Kenya's manufacturing has been killed - now they want to kill the ICT industry too

Kenya’s manufacturing has been killed by placing many hurdles and taxes - now they want to kill the ICT industry too

https://techweez.com/2022/06/09/parliament-has-passed-the-controversial-ict-practitioners-bill/

https://cioafrica.co/why-kenyas-ict-practitioners-are-worried/

On Wednesday, a contentious ICT Practitioners Bill 2020 went through the final stage – third reading – in the Kenyan Parliament. The Bill now awaits Presidential Assent before it is turned into law.

The third time is the charm. The first proposed ICT Practitioners Bill was introduced to the Kenyan parliament in 2016 but was rejected on the basis of repetitiveness. It then resurfaced in 2018 and suffered a similar fate. It was then reintroduced in Parliament in November 2020 with very minimal changes from the previous ones and this time it passed through the first, second and finally the third stage of reading.

What the ICT Practitioners Bill is all about:

The bill seeks to establish an ICT Practitioners Institute for training, registration, licensing, practice and setting standards for ICT professionals in Kenya. The proposed Institute will also issue annual licenses to the practitioners at a fee.

The bill has been controversial for multiple reasons.

And now, Parliament has passed it, meaning it is now part of the law.

But why is it controversial in the first place, and what were the issues that were raised by the public about it?

Well, the Bill was first discussed back in 2016, but ICT CS Joe Mucheru kicked it out because it was allegedly duplicating regulations that were already in existence

The key contentious issue with the bill was the need for all ICT Practitioners to be registered by the Professional Body Institution of ICT Practitioners; and that one of the key requirements for registration was a University Degree from a reputable University. Also, key stakeholders felt that the Bill was not representative of the situation on the ground and would hinder innovation rather than encourage it contrary to the ICT policy and government development agenda,”

It can also be surmised that it only complicates the life of the Kenyan youth or any other person with a genuine interest in ICT.

We have seen people quote why they went into IT, and that is because of the lesser barriers of entry

Thus, it cannot be imagined how much more difficult the first few years in this field might have been had these people been also trying to navigate the bureaucracies of registering as an “ICT practitioner.”

In the same breath, if this is how this government plans to create jobs, by creating government positions for people who probably don’t understand the space (The Council) and then taxing the youth in licensing fees to pay those salaries, we are indeed taking many steps backward.

At one time, the experts at KICTANET sharply opposed the bill.

“Currently, there is no evidence to show the rationale that informed this Bill. This is the third time the Bill is being introduced and yet once again the proposers of the Bill have failed to show why we need the Bill or the ills it will cure,” KICTANet had said.

The Council

The Council mentioned in the bill (which are new government positions which will be receiving hefty salaries) it’s said will be tasked with planning, arranging, coordinating, and overseeing professional training and development of ICT practitioners; promoting the international recognition of the Institute, and performing any other functions described under the provisions of the bill.

The Council shall also maintain the register of ICT practitioners and can remove the name of dead members, or those who have committed offenses under the Act.

Practitioners are given a one-year license (Jan to December), after which they can renew them, at a fee yearly

Its even worse kuna mtu ako incharge of ICT ministry who thinks this bill iko sawa. I believe he was consulted akapatia this bill stamp of approval.

Blame your MPs who are passing the law, not govt/ministry. Mucheru kicked it out.

Quote:
Well, the Bill was first discussed back in 2016, but ICT CS Joe Mucheru kicked it out.

This is just silly and beyond belief.

Bonobo country, bobobo forum full of the same shit mevi kwa kichwa, wanajua kusema tu babathe5th, wacha hiyo usd ifike 200 mtatuletea your own daughters tuwatom

Who are the vested interests who are going to benefit from this law. That’s the question here

Government inang’ang’ana to place candidates to tvets at the same time shoot itself on the foot.

He brought it but kicked it out due to the uproar it caused then.

But has always been looking to bring it back

Why is there a sequence of contentious bills being passed by parliament shortly before elections?

The other day was increase in taxes on alcoholic drinks, now ICT regulation. The common denominator is that Kenyans who participate in these sectors can make a good income.

May be that they know that Kenyans are currently irrationally polarized, few will question their actions.

If you are not convinced the leaders you vote for are against your prosperity, here it is.

Na vile wasee wa certifications pekee wameiva coding,the bill just kicked their asss.
Too sad

Kenyans are so obsessed with regulation vis a vis performance and its killing all industries…i downvote any regulation towards work throttling, control or otherwise. Geniuses are so all over.

These monkeys…

Nilisema hapa independence generation and their kids will continue to mess us up. Very old but not wise at all. In fact most are stupid.

Yes. It will take generations kumaliza ujinga yetu. In August majority of voters will vote for the same kinds of people.

Ritagwo Ituika, keep waiting.

Dude, this doesn’t belong to the independence generation, some of these MPs and other politicians are young chaps with goonery behaviour playing the game. Some into wash wash. You could even be older or agemates with some of them.

By the early 70s some visionary persons had already drawn a blueprint to develop the country. The difference between Kenya and Singapore is that they followed their blueprint and we trashed ours.

We have an opportunity to replace deadwood…forget those going home…focus on those coming in.

When a country can actually try to argue that Mtumba Industry should be promoted at the expense of establishing Textile industries,
then you already know you are herding lost sheep that can’t be helped.

Listen to what our UDAKU jua kali promoters tell followers to consider to be best in their manifesto:

Kill dynasty…Ask them to define dynasty… :smiley:

Open State House for Nyama and Rice.

Promote Mtumba sellers by buying more mtumba, forget Textile industry…

Wheel Barrow Technology.

Bribe Boda Boda for votes…etc etc …

It is udakus led by ichungwa who pushed and passed the bill. CS mucheru and govt opposed it.

MPs passed the Bill.
From both factions, the Raila and Ruto ones.
A Bill that’s against the gains made in the industry. Yet the same fuckers come looking for votes from the citizens.
We truly are a special kind of stupid.

. If the president signs into law will you say it is UDA ama your head is so up your arse?