This is the third member I’m coming across who’s battling alcoholism. Kuna yule sistake anaitwa Tina Kagia, yule khupipi ya JB Masanduku… walioana walevi wawili na huyo Tina alikua anatwanga masanduku junior sagwasagwa. Halafu their brother Dennis Kagia ni DNA yule wa Banjuka hit song, pia alikua ana-battle alcoholism. Hii sasa tunaeza sema iko tu kwa genes ama ni nini? Coz according to her the parents were somewhat strict, hawakua wale wa kuweka pombe kwa nyumba (that’s how most of you talkers became alcoholics, mlikua mnaonja wine ama makali ya mzae mnaongeza maji).
Sasa kitu inanishangaza ni ati she drank hard liquour throughout her pregnancy, meaning her son is almost guaranteed to be an alcoholic…and the cycle continues. I’ve never understood what the big deal is about alcohol. Heneway, every family has its demons, and everyone is addicted to something.
I have never understood what the problem is with people and alcohol. I have drunk alcohol since 1997 but I have never put it in the list of my priorities. I can even decide to go for several weeks without touching it and I will just be okay. When I feel like I need a few drinks, I just go out and do it and return to the house as early as possible
Because alcoholism is genetic…many can’t do without after that first sip…many others like you and me can drink today and go for months without touching it and feel no effect.
Of course it’s genetic, how could it not be? All physical and mental issues are genetic. Even death is genetic. Satan messed with our genes which is why human beings are so broken. Everyone should scrutinize their genealogy to see where they’re most likely to end up. Trust me, it’s all bad. So you mitigate where you can and leave the rest to God.
I used to secretly admire drinking and smoking but the moment I tried my first beer, I puked and it was disgusting for me. My first smoke left a burning sensation in my chest and a bitter taste in my mouth. Nikajua, hizi vitu ain’t for me. I tried wine too but pia ikanisinya. If I want something fermented, I’d rather buy grapes, squeeze them myself and leave them overnight and then drink the squeezed juice in the morning. Quoting you: Heneway, every family has its demons, and everyone is addicted to something.
I used to think alcoholism is genetic but I came to realize that’s bullcrap.
People like blaming everything else apart from themselves!!
Alcoholism is a habit/addiction, not a disease. Its like saying masturbation and gambling are genetic.
So, if you are an alcoholic, it is your personal responsibility hakuna kublame sijui genes.
Most families have alcoholics who mostly tend to be men. If it was genetic, even women in those families would be alcoholic and that’s clearly not the case.
For comparison, in families predisposed to diabetes, BOTH genders seem to always get it as they age - unlike alcoholism.
Bonobos need to take personal responsibility instead of seeking scapegoats for their bad choices and habits.
Over here I am a teetotaller. Sijawahi jua aje juu most family members drink. Even more strangely, I grew up and was close fremds with some of the most hardcore dudes who partook to super consumption of bhang and hard liquor. Yet I was never influenced nor pressured to join. But something must kill a man, neighbors are complaining that they already seen way too many women coming to my place. Ahero nyiri kabisa kabisa omera.
If you are a shiny eye. I normally hear that if your parents walikula za wenyewe, huwa zinarudiwa through watoto…watoto wanakunywa zile za wenyewe na wanakunywa mpaka zako zote zinaisha