Mau Mau Myth Debunked

Status quo loving kikekuyus like to use all sorts of rationalization to justify the tribalist course Johnstone Kamau set this country on. Mr Kamau even had his brother run the coffee sector in the immediate post colonial era. Anyway, one of the popular lines is that the phenomenon christened Mau Mau (when it’s really just disorganized proto-mungiki criminality) was responsible for Kenya being granted self-rule and independence one year later. Now, this line of thought would only convince a fool who didn’t touch another book after clearing form 4 and whatever university the cheated exams in. Let’s unpack this.

1. All African countries, including those who didn’t have armed resistance of any sort, got independence from France and UK in the 1960s. This signals that there was a bigger force at play.
  2. The Suez crisis of the late 50s is considered the official end of France and UK as world powers. They were told what to do by USA and USSR, the new drivers of global politics. USA distanced itself from colonies because it contradicted its value based global world view. USSR positioned itself as a leading an emancipation movement therefore couldn’t support colonies in the traditional sense.
  3. How did France and UK get into such a cucked situation? Europe unravelled in world war 2 and couldn’t hold onto their empires. It’s really that simple. They were happy to be absorbed into a US empire to deal with the threat of Communism.
  4. Now, the proto-mungiki antics were a footnote event even when compared to other armed resistance initiatives in Africa. It didn’t have a national bent, it was just kikekuyus chimping out over whatever. It didn’t Garner international support unlike what we saw with Mozambique, Zimbabwe and Angola. Lastly, Johnstone Kamau was easily able to co-opt it and rebrand himself around it even though those who fought didn’t consider him part of it.

I hope you’re now enlightened. Be well.

Didn't Read LOL | Know Your Meme

The story of the Mau mau from those who know, was told and still told in hushed tones. The tribes that participated now own the land they lived in and were able to buy even more from the same colonisers they were fighting but belonging to other communities that were willing to sell.

Actually maumau were beaten like a mbrrrrkenge by the English. Jomo made it a point to portray them as gallant heroes even though the casualties rate of the bushmen guerillas was like 80%-90% per engagement.

As for independence, you are right.. after world war 2, European powers lacked the money and the manpower to maintain overseas empires, so it was just a matter of time.

His only real legacy is establishing a line of common thieves.

It’s pathetic how in Kenyan school textbooks they portray this proto-mungiki group and Johnstone Kamau as a founding myth for Kenya. You’re correct that Mr. Kamau’s only Legacy is establishing a line of criminals.

You are a living example of the saying: you can educate a stupid man, but you cannot make him think. But I will try anyway.

Let me start with your first point, you claim and I quote that: “ALL African countries, including those who didn’t have armed resistance of any sort, got independence from France and UK in the 1960s.”

If the above statement is true. Let me ask you;

1. When did Zimbabwe and South Africa gain independence?
  2. Can you name at least 3 African countries that gained independence through armed resistance?
  3. Do you know the difference between a colony of exploitation and a colony of settlement?
  4. Can you name at least 3 African countries that were colonies of settlement?

Instead of resorting to foul language, how about improving your knowledge and understanding of world affairs

Just look around you. Did Tanzania have bush guerrillas? What about Uganda, Sudan, Somalia, Rwanda, Burundi, Congo etc yet they still got independence at the same period. Sema Tu hauna defensible degree from a reputable institution that’s why you fall for that feel good jingoism Jomo fed you while he cozied up to the same wazungus.

In the fullness of time we will have to revisit that argument. Ile resistance natambua ni Ile ya real Gs Koitalel Samoei, Mekatilili wa Mwenza na the Kisiis . Mau mau was a joke kama Tu mungich. Imagine for all the hullabaloo they only managed to ice 38 Europeans in their “independence war” versus hundreds of 1000s of poor Kikuyu peasants killed by the same mau mau criminals. That’s why Jomo distanced himself from those rabbles as soon as 1964 akaagiza Kenya army waingie abardeas forest and smoke em out with fighter bombers and all. Self education paired with critical thinking will illuminate your dim mind

When colonialists came around, the first entity to be called Kenia was central province.

When the maumau were fighting for their land, that is the location they were agitating for.

Kenya as we know it today got independence because of other factors, but in order to grab and loot beyond the original Kenia while justifying, narratives had to be made.

The truth is, each area interacted with colonialists by collaboration and resistance in different measures, but the collaboration facts of the mountain are always washed.

According to colonial records,in the whole British empire only the turkanas,pokots and nandis gave the colonialists a hard time,they are recorded as the true warriors encountered.

Ndugu! Stupid is not an insult. Stupidity is the willfull rejection of facts, irrefutable evidence and truth.

Wewe and your friend Tryz are trying to rewrite Kenya history courtesy of your little knowledge na wivu.

In every subject, understanding the context is very important.

Let me ask you, do you know the difference between a colony of exploitation and a colony of settlement?

And can you name atleast 3 African colonies of settlement?

I’m waiting for your honest answers.

Zimbabwe and South Africa were occupied for extended periods because they have gold and were occupied by the English.. who were bankrupt after 1945 and didn’t want to take American money (Marshall Plan) to rebuild. It didn’t matter though.. as stated earlier, the only 2 ways for states to obtain gold is to trade or take it by force.. the English chose the latter.

The rest of your questions are irrelevant.

Little knowledge is very dangerous.

If Africans didn’t put up a fight, Africa would have a very large population of Europeans. Heshimu sana freedom fighters.

Toa kinyesi hapa na JKF fueled knowledge.

i think this would be a good thing infact .wazungu wangeleta high iq development standards instead of the wanton looting meted to us by our new black colonisers

And Blacks would be complaining similarly to how South Africans do. Places like Mombasa, Kilifi, Lamu zingekuwa no go zones for Blacks (they’d have made it the Kenyan version of Cape Town).

Landlords would be discriminating against Black tenants, just like South Africa. Most landlords would be white. If that’s something you’d be into, then I don’t know what to tell you.

Hizi primary level questions have no relevance to the discussion at hand. Wewe tuambie mbona the rest of Africa walipewa independence bila the guerillas. Ama hujui historia vizuri. Quit wasting time here and grab a book

When debate is lost, insults become the tool of the fool.

Akili yako imejaa meffi ya ukabila

Mzee, if they are primary level questions why don’t you answer them?

The biggest problem with people like you on this forum is you like arguing from a point of view of ignorance, hubris na matusi.

You have little grasp of the said subject, but juu ya kiburi you can’t answer “primary level questions”