Let's talk Taxi business; What do you think of it as a Business

Came across this Taxi business breakdown? Is this guy making any sense.

sioni

Unaeza download hiyo image

Bado sioni…

But why pay for Carwash? hawes jioshea Gari kwani?
Bundles is he running a cyber?

Weka picha Vizuri ama Scan the damn paper :mad:
its disrespectful to make elders squint when u need advice

Haha sawa mzee. Anyway the breakdown is for uber business where as the drive must always put his/her App online thus using data bundles.

Ambia yeye anunue Mifi ya Faiba.
The bundle packages are cheaper

Then Carwash let him sacrifice ajioshee…vaccuum cleaner is a measly 8K. ajifinye anunue…
the fact that he owns a car means he has a decent palce…alipe caretaker/watchie amuosheange gari…

Choose his routes well…anawesa fanya Long distance drives at different times of the month…

With high fuel prices, high costs of spare parts, fake spare parts, cutthroat competition, and thieving/incompetent mechanics, I don’t think it is worth it. The margins are just too thin when you subtract the running costs. The juice is no longer worth the squeeze

manzee!!! i once thought about it one day nikasema hata afadhali nikalime. when uber started thats when one would have made money. nowadays its tricky. niliona nitakuwa na uber but ngotha iko na kiraka coz am too broke to live off that taxi

It’s an engagement NOT a business.

wapi hii mijinga ilikuwa inabishana na mimi dereva wa uber earns 2k per day!!! @Mkisiimjuaji @Kennedy Maina nyinyi nin meffi sana.evidence ndio io apo juu.matter core

What evidence?
Do you own the car or do you share the proceeds with the car owner?

so,in retrospect,would it be economical in the long run if he did the driving himself,assuming he is not employed?

hiyo imepostiwa hapo juu

From that math, some calculations are off like the very understated like service charges. Those cars are serviced almost twice a month.
But still, that figure up there does not show the owner’s cut.
Unless the driver owns the car.

Yes. If he is driving the vehicle himself, it might be worth it.

Hiyo depreciation ya 19% a year ndio imeharibu hesabu . Angekuwa na cost ya Ksh 700 per day .

Taxi from those i know , making 2k in a full day 8hrs isn’t hard . As long as unajua places ya kujiweka … lunch time around offices , mornings around homes and estates and evenings around heavy foot traffic or offices too .

Then akiamka 3am in the morning , outside clubs … hawezi kosa another 1500 .

But either way biashara ni kujikakamua … ukipiga hesabu kwa karatasi , hakuna biz huonekana worth it .

It’s a bit too late to venture into the taxi biz. Too many on the road and too many stories after the strike.
Now if you have a driver, they are all playing the game, job iko down after the strike, so I can only manage 1500.
I deduced this as the end game as their strike didn’t change anything.

If you have to get into this biz, get a lower CC car.
Those Uber Chapchap guys are enjoying most at the moment.
A cuzo got a job at a bank last year, dunno who misled her, she took a loan and bought some 1598cc Corolla for Uber biz.
It ran for slightly over 2 months, now it’s packed infront of her house.
Those calculations hapo may be right but they’re probably ‘best-case scenarios’.
Consult widely from people who are already in the biz.

I worked for Uber when it first appeared and the money was so good in my city. The service changed I started undercutting the drivers.

Best vehicle for Uber are either hybrid cars or even electric vehicles you drive them within the city and you don’t need to worry about fuel…

The biggest reason why Uber and those apps cannot survive in Nairobi is that there aren’t enough people using those apps. If more people use the platforms means more money is actually shared across the system. We need a lot more foreigners landing at JKIA and exploring Nairobi and Kenya who can give you cash tips in dollars and Euros.

I live in Glasgow, but my business is located in Latvia, so I often have to fly from one country to another. When I get home, the only thing I want to do is just get home as quickly as possible and go to bed. Unfortunately, with local taxis, everything is not so easy. I have to wait for a taxi for half an hour until it arrives at the airport, and then go with a boorish taxi driver for an hour and a half home, although the road from the airport to my house takes 45 minutes. Thank God I found a good service where you can book online and [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]pay for your trip with any credit/debit card.