Kune Foods Collapses

This French raised a cool $1M. He has cumulatively used sth like $200k to run this stupid grift and he is left with $800k aende kukamua Parisien lanyes moss moss pale French Riviera. Ujumbe below.

Kune Food is officially leaving the Kenyan Market due to insolvency Techspace Africa has learned.

“Tomorrow we will have to close the company, we ran out of money completely. As you know we were supposed to receive an investment of about Sh30 million from a French investor. Yesterday, I learned from that investor that they will not invest that money, why on one side because we are already running out of money, the is not reassuring for them.” The Founder, Robin Reecht told employees in an impromptu meeting earlier today.

“For the past 6 months, we did all we could to reach profitability but that is something we have not succeeded in yet and they are afraid even if they invest we will not succeed to become profitable.”

Founded by the French entrepreneur in 2020, Kune has been a food delivery service that aimed to provide busy, modern Nairobians with access to freshly prepared meals at affordable prices, by promising to provide ready meals at half price, if not three times, less than the typical price of restaurants and fast food.

The would-be hybrid model combining both cloud and dark kitchen concepts has seemingly failed to take off.

Just a few weeks ago, Kune pivoted from the initial plan to internalize all production and human resources capacities and instead opted to exclusively sell on the very platforms it was here to disrupt.

“I spoke to 100 investors at least since the beginning of the year. I have exhausted my options. Am just not able anymore to raise money, it’s impossible.” The CEO says.

According to reports, Kune had been seeking an extra KES 400 Million to increase their production capacity and expand operations to more parts of Kenya. The managing director told Business Daily that the $1 Million (over KES 100Million) had been used to expand their factory capacity, build their research capabilities and strengthen their delivery system.

“I looked for some companies to buy Kune. I spoke to the CEO of Java, ArtCaffe, Nas Servair, Bidco, and several others, no company is interested to buy Kune.” The CEO told the devastated employees. “We don’t sell enough meals every day…We are still a niche product and so was unable to find an acquirer. Which I was trying to do to prevent you from losing your jobs and other investors from losing their money and the company.”

Update – Comment from Kune CEO

In a post on his LinkedIn, Kune CEO Robin Reecht says the startup sold more than 55,000 meals, and acquired more than 6,000 individual customers and 100 corporate customers. But at $3 per meal, it just wasn’t enough to sustain growth.

“With the current economic downturn and investment markets tightening up, we were unable to raise our next round. Coupled with rising food costs deteriorating our margins, we just couldn’t keep going… Sad day. Kune Food closed down today.”

[ATTACH=full]446024[/ATTACH]

Kuna msee flani kwa TikTok wa kipara ivi used to promote them. Too bad they didnt pick up

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMNjkuBdo/?k=1

Watu wa business intelligence leteni further analysis

I feel like they didn’t understand the Kenyan market.

High IQ Kodiaga says most of these startups are just scamming investors. Very funny business models but still managed to get funding. I expect Twiga and a bunch of other well-funded startups to follow suit

Yeah I saw they were supplying salads and stuff, stuff tht just doesnt appeal to the general Kenyan populace, or the demographics paying $3 for foods

Twiga kamekaa sana banae. Lakini wazungu waachie bonobo Indians hizi vitu ndio wanajua kuscam bonobos vizuri.

Cool kids akina @Akon City II couldn’t sustain the grift for long

Mzungu ameweka venture capital Kwa offshore account watoto wake watakuwa kama Dan Bilzerian.

[ATTACH=full]446031[/ATTACH]

I remember when this company started. The guy landed in Kenya one day and 5 days later had launched the company. But it was all BS. He is a serial entrepreneur. He goes around starting companies and convincing investors to put down money to run. Most of his companies fail. He had a poor product. Was targeting middle to high income clientele in Kenya who are very unreliable.

ama mchele ya ndengu kama ingine nmeona huko chini kwa thread ya northlands:D

I wouldn’t be surprised if he was pying himself a big salary. Watu wa other people’s money always do that.

Venture capital is like rocket fuel.You take between 1-6 months to close a round of funding which is expected to last you 12-16 months before you raise another round that is 5-10x the previous amount.
VCs expect you to spend all that money in between rounds and update them twice a month on your hiring plans and revenue numbers and who do they need to introduce you to get the numbers moving.
Which market in Kenya with our deteriorating purchasing power will support a business that is rabidly growing at such a pace without running out of customers?

1 million dollars ni pesa mingi sana Kenya ya start-up.

Imagine all that money, and then they make an app that re-directs you to Uber Eats, Glovo, Jumia Food and Bolt Food. Yaani hakuna ata effort waliweka.

The founder just wanted to scam the investors.

[ATTACH=full]446048[/ATTACH]

:D:D wewe na rugby hampendani

True this guy was out to scam. But 100m wouldn’t have been enough to both have a kitchen AND build their own logistics solution. I think they opted to concentrate on core business first before trying to 360 everything inhouse.

:D:D:D:D:D this guy is such a fraud .What problem was he trying to solve ?[ATTACH=full]446071[/ATTACH]