa chakari huwa wanatombwa na machokosh

Usiwai tomba Malaya town bila cd