This guy na hizo pesa zake zote and all those travels ni mjinga tu. This goes to show you to always make your own conclusions. Never take everything people tell you as facts.
[MEDIA=twitter]1018934467199668226[/MEDIA]
This guy na hizo pesa zake zote and all those travels ni mjinga tu. This goes to show you to always make your own conclusions. Never take everything people tell you as facts.
[MEDIA=twitter]1018934467199668226[/MEDIA]
Tough to compare anything between two countries. Different costs of living, laws, loan agreement lengths and terms, terrain, etc.
My fren, comparison or not SGR is a rip off. Let’s just move on. We now have to spend some other billions to upgrade the same standard SGR to be “modern” so as to get modern coaches on em. This thing is a cash cow for some fellas.
Jubilee devt die hards will justify why we couldn’t just get it right the first time.
Yeah but somehow kenya always gets the most expensive
which always requires an upgrade to match others
I dont care if ahmed is right or wrong. Wabeberu wanafukuzwa hapa alafu jinga stupid zinaanza kutuletea wengine? You bring an apprentice train driver here (essentially ill mannered touts) from China and pay him 200k in twenty years time he is some land owner somewhere shitting on black people and he came here an emaciated criminal like the indians of the older rail. We have pilots here that can fly a boeing airliner to anywhere in the world but we have to hire foreigners to pull levers and press buttons on a decades old passenger train. hii ni ujinga level gani? which leader accepted that we have got to have the train driven for us? Alafu walete madaktari wengine hapa na kuwalipa 800k how will they ever return to their cuban labor camp?
Denis Young is dumber than a bag of nails.
You have broken it down so well. Pewa lunatic express
mungesoma mujenge yenu
That Nigerian train is a short commute train… Like the one we have btn athi river and town… But modern ones are bieng bought… Because the short commute railway is bieng extended from nairobi to muranga… Then the other counties are bieng urged to connect their existing railway tracks to the SGR…
For those who’ve traveled to china , you know they use the SGR type of train for inter region travels… Though they have additional modern design train heads, but the coaches are similar to what we have…
(they have a bullet train that moves at a speed of btn 300 - 400 km/h) but if it gets full… You are forced to travel in an SGR type of train.
You, my friend, sijui niseme nini because words betray me…but acha niseme tu hivi, if you were answering an exam question and I were your examiner, I would award you an A+++
Are you a good researcher.Can you dig up how Deloitte KE was absorbed by the global one(It is there but shots being called from UK).Peasant Kenyan contractors and suppliers/providers were kicked out.The same is being replicated in the rest of the big4s.Soon we are going to have foreigners roaming in our land making money that Kenyans would be making.Imagine your fellow blacks auditing your company but the big chunk of the invoice fee goes to some white guy sitted somewhere in UK.Yet guys here think its only China screwing us.By the time we wake up,our dime will have gone.
yaaani wanaija nao ni mafwala, wamewekea buhari coke na apples :D:D
Sharp truth. And the fellas implementing these have proved to be inept where it matters. High wage bills for outsiders yet most skills are available in the country and can be easily acquired.
this is a light rail track,different from sgr,but fools never learn.
ako na allergy ya hizo vitu?
Tulicheswa
What an idiot that guy is. Wakenya ujuaji tutawacha lini.
You can’t compare any train project to another. I’ve said that from the start, its not copy and paste. What the brief, needs and topography.
For example this is Abuja light train project initiated by former President Obasanjo in 2007. They picked the monorail format of commuter train service. Its 50kms long at $800 million or Kshs 80 billion. It was completed this year 2018 after 11 years. Its carries only passengers on short commute along one direct route through Abuja city in 12 stations. There are 2 train engines for the service.
Kenya SGR is a heavy gauge class 1 Chinese standards that is primarily a freight train service but does passengers service as a secondary role. It’s foundations are deep and reinforced to handle over 20 million tonnes of cargo annually using double stacked train wagons. Its point to point destination is 360kms but due to numerous 15 passing stations, 7 passenger stations its track length is 420kms due to double/triple/quadruple tracks to allow passing and overtaking. Its has two major cargo hubs. The Kshs 30 billion Port Reitz station that was reclaimed from the ocean next to the second container terminal at kilindini port and Kshs 20 billion modernized and expanded Nairobi ICD. It has a all weather service road running parallel to the truck, a whole new network of power distribution line running along the track for future electrification needs and a network of wireless and fibre network along the track for communication. We bought 6 passenger engine locomotives, 12 freight engines locomotives and over 100 freight and passenger wagons. We did 5 super bridges and one elevated animal corridor at Tsavo national park. We also spending Kshs 1 billion in modernizing the Railway Institute to train future Kenyans in SGR build, operations and maintenance. Lastly the beautiful passenger stations speak for themselves.
Construction started in mid 2014 and three years later in 2017 it was completed ahead of schedule by 18 months and on budget. This is despite all the court cases, sabotage and land disputes. Passenger services started June 2017 and in one year we have 5 scheduled trains services from either end. So far over 1,000,000 passengers have enjoyed the service. Freight services started in 1st Jan 2018 and so far we now have seven scheduled freight service from both ends each carrying 840 TEUs a day. The freight services is about to take off as now a cargo relief line bridge has been built from Port Reitz station to berth 1-10 for general cargo such as steel, clincker, coal, grains etc. 4 train mounted cranes are being installed now. In a month all general cargo will be evacuated by SGR and containers can be mounted from ship to SGR directly saving time and money. All said and done, we got value for money, we got a superior railway that will handle all our needs for decades without the thought of expansion. We got a second transportation corridor away from road. It was built fast and perfect. By 2019, it will be repaying the loans to built it on its own while maintaining operations.
injinia hapa umeanguka kapsaa. the skills needed for the train are different from those of a pilot, furthermore, we have had an airline since 1970’s, train tumeanza last yr.
Before ukuwe captain was ndege lots of airlines insist on above 3000 flight yrs, first officer about 1500hrs, humalizi flight school kama umepewa ndege kama baiskeli. Similarly, that Chinese train driver had to accumulate a certain number of hours before being handed controls. A single train carries 1200 people, millions of dollars in cargo, do you want to entrust that to a novice with a few months experience? Train signalling is even more complex,it is not just about pushing a button here and there,mess and you have a collision.
Kenyans must learn to apply themselves and learn,there is no shortcut. Am pretty sure it took you a lot of on the field learning before you were entrusted with a project of consequence, whether you were working under a white,black or Chinese doesn’t matter. Cooler heads must prevail too, you can’t have blood rage over ukoloni and other perceived slights, they are here to teach,we are here to learn, the faster we do this the quicker they are gone,any time wasted screaming haki yetu just lengthens their stay.